Though Hell Should Bar the Way

(The Republic of Cinnabar Navy series #12)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Drake

Publisher: Titan Books

ISBN: 178565232X

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 2904

David Drake [is] the reason a lot of people got started reading military science fiction, because it's always a good idea to start with the best.--David Weber Roy Olfetrie dreamed of becoming an officer in the Republic of Cinnabar Navy until his father’s secret criminal enterprise was discovered. Forced to drop out of the Academy, Roy has given up – until he meets Captain Daniel Leary. With Leary and Mundy at his side, Roy finally has a chance to redeem himself. Plunged back into the fray, Roy must contend with slave traders, pirates and assassination attempts, as well as his own father’s toxic legacy. But an even greater danger is on the horizon, as war with the Alliance is brewing once again...

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Frank McCourt

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 068484267X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 363

View: 6635

The author recounts his childhood in Depression-era Brooklyn as the child of Irish immigrants who decide to return to worse poverty in Ireland when his infant sister dies

To Clear Away the Shadows

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Drake

Publisher: Baen Books

ISBN: 1625797125

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 8419

NEW ENTRY IN DAVID DRAKE'S LANDMARK RCN SERIES ADVENTURES BEYOND THE EDGE OF THE KNOWN UNIVERSE The truce between Cinnabar and the Alliance is holding, and the Republic of Cinnabar Navy is able to explore regions of the galaxy without the explorers being swept up in great power conflict. The Far Traveller is probing sponge space to open routes for Cinnabar traders—and for RCN warships if war breaks out again. But besides astrogation, the Far Traveller is to survey and catalog life forms on the worlds it touches. Harry Harper has just been posted to the Traveller. He's an RCN officer by convention, a scientist by training—and a member of one of leading aristocratic families on Cinnabar by birth. Lieutenant Rick Grenville would rather serve on a warship in the heart of battle, but peace and the whim of the Navy Board have put him on an exploration vessel instead. He finds that the dangers on the fringes of civilization are just as great as those from missiles and gunfire that he expected to face. As internal struggles cause the Alliance to relax its iron grip, regional forces are attempting to increase their own power—and they're not fussy about the means they use. Besides the biological answers that officials on Cinnabar expect the Far Traveller to find, the ship's Director of Science, Doctor Veil, has her own agenda: to learn more about the Archaic Spacefarers who roamed the universe tens of thousands of years before humans reached the stars. The crew of the Far Traveller is poised to clear more of the shadows away from the deep past than ever before in human history—if they survive. At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management). Praise for prequel Though Hell Should Bar the Way: “Though Hell Should Bar the Way is vastly entertaining, a tale that demonstrates Drake’s skill as an author, illustrating why Drake is one of the best living science fiction authors today."—The Daily News of Galveston County About David Drake’s RCN series: “[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.”—Publishers Weekly “The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!”—Philadelphia Weekly Press “[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.”—SFReader.com “Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” —Publishers Weekly About David Drake: “[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…”—Chicago Sun-Times “Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.”—Booklist RCN series: With the Lightnings Lt. Leary, Commanding The Far Side of the Stars The Way to Glory Some Golden Harbor When the Tide Rises In the Stormy Red Sky What Distant Deeps The Road of Danger The Sea Without a Shore Death's Bright Day Though Hell Should Bar the Way

Classrooms in the Shade

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Shanthee Manjoo

Publisher: Real African Publishers

ISBN: 0987034820

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 1526

From the opening Sanskrit mantra to the final act of voting in South Africa's first democratic elections, this lyrical memoir provides a unique perspective on South Africa's modern history. The account shows how a young Hindu woman of Indian ancestry, living in South Africa in the 1940s, defied convention, married a Muslim man, and became an activist at time when Muslim women were seldom seen in such a role. As a teacher, she spoke up during the political strife of that highly segregated era, which included the relocation of Indians and angry student boycotts, and here shares her philosophies and insights into education. Filled with characters from both a personal and national context, the memoir captures the nuances of an important time and place.

Pharaoh's Missiles

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Donald P. Mackintosh

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1477160337

Category: Fiction

Page: 247

View: 2535

There is no available information at this time.

The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Oxford University Press,TME.

Publisher: Oxford [England] : Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780198601739

Category: Reference

Page: 1136

View: 4263

More than twenty thousand quotations from every era and location are combined in a comprehensive reference that also encompasses details of the earliest traceable source, birth and death dates, and career briefs for each entry, as well as a thematic and k

You Belong To Me

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Higgins Clark

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471103161

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 3002

Regina Clausen was forty-three, successful in her career but insecure and unfulfilled in her personal life. Travelling alone on the luxury liner Gabrielle, she disembarked in Hong Kong saying she would rejoin the ship when it docked in Japan. She was never seen again. . . Five years later, radio presenter Susan Chandler does a series about vanishing women on her radio talk show. When a caller, who refuses to identify herself, tells of meeting a man on a cruise who gave her a ring inscribed 'You Belong to Me', but then disappeared when she refused to leave the ship with him, she thinks little of it. But then Regina's mother appears at Susan's office with a ring bearing the same inscription which was found amongst her daughter's belongings, and Susan begins to suspect that they are on the trail of something dangerously sinister...

Best Remembered Poems

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Martin Gardner

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486116409

Category: Poetry

Page: 240

View: 7844

The 126 poems in this superb collection of 19th and 20th century British and American verse range from famous poets such as Wordsworth, Tennyson, Whitman, and Frost to less well-known poets. Includes 10 selections from the Common Core State Standards Initiative.

Frostborn: The First Quest

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jonathan Moeller

Publisher: Azure Flame Media, LLC

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 166

View: 5730

A thousand years ago, the last grandson of Arthur Pendragon led the survivors of Britain through a magical gate to a new world, a world of magic and high elves, of orcs and kobolds and stranger, darker creatures. Now the descendants of the exiles rule a mighty kingdom, peaceful and prosperous under the rule of the High King. But dangers stir that the realm is not ready to face. RIDMARK ARBAN is a new-made knight and Swordbearer of the realm. When the archmage of the high elves asks for aid against the dread Warden of Urd Morlemoch, Ridmark volunteers for the quest, eager to prove himself and win glory and renown. But terrible evil awaits in Urd Morlemoch, and those who enter the Warden's clutches rarely escape them... A free sword & sorcery and epic fantasy adventure in ebook format.