Zen Under Fire: A New Zealand Woman's Story of Love & War in Afghanistan

A New Zealand Woman's Story of Love & War in Afghanistan

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Marianne Elliott

Publisher: Penguin Random House New Zealand Limited

ISBN: 1742532462

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 9575

I am about to be left in charge of the office. I'm not sure I am ready for the responsibility, so I double-check with my boss. He reassures me. 'You'll be fine, Marianne. As long as no one kills Amanullah Khan, you'll be fine.' By midday, Amanullah Khan is dead. In 2006 Marianne Elliott, a human rights lawyer from New Zealand,was stationed with the UN in Herat. Several months into her new role an important tribal leader is assassinated while she is in charge of thelocal UN office. She must try to defuse the situation before it leads to widespread bloodshed. And this is just the beginning of her story in Afghanistan. Zen Under Fire is a vivid account of Marianne's experience living and working in the world's most notorious battlefield. As well as sharing the incredible details of her UN role, Marianne tells the very personal story of the shatteringeffect that thehigh-stress environment hadon her and her relationships, and asks what it really means to do good in a country that is under seige from within. This is an honest, moving and at times terrifying true story of a woman's time peacekeeping in one of the most dangerous places on earth. Also available as an eBook

Zen Under Fire

How I Found Peace in the Midst of War

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Marianne Elliott

Publisher: Sourcebooks

ISBN: 9781402281112

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 3860

One woman's fight to deliver peace and eliminate bloodshed in the midst of one of the most notorious conflicts of our time In the tradition of Dear Zari and Barefoot in Baghdad, Zen Under Fire lays bare the struggles of a war-torn region from a uniquely female perspective. Marianne Elliott must defuse situations before they lead to widespread bloodshed, despite the shattering effect that the high-stress environment has on her and her relationships—redefining the question of what it really means to do good in a country that is under siege from within. Zen Under Fire is an honest, moving, and at times terrifying true story of a woman's experience at peacekeeping in one of the most dangerous places on earth.

Zen Under the Gun

Four Zen Masters from Turbulent Times

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: J.C. Cleary

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0861715926

Category: Philosophy

Page: 189

View: 8546

This book, from one of the pioneering and preeminent translators of Zen for the West, presents a selection of Zen lessons from four teachers in four successive generations. More than just a book on Zen philosophy, Zen Under the Gun spans the turbulent period in Chinese history from the last generation of the Song dynasty (overthrown by the Mongols in 1279) to the first generation of the Ming dynasty (which drove out the Mongols, and proclaimed its own reign in 1368). These four Zen masters were all eminent public teachers, and their teaching words reflect the state of China and the art of Zen in their time.

Inspiring Courage

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Barbara Bonner

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1614292884

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 240

View: 501

Through a broad scope of quotations, poems, and true-life stories, Inspiring Courage offers inspiration to help us authentically live life to the fullest, even against all odds. How can we manage to move forward in the face of hardship, when the odds aren’t in our favor? Inspiring Courage offers us a beautiful companion to the challenges of daily life—it is a book of inspiration and a resource for finding strength when the very notion of courage seems unfathomable. This collection of quotations, poetry, and uplifting accounts of ordinary acts of life-changing courage—often in the face of fear—are carefully selected to open us up to living life fully, from a place of strength and love. In this book we are inspired to all kinds of courage: courage to live a human life, courage to face disaster, and courage to help an ailing world. Included are stories of ordinary people who have faced illness, loss, and discrimination, and taken on political challenges and the environmental crisis. Selected poems and quotations include figures like Martin Luther King, Jr., Mark Twain, the Buddha, Maya Angelou, Rainer Maria Rilke, Pema Chodron, Rumi, Wendell Berry, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and many more.

The Whole Intimate Mess

Motherhood, Politics, and Women's Writing

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Holly Walker

Publisher: Bridget Williams Books

ISBN: 0947518924

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 100

View: 3433

‘I began to pull the threads of my experience back together. Instead of divergent stories about public failure, private torment, and postnatal distress, I started telling myself a united story: the truth, or as close as I could get to it.’ A Rhodes scholar and former Green MP, Holly Walker tells the story of how she became one of New Zealand’s youngest parliamentarians, how motherhood intervened, and how she found solace and solidarity in the writings of women. This short book makes a passionate case for the role of literature in political change and personal resilience, and for the importance of women’s voices in the public sphere.

