The Wishing Year

A House, a Man, My Soul A Memoir of Fulfilled Desire

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Noelle Oxenhandler

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1588367134

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 3645

One New Year’s Day, Noelle Oxenhandler took stock of her life and found that she was alone after a long marriage, seemingly doomed to perpetual house rental and separated from the spiritual community that once had sustained her. With little left to lose, she launched a year’s experiment in desire, forcing herself to take the plunge and try the path of Putting It Out There. It wasn’t easy. A skeptic at heart, and a practicing Buddhist as well, Oxenhandler had grown up with a strong aversion to mixing spiritual and earthly matters. Still, she suspended her doubts and went for it all: a new love, a healed soul, and the 2RBD/1.5 BA of her dreams. Thus began her initiation into the art of wishing brazenly. In this charming, compelling, and ultimately joyful book, Oxenhandler records a journey that is at once comic and poignant, light and dark, earthy and spiritual. Along the way she wonders: Does wishing have power? Is there danger in wishing? Are some wishes more worthy than others? And what about the ancient link between suffering and desire? To answer her questions, she delves into the history of wishing, from the rain dance and deer song of primeval magic to modern beliefs about mind over matter, prosperity consciousness, and the law of attraction. As the months go by, Oxenhandler is humbled to discover the courage it takes to make a wish and thus open oneself to the unknown. She is surprised when her experiment expands to include other people and other places in ways she never imagined. But most of all, she is amazed to find that there is, indeed, both power and danger in the act of wishing. For soon her wishes begin to come true–in ways that meet, subvert, and overflow her expectations. And what started as a year’s dare turns into a way of life. A delightfully candid memoir, unfettered, poetic, and ripe with discovery, Oxenhandler’s journey into the art and soul of wishing will inspire even the most skeptical reader to search the skies for the next shooting star. Praise for THE WISHING YEAR "This is a wonderful book, full of wisdom gleaned from a year of Noelle Oxenhandler's daring to embrace what she had previously denied herself--her own personal wishes. I highly recommend The Wishing Year for anyone wanting to learn more about what life has to offer when we pay attention to our heart's desires." –Sarah Susanka, author of The Not So Big Life "Do you want to know how wishes come true? Then read The Wishing Year. It's a book that beautifully illuminates the art and mystery of wishing--and it does so in a way that is inspiring, funny, serious, honest, heartfelt, and irresistibly readable." –Jack Kornfield, author of After the Ecstasy, the Laundry "The Wishing Year is an elegant exploration of the way thought shapes reality. Writing with great personal honesty and candor, Noelle Oxenhandler's exhilarating prose takes us deep into the pain and glory of being human." –Mark Epstein, M.D., author of Open to Desire “Oxenhandler's new book makes it okay to be a smart, sophisticated grow-up who also believes in magic. She dives beneath the new age veneer and deconstructs how wishes really come true.” –Susan Piver, author of How Not to Be Afraid of Your Own Life From the Hardcover edition.

The Wishing Hill

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Holly Robinson

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 110158971X

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6992

What if everything you knew about your life was wrong? Years ago, Juliet Clark gave up her life in California to follow the man she loved to Mexico and pursue her dream of being an artist. Now her marriage is over, and she’s alone, selling watercolors to tourists on the Puerto Vallarta boardwalk. When her brother asks her to come home to wintery New England and care for their ailing mother, a flamboyant actress with a storied past, Juliet goes reluctantly. She and her self-absorbed mother have always clashed. Plus, nobody back home knows about her divorce—or the fact that she’s pregnant and her ex-husband is not the father. Juliet intends to get her mother back on her feet and return to Mexico fast, but nothing goes as planned. Instead she meets a man who makes her question every choice and reawakens her spirit, even as she is being drawn into a long-running feud between her mother and a reclusive neighbor. Little does she know that these relationships hold the key to shocking secrets about her family and herself that have been hiding in plain sight.… CONVERSATION GUIDE INCLUDED

The Wishing Stone

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Christopher Pike

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1481410857

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 128

View: 7801

Be very, very careful what you wish for in this ninth book in the Spooksville series New York Times bestselling author Christopher Pike. While hiking in the woods near Spooksville, Adam and his friends find a cube-shaped stone. It is clear, like a crystal, and seems to shine with colored light. To their surprise, they discover that if they hold it and make a wish for something, the wish will come true! They call it the Wishing Stone. And they love it. Until they discover that there is a price to be paid for each wish…and that the price can be deadly.

