Though Hell Should Bar the Way

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Drake

Publisher: Baen Books

ISBN: 1625796323

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 3006

A NEW NOVEL IN THE NATIONALLY BEST-SELLING RCN MILITARY SF SERIES. David Drake, Dean of Military Science Fiction, returns with another entry in his best-selling RCN series. FROM WEALTH AND POWER, TO POVERTY AND INSULTS! Roy Olfetrie planned to be an officer in the Republic of Cinnabar Navy, but when his father was unmasked as a white-collar criminal he had to take whatever he was offered. What is offered turns out to be a chance to accompany Captain Daniel Leary and Lady Adele Mundy as they go off to start a war that will put Roy at the sharp end. Duty snatches Roy from the harem of a pirate chief to a world of monsters, from interstellar reaches in a half-wrecked starship to assassination attempts at posh houses. Roy has the choice of making friends or dying friendless; of meeting betrayal and responding to it; of breaking his faith or keeping it at the risk of his life. Pirates, politics, and spies--and waiting for Roy if he survives all the rest, a powerful warship. The action doesn't slow--nor can Roy, for if he does the only question is which of the many threats will be the one to catch and kill him. But Captain Leary himself has given Roy a chance, and Roy is determined make the most of it—THOUGH HELL SHOULD BAR THE WAY. At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management). About David Drake’s RCN series: “[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.”—Publishers Weekly “The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!”—Philadelphia Weekly Press “[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.”—SFReader.com “Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” —Publishers Weekly About David Drake: “[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…”—Chicago Sun-Times “Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.”—Booklist RCN series: With the Lightnings Lt. Leary, Commanding The Far Side of the Stars The Way to Glory Some Golden Harbor When the Tide Rises In the Stormy Red Sky What Distant Deeps The Road of Danger The Sea Without a Shore Death's Bright Day Though Hell Should Bar the Way

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Frank McCourt

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 068484267X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 363

View: 450

The author recounts his childhood in Depression-era Brooklyn as the child of Irish immigrants who decide to return to worse poverty in Ireland when his infant sister dies

Imaginative Conservatism

The Letters of Russell Kirk

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James E. Person Jr.

Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

ISBN: 081317547X

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 432

View: 8245

Russell Kirk (1918--1994) is renowned worldwide as one of the founders of postwar American conservatism. His 1953 masterpiece, The Conservative Mind, became the intellectual touchstone for a reinvigorated movement and began a sea change in the nation's attitudes toward traditionalism. A prolific author and wise cultural critic, Kirk kept up a steady stream of correspondence with friends and colleagues around the globe, yet none of his substantial body of personal letters has ever been published -- letters as colorful and intelligent as the man himself. In Imaginative Conservatism, James E. Person Jr. presents one hundred and ninety of Kirk's most provocative and insightful missives. Covering a period from 1940 to 1994, these letters trace Kirk's development from a shy, precocious young man to a public intellectual firm in his beliefs and generous with his time and resources when called upon to provide for refugees, the homeless, and other outcasts. This carefully annotated and edited collection includes correspondence between Kirk and figures such as T.S. Eliot, William F. Buckley Jr., Ray Bradbury, Arthur Schlesinger Jr., Charlton Heston, Nikolai Tolstoy, Wendell Berry, Richard Nixon, and Herbert Hoover, among many others. Kirk's conservatism was not primarily political but moral and imaginative, focusing always on the relationship of the human soul in community with others and with the transcendent. Beyond the wealth of autobiographical information that this collection affords, it offers thought-provoking wisdom from one of the twentieth century's most influential interpreters of American politics and culture.

Pharaoh's Missiles

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Donald P. Mackintosh

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1477160337

Category: Fiction

Page: 247

View: 9318

There is no available information at this time.

