Who Gets What -- and Why

The New Economics of Matchmaking and Market Design

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alvin E. Roth

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0544291131

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 8899

A Nobel laureate reveals the often surprising rules that govern a vast array of activities -- both mundane and life-changing -- in which money may play little or no role. If you've ever sought a job or hired someone, applied to college or guided your child into a good kindergarten, asked someone out on a date or been asked out, you've participated in a kind of market. Most of the study of economics deals with commodity markets, where the price of a good connects sellers and buyers. But what about other kinds of "goods," like a spot in the Yale freshman class or a position at Google? This is the territory of matching markets, where "sellers" and "buyers" must choose each other, and price isn't the only factor determining who gets what. Alvin E. Roth is one of the world's leading experts on matching markets. He has even designed several of them, including the exchange that places medical students in residencies and the system that increases the number of kidney transplants by better matching donors to patients. In Who Gets What -- And Why, Roth reveals the matching markets hidden around us and shows how to recognize a good match and make smarter, more confident decisions.

Who Gets What - And Why

The New Economics of Matchmaking and Market Design - From Birth to Death and Along the Way

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alvin Roth

Publisher: Collins

ISBN: 9780007520770

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 2668

From a Nobel-Prize winning economist, a fascinating and accesible look at how our lives are shaped not only by the choices we make, but by the choices we have. In many parts of life - jobs, housing, medical care, education, even a date on the internet - price is not the only determinant of who gets what. So how do the other processes that influence who gets which goods, jobs, university places and partners really work? In WHO GETS WHAT Nobel Prize winning economist Alvin Roth uncovers the global rules of how markets allocate, how matchmaking shapes lives, where markets exist that we may not even realise, and how everything about our biggest experiences - from getting accepted at university or living where we want - can be better understood and negotiated when one understands the design of those matching markets. The distribution of rewards is often unfair, but it's seldom as random as it seems, and Roth reveals just how much of our life takes place in marketplaces, and leads us to a new understanding of who gets what and why. For fans of 'FREAKONOMICS and THINKING FAST AND SLOW this groundbreaking book sheds new light on the politics of free markets, and how many things that we choose in life also must choose us.

Who Gets What?

Domestic Influences on International Negotiations Allocating Shared Resources

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Aslaug Asgeirsdottir

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780791475409

Category: Political Science

Page: 192

View: 1004

Examines the domestic constraints negotiators operate under when nations seek to cooperate.

Sociology of Spatial Inequality, The

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Linda M. Lobao,Gregory Hooks,Ann R. Tickamyer

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 0791479978

Category: Social Science

Page: 286

View: 9985

A sociological look at the role of space in inequality.

Who Gets What

Fair Compensation after Tragedy and Financial Upheaval

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kenneth R. Feinberg

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1610390768

Category: Social Science

Page: 240

View: 9915

Agent Orange, the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund, the Virginia Tech massacre, the 2008 financial crisis, and the Deep Horizon gulf oil spill: each was a disaster in its own right. What they had in common was their aftermath—each required compensation for lives lost, bodies maimed, livelihoods wrecked, economies and ecosystems upended. In each instance, an objective third party had to step up and dole out allocated funds: in each instance, Presidents, Attorneys General, and other public officials have asked Kenneth R. Feinberg to get the job done. In Who Gets What?, Feinberg reveals the deep thought that must go into each decision, not to mention the most important question that arises after a tragedy: why compensate at all? The result is a remarkably accessible discussion of the practical and philosophical problems of using money as a way to address wrongs and reflect individual worth.

Who Gets what from Government

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Benjamin I. Page

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520047020

Category: Science

Page: 264

View: 5019

Examines the impact of taxation, social welfare programs, government spending, and economic regulation on the incomes of ordinary American citizens

Tourism and Public Policy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Michael Hall,John Michael Jenkins

Publisher: Cengage Learning EMEA

ISBN: 9781861529985

Category: Tourism

Page: 116

View: 6060

Using international case studies this introductory study looks at the key factors which influence government tourism policy-making, including: the effect of tourism organizations on policy; value in the tourism policy-making process; the role of interest groups; aspects of power in policy making; and evaluating tourism policy. A framework for the study of tourism policy is developed, and chapter summaries, international case studies, a guide to further reading and questions for discussion are provided.

Land of Paradoxes

Interest Politics in Israel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Yael Yishai,Y???l Yišay

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780791407257

Category: Political Science

Page: 414

View: 6038

This book examines the structure of Israeli interest groups, their strategies, their effectiveness, and their relations with state organizations and political parties. It addresses such important questions as the following. What are the links between political parties and interest groups? What are the attitudes of senior state officials toward interest groups? Why do interest groups influence public policy and to what extent? Are some groups more influential than others? Is Israel moving toward a post-materialist era? Land of Paradoxes reflects the realities of contemporary Israeli politics. Using a framework of universal interest-group configurations, the book shows how Israel deviates from these patterns and places it in a historical and comparative perspective.

Church Politics: Church Crises

Will the Church Survive in Africa?

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rev Iheanyi Hycenth Iruoma

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 145206072X

Category: Religion

Page: 148

View: 4593

Church politics is a battle among Moses, Aaron and Hur [pastors], in which they determine, through un-biblical and unhealthy means, whose hands should be raised in the church. It is a rivalry in which they determine whose rod blossoms. It is a bone thrown out to the church leaders cum pastors and workers by the devil to keep them busy; while the devil himself sneaks into the church to destroy it.