Aunt Dimity and the Wishing Well (Aunt Dimity Mysteries, Book 19)

A delightful Cotswold mystery

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nancy Atherton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472216296

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 801

Be careful what you wish for... Cosy crime lovers' favourite paranormal sleuth is back in her nineteenth otherworldly adventure, Aunt Dimity and the Wishing Well, from acclaimed author Nancy Atherton. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Ann Granger. 'One of Aunt Dimity's most suspenseful mysteries. Loyal fans will be thrilled by every new revelation' - Kirkus Reviews When a young Australian named Jack MacBride arrives in Finch to wrap up his late uncle's affairs, heads turn in the sleepy Cotswold village. But when Lori Shepherd volunteers to help Jack clear out his uncle's overgrown garden, they discover something even more surprising. Tossing a coin into the garden's own well, Lori makes a wish, and is later baffled to find it seems to have come true. Word spreads, and the villagers turn out in droves to make wishes of their own. But one person's wish can be another's worst nightmare and the village is soon thrown into chaos. Lori resolves to find out what's really going on. Is handsome Jack somehow tricking his neighbours? Or are they fooling themselves? With Aunt Dimity's otherworldly help, Lori will discover that the truth is more marvellous than she could have ever imagined. What readers are saying about the Aunt Dimity Mysteries: 'Charming escapism' 'Simply the best and most beautiful cosy series in the world' 'These books are just pure, glorious entertainment'

The Wishing Tree

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: Pioneer Drama Service, Inc.

ISBN: N.A

Category: Musicals

Page: 22

View: 8982

The Wishing Bones

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jalina Mhyana

Publisher: Pudding House Publications

ISBN: 9781589984660

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4874

The Wishing Tree

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: William Faulkner

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 0307799638

Category: Fiction

Page: 80

View: 4721

A strange boy leads a birthday-girl and her companions on a hunt for the wishing tree which brings them many surprising and magical adventures.

The Wishing Tree

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erin Sinclair

Publisher: Devine Destinies

ISBN: 1554872073

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 1854

A plain family heirloomãa Christmas tree crafted of chiseled gold laced with sparkling crystals known as The Wishing Treeãhas been passed down to the women of the Miller family for generations. Legend has it if a heartfelt wish for true love is made on the tree, one's soul mate will be brought to them by mysterious happenstance. 1958. Simone Miller, top fashion model for the Astor Modeling Agency, is on a break between assignments and decides to meet with her family at their cabin in Vermont for the winter holidays. Joyful times are had by all for the entire week leading to Christmas Day where she inherits the ornament and all the possibilities the gift represents. 1983. Genevieve Jensen mourns the loss of her fianc_ who died in a car accident two months prior to the holiday gathering of the Miller clan. At the insistence of her parents, she arrives at the Miller cabin, finds solace and comfort in their established traditions and begins to smile again, sharing in the love and laughter of her close knit family. 2008. Fiona Landis, top notch interior designer, barely makes it to the Miller family cabin to share in the holiday festivities. On Christmas morning Fiona's high-end sensibilities are put to the test when The Wishing Tree appears beside her, calling to the jaded young woman to make her wish. Will Fiona break the cycle and reject The Wishing Tree? Or will she too succumb to the time honored tradition the women of the Miller clan have shared for well over a century?

The Wishing Trees

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Shors

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101459980

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 2258

Almost a year after the death of his wife, former high-tech executive Ian finds a letter that will change his life. It contains Kate's final wish-a plea for him to take their ten-year-old daughter, Mattie, on a trip across Asia, through the countries they had always planned to visit. Eager to honor the woman they loved, Ian and Mattie embark on an epic journey, leaving notes to Kate in "wishing trees" along the way, and encountering miracles large and small. And as they begin to find their way back to each other, they discover that healing is possible and love endures-lessons that Kate hoped to show them all along...

Where the Peacocks Sing

A Palace, a Prince, and the Search for Home

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alison Singh Gee

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 125002837X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 9621

How far would you travel for love? In her sparkling memoir, journalist Alison Singh Gee learns that love, riches, and a place to call home can be found in the most unexpected places. Alison Singh Gee was a glamorous magazine writer with a serious Jimmy Choo habit, a weakness for five-star Balinese resorts, and a reputation for dating highborn British men. Then she met Ajay, a charming and unassuming Indian journalist, and her world turned upside down. Traveling from her shiny, rapid-fire life in Hong Kong to Ajay's native village, Alison learns that not all is as it seems. Turns out that Ajay is a landed prince (of sorts), but his family palace is falling to pieces. Replete with plumbing issues, strange noises, and intimidating relatives, her new love's ramshackle palace, Mokimpur, is a broken-down relic in desperate need of a makeover. And Alison wonders if she can soldier on for the sake of the man who just might be her soul mate. This modern-day fairytale, WHERE THE PEACOCKS SING, takes readers on a cross-cultural journey from the manicured gardens of Beverly Hills, to the bustling streets of Hong Kong and finally to the rural Indian countryside as Alison comes to terms with her complicated new family, leaves the modern world behind, and learns the true meaning of home.