Classrooms in the Shade

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Shanthee Manjoo

Publisher: Real African Publishers

ISBN: 0987034820

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 8263

From the opening Sanskrit mantra to the final act of voting in South Africa's first democratic elections, this lyrical memoir provides a unique perspective on South Africa's modern history. The account shows how a young Hindu woman of Indian ancestry, living in South Africa in the 1940s, defied convention, married a Muslim man, and became an activist at time when Muslim women were seldom seen in such a role. As a teacher, she spoke up during the political strife of that highly segregated era, which included the relocation of Indians and angry student boycotts, and here shares her philosophies and insights into education. Filled with characters from both a personal and national context, the memoir captures the nuances of an important time and place.

Best Remembered Poems

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Martin Gardner

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486116409

Category: Poetry

Page: 240

View: 2167

The 126 poems in this superb collection of 19th and 20th century British and American verse range from famous poets such as Wordsworth, Tennyson, Whitman, and Frost to less well-known poets. Includes 10 selections from the Common Core State Standards Initiative.

Frostborn: The First Quest

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jonathan Moeller

Publisher: Azure Flame Media, LLC

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 166

View: 2185

A thousand years ago, the last grandson of Arthur Pendragon led the survivors of Britain through a magical gate to a new world, a world of magic and high elves, of orcs and kobolds and stranger, darker creatures. Now the descendants of the exiles rule a mighty kingdom, peaceful and prosperous under the rule of the High King. But dangers stir that the realm is not ready to face. RIDMARK ARBAN is a new-made knight and Swordbearer of the realm. When the archmage of the high elves asks for aid against the dread Warden of Urd Morlemoch, Ridmark volunteers for the quest, eager to prove himself and win glory and renown. But terrible evil awaits in Urd Morlemoch, and those who enter the Warden's clutches rarely escape them... A free sword & sorcery and epic fantasy adventure in ebook format.

To Clear Away the Shadows

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Drake

Publisher: Baen Books

ISBN: 1625797125

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 1318

NEW ENTRY IN DAVID DRAKE'S LANDMARK RCN SERIES ADVENTURES BEYOND THE EDGE OF THE KNOWN UNIVERSE The truce between Cinnabar and the Alliance is holding, and the Republic of Cinnabar Navy is able to explore regions of the galaxy without the explorers being swept up in great power conflict. The Far Traveller is probing sponge space to open routes for Cinnabar traders—and for RCN warships if war breaks out again. But besides astrogation, the Far Traveller is to survey and catalog life forms on the worlds it touches. Harry Harper has just been posted to the Traveller. He's an RCN officer by convention, a scientist by training—and a member of one of leading aristocratic families on Cinnabar by birth. Lieutenant Rick Grenville would rather serve on a warship in the heart of battle, but peace and the whim of the Navy Board have put him on an exploration vessel instead. He finds that the dangers on the fringes of civilization are just as great as those from missiles and gunfire that he expected to face. As internal struggles cause the Alliance to relax its iron grip, regional forces are attempting to increase their own power—and they're not fussy about the means they use. Besides the biological answers that officials on Cinnabar expect the Far Traveller to find, the ship's Director of Science, Doctor Veil, has her own agenda: to learn more about the Archaic Spacefarers who roamed the universe tens of thousands of years before humans reached the stars. The crew of the Far Traveller is poised to clear more of the shadows away from the deep past than ever before in human history—if they survive. At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management). Praise for prequel Though Hell Should Bar the Way: “Though Hell Should Bar the Way is vastly entertaining, a tale that demonstrates Drake’s skill as an author, illustrating why Drake is one of the best living science fiction authors today."—The Daily News of Galveston County About David Drake’s RCN series: “[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.”—Publishers Weekly “The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!”—Philadelphia Weekly Press “[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.”—SFReader.com “Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” —Publishers Weekly About David Drake: “[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…”—Chicago Sun-Times “Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.”—Booklist RCN series: With the Lightnings Lt. Leary, Commanding The Far Side of the Stars The Way to Glory Some Golden Harbor When the Tide Rises In the Stormy Red Sky What Distant Deeps The Road of Danger The Sea Without a Shore Death's Bright Day Though Hell Should Bar the Way