Training for the New Alpinism

A Manual for the Climber as Athlete

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steve House,Scott Johnston

Publisher: Patagonia

ISBN: 1938340248

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 464

View: 4659

In Training for the New Alpinism, Steve House, world-class climber and Patagonia ambassador, and Scott Johnston, coach of U.S. National Champions and World Cup Nordic Skiers, translate training theory into practice to allow you to coach yourself to any mountaineering goal. Applying training practices from other endurance sports, House and Johnston demonstrate that following a carefully designed regimen is as effective for alpinism as it is for any other endurance sport and leads to better performance. They deliver detailed instruction on how to plan and execute training tailored to your individual circumstances. Whether you work as a banker or a mountain guide, live in the city or the country, are an ice climber, a mountaineer heading to Denali, or a veteran of 8,000-meter peaks, your understanding of how to achieve your goals grows exponentially as you work with this book. Chapters cover endurance and strength training theory and methodology, application and planning, nutrition, altitude, mental fitness, and assessing your goals and your strengths. Chapters are augmented with inspiring essays by world-renowned climbers, including Ueli Steck, Mark Twight, Peter Habeler, Voytek Kurtyka, and Will Gadd. Filled with photos, graphs, and illustrations.

The New Alpinism Training Log

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steve House,Scott Johnston

Publisher: Patagonia Incorporated

ISBN: 9781938340390

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 144

View: 9136

Meant to go hand-in-hand with Steve House and Scott Johnston’s groundbreaking, bestselling Training for the New Alpinism, The New Alpinism Training Log is a goal-setting planner and a workout journal in one. With pages to plot your program based on your aspirations, and others to break it down and record your monthly, weekly, daily workouts, this book will be your in-the-gym or on-the-mountain companion to training for any mountain ascent. Includes inspirational and motivational tips throughout.

Beyond the Mountain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steve House

Publisher: Patagonia

ISBN: 1938340051

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 288

View: 9275

What does it take to be one of the world's best high-altitude mountain climbers? A lot of fundraising; traveling in some of the world's most dangerous countries; enduring cold bivouacs, searing lungs, and a cloudy mind when you can least afford one. It means learning the hard lessons the mountains teach. Steve House built his reputation on ascents throughout the Alps, Canada, Alaska, the Karakoram and the Himalaya that have expanded possibilities of style, speed, and difficulty. In 2005 Steve and alpinist Vince Anderson pioneered a direct new route on the Rupal Face of 26,600-foot Nanga Parbat, which had never before been climbed in alpine style. It was the third ascent of the face and the achievement earned Steveand Vince the first Piolet d"or (Golden Ice Axe) awarded to North Americans. Steve is an accomplished and spellbinding storyteller in the tradition of Maurice Herzog and Lionel Terray. Beyond the Mountain is a gripping read destined to be a mountain classic. And it

Training for the Uphill Athlete

A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steve House,Scott Johnston,Kilian Jornet

Publisher: Patagonia

ISBN: 9781938340840

Category: SPORTS & RECREATION

Page: 368

View: 7523

Presents training principles for the multisport mountain athlete who regularly participates in a mix of distance running, ski mountaineering, and other endurance sports that require optimum fitness and customized strength

Vertical Aid: Essential Wilderness Medicine for Climbers, Trekkers, and Mountaineers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Seth C. Hawkins,R. Bryan Simon,J. Pearce Beissinger,Deb Simon

Publisher: The Countryman Press

ISBN: 1581574452

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 304

View: 477

A climbing medicine and wilderness first aid guidebook from a team of proven experts Climbing and mountaineering attracts millions of people around the world each year, but produces a unique set of challenges. The threat of danger is ever present, and professional medical help is often far away. Vertical Medicine Resources is a renowned climbing company providing medical training and consultation. In Vertical Aid, they have produced the most complete guide available for managing both emergencies and chronic injuries sustained during climbs. Researched and developed by professional healthcare providers and alpinists, the book includes helpful illustrations of common procedures and best practices, making it a practical and indispensable companion on any climbing, trekking, or alpine trip. It is replete with real-world-tested strategies, evidence-based medicine, and proven techniques. The diverse author team combines an EMS and emergency physician, a nurse, a physician assistant, and a nurse-trainer, who together have a profound depth of climbing, educational, and medical experience. With its unique combination of authoritative medical information and specific attention to the climbing environment, Vertical Aid is poised to become an authoritative resource for every climber, on every climb.

Best of Backpacker 2014

True Tales of Outdoor Adventure

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: BACKPACKER Magazine

Publisher: Active Interest Media

ISBN: N.A

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 140

View: 5778

Vanished Like many hikers, Aubrey Sacco walked into the Himalayas with the joyful excitement of a pilgrim entering the Promised Land. But she encountered a dark side of Nepal all trekkers should know about. Now her family can’t rest until they know how she disappeared. By Tracy Ross Thru-Hiking: When More is Better For long-haul hikers, time has a way of putting things into perspective. By Casey Lyons X Marks the Spot A hidden box of treasure. A cryptic poem from a wealthy Santa Fe art dealer. Four states’ worth of Rocky Mountain wilderness. Our reporter joins the hunt. By Brian Mockenhaupt The Kids Are Alright The only thing you’ll regret about taking the brood backpacking is not doing it sooner—and more often. By Dennis Lewon Hike Forever After four decades of backpacking and climbing in Wyoming’s Wind River Range, 75-year-old Joe Kelsey is living proof that, while time may stop for no one, it might just slow down for hikers. By Mark Jenkins Depth of Field: Canyoneering Little rain and stable weather make fall the ideal time to play in Utah’s slot canyons. By Steve Howe My Partner Ate My Socks Is goatpacking the ultimate ultralight solution or a surefire way to ruin a good hike? By Casey Lyons Mush! You don’t need to tackle the Iditarod to enjoy dogsledding, a fast and fun winter adventure. By Molly Loomis The Quest The only way to truly appreciate America’s vast wilderness? Hike it all. By Mark Jenkins Bella Vita A trek on Italy’s Alta Via 2 might just be the most romantic hike in the world. If you’re lucky. By Brendan Leonard The Other Himalaya Someday, the Manaslu Loop will be just as famous as the Annapurna Circuit. Better hike it now. By Dougald Macdonald Walk of Ages Past meets present on a trek to Petra, Jordan’s 2,300-year-old desert metropolis. By Rachel Zurer Fresh Tracks It’s prime time to visit Patagonia’s brand new park—before anyone else even knows it’s there. By Tomas Dinges A Ghost Among Us One woman’s journey to the brink of what’s possible on the Pacific Crest Trail. By Megan Michelson

Extreme Alpinism

Climbing Light, Fast, & High

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mark Twight,James Martin

Publisher: The Mountaineers Books

ISBN: 9780898866544

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 238

View: 2674

Where does the hard-core aspirant or dreamer turn? The only master class in print, Extreme Alpinism delivers an expert dose of reality and practical techniques for advanced climbers. Focusing on how top alpine climbers approach the world's most difficult routes, Twight centres his instruction on the ethos of climbing the hardest routes with the least amount of gear and the most speed.

50 years of alpinism

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Riccardo Cassin

Publisher: Mountaineers Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 207

View: 2390

The distinguished Italian mountaineer depicts his life and his experiences climbing the Alps, Mt. McKinley, and other mountains

Alpinist

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Mountaineering

Page: N.A

View: 773