Toyota Under Fire: Lessons for Turning Crisis into Opportunity

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jeffrey K. Liker,Timothy N. Ogden

Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional

ISBN: 0071763074

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 208

View: 3144

The definitive inside account of Toyota's greatest crisis—and lessons you can apply to your own company "Those who write off Toyota in the current climate of second guessing and speculation are making a profound mistake and need to read this book to get the facts. Toyota is a company that will channel the current challenges to push themselves to even more relentless continuous improvement." —Charles Baker, former Chief Engineer and Vice President for R&D, Honda of America "Toyota Under Fire is a superb book and should prove very helpful to American industry's understanding of the problems faced and how any company can prevent similar occurrences in the future." —Norman Bodek, author, founder of Productivity Press, and inductee in 2010 Industry Week Manufacturing Hall of Fame "As a former automotive supplier executive and student of Toyota, I was concerned to see the many negative reports and investigations into the quality and safety of its vehicles. Toyota Under Fire tells the story of how this great company is growing wiser and stronger by living its culture and values." —Michael Fisher, CEO, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center "Just as Toyota has put itself through excruciating soul-searching in order to understand what went wrong, so should we all take advantage of the opportunity for learning presented to us by Toyota's misfortune. In these pages, you will find that the actual circumstances were far more complex, nuanced, and uncertain than you saw reported in the news." —John Y. Shook, Chairman and CEO, Lean Enterprise Institute "The most comprehensive and detailed review to date of the circumstances that led to the crisis, and the events and contexts that caused it to escalate.” —Strategy & Business About the Book For decades, Toyota has been setting standards that are the envy—and goal—of organizations worldwide. Its legendary management principles and business philosophy, first documented by Jeffrey K. Liker in his influential book The Toyota Way, changed the business world's approach to operational excellence. Granted unprecedented access to Toyota's facilities worldwide, Liker, along with Timothy N. Ogden, investigated the inside story of how Toyota faced the challenges of the recession and the recall crisis of 2009–2010. In both cases, the company was caught off guard—and found that a root cause of the challenges it faced was its failure to live up to its own principles. But the fundamentals were still there, and the company has ultimately come out of the most challenging years of its postwar existence even stronger than before. Toyota Under Fire chronicles all the events of the recession and the recall crisis in detail, providing valuable lessons any business leader can use to survive and thrive in a crisis, no matter how large: Crisis response must start by building a strong culture long before the crisis hits. Culture matters far more than decisions made by top executives. Investing in people, even in the depths of a recession, is the surest path to long-term profitability. Because it had founded its culture on such principles, Toyota didn’t need to amass an army of public relations, marketing, and legal experts to "put out the fire"; instead, it redoubled efforts to live up to its founding tenet, going "back to basics." Toyota began solving this crisis more than 70 years ago, when its organizational culture was first established. Apply the lessons of Toyota Under Fire to your company, and you'll meet any future management challenge calmly, responsibly, and effectively—the Toyota Way.

The Golden Age of Zen

Zen Masters of the T'Ang Dynasty

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John C. H. Wu,Jingxiong Wu,Thomas Merton,Kenneth Kraft

Publisher: World Wisdom, Inc

ISBN: 9780941532440

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 263

View: 8969

A classic, examining the history of the great Chinese Zen masters of the 7th through 10th century.

The Stalking of Kristin

A Father Investigates the Murder of His Daughter

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George Lardner

Publisher: Onyx Books

ISBN: 9780451407313

Category: True Crime

Page: 400

View: 8944

The author won a Pulitzer Prize for a series of Washington Post articles about his daughter, a promising young art student killed by a jealous ex-boyfriend.

The Zen Arts

An Anthropological Study of the Culture of Aesthetic Form in Japan

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rupert Cox

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136855580

Category: Philosophy

Page: 296

View: 3896

The tea ceremony and the martial arts are intimately linked in the popular and historical imagination with Zen Buddhism, and Japanese culture. They are commonly interpreted as religio-aesthetic pursuits which express core spiritual values through bodily gesture and the creation of highly valued objects. Ideally, the experience of practising the Zen arts culminates in enlightenment. This book challenges that long-held view and proposes that the Zen arts should be understood as part of a literary and visual history of representing Japanese culture through the arts. Cox argues that these texts and images emerged fully as systems for representing the arts during the modern period, produced within Japan as a form of cultural nationalism and outside Japan as part of an orientalist discourse. Practitioners' experiences are in fact rarely referred to in terms of Zen or art, but instead are spatially and socially grounded. Combining anthropological description with historical criticism, Cox shows that the Zen arts are best understood in terms of a dynamic relationship between an aesthetic discourse on art and culture and the social and embodied experiences of those who participate in them.