The Singularity Is Near

When Humans Transcend Biology

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ray Kurzweil

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101218884

Category: Social Science

Page: 672

View: 3592

“Startling in scope and bravado.” —Janet Maslin, The New York Times “Artfully envisions a breathtakingly better world.” —Los Angeles Times “Elaborate, smart and persuasive.” —The Boston Globe “A pleasure to read.” —The Wall Street Journal One of CBS News’s Best Fall Books of 2005 • Among St Louis Post-Dispatch’s Best Nonfiction Books of 2005 • One of Amazon.com’s Best Science Books of 2005 A radical and optimistic view of the future course of human development from the bestselling author of How to Create a Mind and The Age of Spiritual Machines who Bill Gates calls “the best person I know at predicting the future of artificial intelligence” For over three decades, Ray Kurzweil has been one of the most respected and provocative advocates of the role of technology in our future. In his classic The Age of Spiritual Machines, he argued that computers would soon rival the full range of human intelligence at its best. Now he examines the next step in this inexorable evolutionary process: the union of human and machine, in which the knowledge and skills embedded in our brains will be combined with the vastly greater capacity, speed, and knowledge-sharing ability of our creations. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Singularity Rising

Surviving and Thriving in a Smarter, Richer, and More Dangerous World

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James D. Miller

Publisher: BenBella Books

ISBN: 1936661659

Category: Science

Page: 262

View: 4739

Offers social and economic predictions for the Singularity, a scientific vision that foresees a time of abundant human and artificial intelligence, and speculates on the implications of such a future.

Digital Rapture

The Singularity Anthology

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Patrick Kelly,John Kessel

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781616960704

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 431

View: 7897

A selection of fiction and nonfiction traces the path of the Singularity, an era when advances in technology will totally transform human reality, and features stories and essays by H. G. Wells, Elizabeth Bear, Ray Kurzweil, Justina Robson, Cory Doctorow and many more. Original.

The Technological Singularity

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Murray Shanahan

Publisher: MIT Press

ISBN: 0262527804

Category: Computers

Page: 272

View: 7911

The idea of technological singularity, and what it would mean if ordinary human intelligence were enhanced or overtaken by artificial intelligence.

How to Create a Mind

The Secret of Human Thought Revealed

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ray Kurzweil

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101601108

Category: Science

Page: 352

View: 6620

The bold futurist and bestselling author explores the limitless potential of reverse-engineering the human brain Ray Kurzweil is arguably today’s most influential—and often controversial—futurist. In How to Create a Mind, Kurzweil presents a provocative exploration of the most important project in human-machine civilization—reverse engineering the brain to understand precisely how it works and using that knowledge to create even more intelligent machines. Kurzweil discusses how the brain functions, how the mind emerges from the brain, and the implications of vastly increasing the powers of our intelligence in addressing the world’s problems. He thoughtfully examines emotional and moral intelligence and the origins of consciousness and envisions the radical possibilities of our merging with the intelligent technology we are creating. Certain to be one of the most widely discussed and debated science books of the year, How to Create a Mind is sure to take its place alongside Kurzweil’s previous classics which include Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever and The Age of Spiritual Machines. From the Hardcover edition.

Technologies in the Era of Singularity

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Guru Pada Chattopadhyay

Publisher: Notion Press

ISBN: 164324146X

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 206

View: 4069

When young, we didn’t have cellular devices but communicated through handwritten letter. We walked miles to school, in the sun and the rain. It’s mind-boggling to think how far we’ve come technologically. “Objects in mirror are closer than they appear.” That familiar warning applies to the windshield, not the rear view mirror when it comes to technology. And in case of exponential technologies, almost everything is closer than it appears. Today’s students will be graduating in and around 2030. Over 65% of the jobs of that time have not been invented yet. What knowledge, skills and dispositions will our learners need for a successful future? How will exponential changes in technology influence them? How can they shape the future instead of being shaped by it? There is an urgent need to be aware of exponential technologies which will usher in singularity, a point in time when artificial intelligence will equal and then surpass biological intelligence. An exploratory design of medical nanotechnology and robotics is creating mechanical artificial red blood cells, called respirocytes, which will deliver 236 times more oxygen to the tissues per unit volume. One can then do an Olympic sprint in fifteen minutes without taking a breath. Earth is awash with the sun’s rays carrying 10,000 times more energy than we need but we cannot harness it. In a foreseeable future, highly efficient, lightweight, nano-engineered solar panels will be able to store solar energy in distributed nanotechnology-based fuel cells. In the field of health, we are going to have tools to reprogram biology to block diseases and delay aging. We need our future scientists and engineers to be wholesome human beings with the ability to think critically and pay heed to the moral and ethical issues of future technologies. Notwithstanding these issues, all great technological breakthroughs are absolutely necessary to alleviate poverty, disease, suffering and create abundance.

