The Right to Life in International Law

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bertrand G. Ramcharan

Publisher: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers

ISBN: 9024730740

Category: Political Science

Page: 371

View: 4393

This collection of essays is the outcome of the proceedings of the Centre for Research and Study in International Law and International Relations of the Hague Academy of International Law in the summer of 1983.

True to Life Upper-Intermediate Personal Study Workbook

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ruth Gairns,Stuart Redman

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521574822

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 124

View: 2157

Presents a five-level course for adults, which focuses on contemporary themes, language and learning styles that are relevant to adult learners. This title includes photocopiable worksheets, tests and videos, and the ready-made lessons can be used as they stand, or adapted using the optional activities suggested in the Teacher's Book.

Is Death Ever Preferable to Life?

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ian Olver

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 9401719764

Category: Philosophy

Page: 168

View: 3976

This is an original contribution to the much debated area of the value that we should place on human life. With the euthanasia issue highlighted in the public arena this book argues for a non-absolutist highest value on life ethic and how that fits with society's current emphasis on individual autonomy. By the use of everyday examples the impact of placing a high value on life is explored. It will be useful for students of ethics, nursing and medicine and those engaged in the public debate on euthanasia.

A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life

How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to FriendsWho Choose Kids Over Dogs

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: The Uptight Seattleite

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101185643

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 6767

In the tradition of The Official Preppy Handbook, The Uptight Seattleite is the Stephen Colbert of left-wing satire The author of the wildly popular Seattle Weekly advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. Artfully balancing the cosmic with the cosmopolitan, the Uptight Seattleite (aka Adrian) delights his loyal readers each week with snide insight on everything from fashion ("Can I pull off a Rasta beret?") to ear-bud etiquette. In A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life, he brings his savvy smugness to his widest audience yet, on topics such as the hierarchy of transportation righteousness (what to do with the clunky old Subaru after purchasing a Prius) and ethical behavior at the grocery store, including how to handle the horror forgetting to bring your reusable burlap sack. Other day-to-day advice covers what to read on the bus (Vonnegut versus The Kite Runner versus The Economist) and feasting at the buffet of diversity, with tips for shooting a condescending smile at those who don't know how to use chopsticks. The Uptight Seattleite also helps readers navigate the big issues, such as responsible parenting (which calls for a mini-landfill kit, perfect for the backyard and ready to be stuffed with environmentally unfriendly diapers). For every insecure liberal-and those who love to make fun of them-the Uptight Seattleite offers us laughs from the pinnacle of political correctness.

Grammardog Guide to Life on the Mississippi

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Jane McKinney

Publisher: Grammardog LLC

ISBN: 160857024X

Category: Education

Page: 57

View: 3057

Grammardog Teacher's Guide contains 16 quizzes for this travel book. All sentences are from the book. Figurative language describes the voyage up the Mississippi ("gray beards of Spanish moss," "water's mulatto complexion," "the desert of water," "dense forest that guards the two banks," "angry ridge of water," "a boat hates shoal water"). Allusions include many references to literature (Robinson Crusoe, Shakespeare, Dante, Don Quixote, Frankenstein, Richard III, Othello).

Answers to Life

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Foster Russell

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1594675015

Category: Religion

Page: 308

View: 1542

Are you looking for greater meaning and purpose in life? This book provides a pathway to deeper understanding by posing and then addressing many of the critical questions of life.

To Life!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Artimia Arian

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595341845

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 52

View: 4984

"To Life!" consists of a comprehensive natural health regime. It includes a daily menu with various simple meal and juice options, in addition to a concise description of the most useful natural therapies.

An Ethical Right to Life

A Formulation from a Buberian Diological Perspective

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Manfred H. Vogel

Publisher: University Press of America

ISBN: 9780761830085

Category: Philosophy

Page: 296

View: 6582

This work focuses on the issue of an ethical right to life. Its aim is to formulate a persuasive answer the question: What attribute can endow an entity with an ethical right to not have its existence terminated? In pursuing this objective, this work manifests three distinctive features. The first regards the delineation of the ethical enterprise. The second identifies self-consciousness as the attribute that endows an entity with an ethical right to life (this entity being the human entity, being that only the human entity possesses self-consciousness). Finally, the third feature lies in the kind of conclusion at which we can arrive, in the light of the foregoing two features, regarding the various issues implicating the termination of life such as abortion, euthanasia, suicide, assistant-suicide, and capital punishment. The issue of an ethical right to life is heavily politicized and divisive in Western societies. The reflections and analyses offered in An Ethical Right to Life contribute a much-needed clarification to the on-going discussion.

The Right to Life and Conflicting Interests

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Elizabeth Wicks

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0199547394

Category: Law

Page: 260

View: 1620

The right to life is a core human right which has not yet received the detailed legal analysis that it requires. This book provides detailed, critical analysis of the controversial human right to life and, in particular, assesses the weight of conflicting interests which could and/or should serve to override the right. This contemporary study of the right to life focuses on the legal, as well as ethical, issues raised by the value of life in modern day society. It seeks to analyze the development, meaning and value of the fundamental human right to life in the context of its conflicts with other competing interests. The book begins with an overview of the right to life in which the concept of life itself is first analyzed, before both the right and its legal protection and enforcement are subjected to historical, philosophical and comparative analysis. The remainder of the book identifies, and assesses the merits of, various competing interests. These comprise armed conflict; prevention of crime; rights of others; autonomy; quality of life; and finite resources. The right to life is unusual in having potential application to so many of today's ethically controversial questions. This new work investigates specific topics of current political, legal and ethical concern such as the right to life during international conflicts, the role of lethal force in law enforcement, the death penalty, the right to life of a foetus in the context of legalized abortion, and the significance of quality of life and autonomy issues in respect of euthanasia and assisted suicide.