The Voyeur's Motel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gay Talese

Publisher: Atlantic Books Ltd

ISBN: 1611859549

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 123

View: 7427

From Gay Talese, a remarkable new work of reportage more than thirty years in the making. On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. 'Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,' the letter began, 'I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.' The man went on to tell Talese a remarkable, shocking secret, so compelling that Talese travelled to Colorado to verify it in person. But because the letter-writer insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, certain the story would remain untold. Over the next thirty-five years, the man occasionally reached out to Talese to fill him in on the latest developments in his life, but he continued to insist on anonymity. Finally, after thirty-five years, he's ready to go public. In the tradition of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Talese's landmark, best-selling exploration of the sexual revolution in America, this will be a provocative, eye-opening and much-talked-about book.

Strange Fascination

David Bowie: The Definitive Story

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Buckley

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448132479

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 592

View: 6490

The Sunday Times bestseller. David Bowie was arguably the most influential artist of his time, reinventing himself again and again, transforming music, style and art for over five decades. David Buckley's unique approach to unravelling the Bowie enigma, via interviews with many of the singer's closest associates, biography and academic analysis, makes this unrivalled biography a classic for Bowie fans old and new. This revised edition of Strange Fascination captures exclusive details about the tours, the making of the albums, the arguments, the split-ups, the music and, most importantly, the man himself. Also including exclusive photographic material, Strange Fascination is the most complete account of David Bowie and his impact on pop culture ever written.

New Approaches to Twentieth-century Travel Literature in French

Genre, History, Theory

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charles Forsdick,Feroza Basu,Siobhán Shilton

Publisher: Peter Lang

ISBN: 9780820471334

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 235

View: 6860

From the postcolonial perspective of the early twenty-first century, the importance of travel literature, for considerations of national and international cultures and identities, has become increasingly apparent. Travel literature in French has, however, received little critical scrutiny. This book contributes to contemporary reassessments of the form in a number of disciplines, focusing specifically on the discourses and contexts of travel in twentieth-century texts written in French. Its scope is interdisciplinary, involving theoretical and generic considerations as well as a historical overview of colonial and postcolonial texts. The book provides essential reading for all students of travel literature in French - and of travel literature in general.

Esquire

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chicago (Ill.)

Page: N.A

View: 4495

Human Sexuality

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Carole Wade,Sarah Cirese

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt P

ISBN: N.A

Category: Sex

Page: 797

View: 7033

The Magic Worlds of Bernard Malamud

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Evelyn Gross Avery

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780791450659

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 219

View: 1885

Offers personal recollections of and critical perspectives on this major American author.

The V-Spot

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Wendy S. Marcus

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 1474006884

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 2656

How hot is your night going to get? Take the quiz and find out! 1. You're a curvy, cute and practical nurse, ready to unleash your inner naughty nymphette for your 25th birthday. You start with...

Refiguring the father

new feminist readings of patriarchy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Patricia Yaeger,Elizabeth Kowaleski-Wallace

Publisher: Southern Illinois University

ISBN: 9780809315291

Category: Social Science

Page: 319

View: 2626

An exciting investigation of the ways literary and cultural texts have not only shaped the difficult terms of the daughter-father relationship but also prescribed a role for fathers that is paradoxical and contradictory. These 15 essays seek to enter into a new dialogue with both the tenets of patriarchy and with the "initiating symbolic gestures" of feminist discourse that have helped to maintain the father’s "voracious and hierarchical" position in western culture. The problem is not simply to change the focus of feminist inquiry from father-as-center to mother-as-center, but to reinvent the discourse of the father, to unsettle an oedipal dialectic that insists on revealing the father as the gaze, as bodilessness, or as the symbolic, and to develop a new dialectic that refuses to describe the father function as if it were univocal and ahistorical.