Avogadro Corp

The Singularity is Closer than it Appears

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: William Hertling

Publisher: William Hertling

ISBN: 0984755713

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 1550

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence. David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda. WINNER SCIENCE FICTION DIY BOOK FESTIVAL 2011-2012 "Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." -- Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars "Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.” -- Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION "An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." -- Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS "A fictional world where Portland is the hub for the most exciting advancements in technology... [J]am packed with great references to deep Portland culture...and Portlandia-type references" -- SILICON FLORIST

Eclipse of Man

Human Extinction and the Meaning of Progress

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charles T. Rubin

Publisher: Encounter Books

ISBN: 1594037418

Category: Science

Page: 200

View: 8540

Tomorrow has never looked better. Breakthroughs in fields like genetic engineering and nanotechnology promise to give us unprecedented power to redesign our bodies and our world. Futurists and activists tell us that we are drawing ever closer to a day when we will be as smart as computers, will be able to link our minds telepathically, and will live for centuries—or maybe forever. The perfection of a “post-human” future awaits us. Or so the story goes. In reality, the rush toward a post-human destiny amounts to an ideology of human extinction, an ideology that sees little of value in humanity except the raw material for producing whatever might come next. In Eclipse of Man, Charles T. Rubin traces the intellectual origins of the movement to perfect and replace the human race. He shows how today’s advocates of radical enhancement are—like their forebears—deeply dissatisfied with given human nature and fixated on grand visions of a future shaped by technological progress. Moreover, Rubin argues that this myopic vision of the future is not confined to charlatans and cheerleaders promoting this or that technology: it also runs through much of modern science and contemporary progressivism. By exploring and criticizing the dreams of post humanity, Rubin defends a more modest vision of the future, one that takes seriously both the limitations and the inherent dignity of our given nature.

Cyborg Selves

A Theological Anthropology of the Posthuman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dr Jeanine Thweatt-Bates

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 1409481832

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 6852

What is the 'posthuman'? Is becoming posthuman inevitable-something which will happen to us, or something we will do to ourselves? Why do some long for it, while others fearfully reject it? These questions underscore the fact that the posthuman is a name for the unknown future, and therefore, not a single idea but a jumble of competing visions - some of which may be exciting, some of which may be frightening, and which is which depends on who you are, and what you desire to be. This book aims to clarify current theological and philosophical dialogue on the posthuman by arguing that theologians must pay attention to which form of the posthuman they are engaging, and to demonstrate that a 'posthuman theology' is not only possible, but desirable, when the vision of the posthuman is one which coincides with a theological vision of the human.

The Roving Mind

A Modern Approach to Cognitive Enhancement

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anthony Simola

Publisher: ST Press

ISBN: 069240905X

Category: Psychology

Page: N.A

View: 9685

"[C]ognitive enhancement's return on investment [...] happens to be the motivation for The Roving Mind. There is a long tradition of improving one's mental function yet only in the latter half of the 20th century have the effects risen and the investment—time, risk, effort, and capital—decreased to such an extent that certain aspects of cognitive enhancement have become a worthwhile pursuit." The Roving Mind: A Modern Approach to Cognitive Enhancement is a guide to improving human intelligence. Detailing various methods from ancient Roman mnemonic techniques to scheduled pharmaceutical substances to brain-machine interfaces, Mr. Simola has produced a convincing treatise on the timely topic of cognitive enhancement.