The Right to Life in International Law

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bertrand G. Ramcharan

Publisher: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers

ISBN: 9024730740

Category: Political Science

Page: 371

View: 993

This collection of essays is the outcome of the proceedings of the Centre for Research and Study in International Law and International Relations of the Hague Academy of International Law in the summer of 1983.

True to Life Upper-Intermediate Personal Study Workbook

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ruth Gairns,Stuart Redman

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521574822

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 124

View: 370

Presents a five-level course for adults, which focuses on contemporary themes, language and learning styles that are relevant to adult learners. This title includes photocopiable worksheets, tests and videos, and the ready-made lessons can be used as they stand, or adapted using the optional activities suggested in the Teacher's Book.

Is Death Ever Preferable to Life?

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ian Olver

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 9401719764

Category: Philosophy

Page: 168

View: 8554

This is an original contribution to the much debated area of the value that we should place on human life. With the euthanasia issue highlighted in the public arena this book argues for a non-absolutist highest value on life ethic and how that fits with society's current emphasis on individual autonomy. By the use of everyday examples the impact of placing a high value on life is explored. It will be useful for students of ethics, nursing and medicine and those engaged in the public debate on euthanasia.

A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life

How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to FriendsWho Choose Kids Over Dogs

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: The Uptight Seattleite

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101185643

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 2475

In the tradition of The Official Preppy Handbook, The Uptight Seattleite is the Stephen Colbert of left-wing satire The author of the wildly popular Seattle Weekly advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. Artfully balancing the cosmic with the cosmopolitan, the Uptight Seattleite (aka Adrian) delights his loyal readers each week with snide insight on everything from fashion ("Can I pull off a Rasta beret?") to ear-bud etiquette. In A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life, he brings his savvy smugness to his widest audience yet, on topics such as the hierarchy of transportation righteousness (what to do with the clunky old Subaru after purchasing a Prius) and ethical behavior at the grocery store, including how to handle the horror forgetting to bring your reusable burlap sack. Other day-to-day advice covers what to read on the bus (Vonnegut versus The Kite Runner versus The Economist) and feasting at the buffet of diversity, with tips for shooting a condescending smile at those who don't know how to use chopsticks. The Uptight Seattleite also helps readers navigate the big issues, such as responsible parenting (which calls for a mini-landfill kit, perfect for the backyard and ready to be stuffed with environmentally unfriendly diapers). For every insecure liberal-and those who love to make fun of them-the Uptight Seattleite offers us laughs from the pinnacle of political correctness.

Grammardog Guide to Life on the Mississippi

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Jane McKinney

Publisher: Grammardog LLC

ISBN: 160857024X

Category: Education

Page: 57

View: 612

Grammardog Teacher's Guide contains 16 quizzes for this travel book. All sentences are from the book. Figurative language describes the voyage up the Mississippi ("gray beards of Spanish moss," "water's mulatto complexion," "the desert of water," "dense forest that guards the two banks," "angry ridge of water," "a boat hates shoal water"). Allusions include many references to literature (Robinson Crusoe, Shakespeare, Dante, Don Quixote, Frankenstein, Richard III, Othello).

13 to Life

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Shannon Delany

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN: 9781429922180

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8367

Everything about Jessie Gillmansen's life changed when her mother died. Now even her hometown of Junction is changing. Mysterious dark things are happening. All Jessie wants is to avoid more change. But showing a hot new guy around Junction High, she's about to discover a whole new type of change. Pietr Rusakova is more than good looks and a fascinating accent—he's a guy with a dangerous secret. And his very existence is sure to bring big trouble to Jessie's small town. It seems change is the one thing Jessie can't avoid...

Answers to Life

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Foster Russell

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1594675015

Category: Religion

Page: 308

View: 8383

Are you looking for greater meaning and purpose in life? This book provides a pathway to deeper understanding by posing and then addressing many of the critical questions of life.

To Life!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Artimia Arian

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595341845

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 52

View: 3845

"To Life!" consists of a comprehensive natural health regime. It includes a daily menu with various simple meal and juice options, in addition to a concise description of the most useful natural therapies.

To Life

A Collection of Poetry

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dr. C. Thomas Elkins

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1456889419

Category: Poetry

Page: 131

View: 1771

At this very moment life is just beginning! At points along this earthly orb. In darkness or in light, In freedom or in shame, Midst serenity or in fright, Some with hope of worldly fame, While others face a future Without a chance of winning, But life continues just the same!