The Queen Of The Tearling

(The Tearling Trilogy 1)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erika Johansen

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1448171148

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 6130

Kelsea Glynn is the sole heir to the throne of Tearling but has been raised in secret after her mother – a monarch as vain as she was foolish – was murdered for ruining her kingdom. For 18 years, the Tearling has been ruled by Kelsea’s uncle in the role of Regent however he is but the debauched puppet of the Red Queen, the sorceress-tyrant of neighbouring realm of Mortmesme. On Kelsea’s nineteenth birthday, the tattered remnants of her mother’s guard - each pledged to defend the queen to the death - arrive to bring this most un-regal young woman out of hiding... And so begins her journey back to her kingdom’s heart, to claim the throne, win the loyalty of her people, overturn her mother’s legacy and redeem the Tearling from the forces of corruption and dark magic that are threatening to destroy it. But Kelsea's story is not just about her learning the true nature of her inheritance - it's about a heroine who must learn to acknowledge and live with the realities of coming of age in all its insecurities and attractions, alongside the ethical dilemmas of ruling justly and fairly while simply trying to stay alive...

The Queen of the Tearling: Preview Edition e-Book

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erika Johansen

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062376683

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8759

An untested young princess must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness in this spectacular debut—the first novel in a trilogy. Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom's haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands. Long ago, Kelsea's forefathers sailed away from a decaying world to establish a new land free of modern technology. Three hundred years later, this feudal society has divided into three fearful nations who pay duties to a fourth: the powerful Mortmesne, ruled by the cunning Red Queen. Now, on Kelsea's nineteenth birthday, the tattered remnants of the Queen's Guard—loyal soldiers who protect the throne—have appeared to escort the princess on a perilous journey to the capital to ascend to her rightful place as the new Queen of the Tearling. Though born of royal blood and in possession of the Tear sapphire, a jewel of immense power and magic, Kelsea has never felt more uncertain of her ability to rule. But the shocking evil she discovers in the heart of her realm will precipitate an act of immense daring, throwing the entire kingdom into turmoil—and unleashing the Red Queen's vengeance. A cabal of enemies with an array of deadly weapons, from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic, plots to destroy her. But Kelsea is growing in strength and stealth, her steely resolve earning her loyal allies, including the Queen's Guard, led by the enigmatic Lazarus, and the intriguing outlaw known simply as "the Fetch." Kelsea's quest to save her kingdom and meet her destiny has only just begun. Riddled with mysteries, betrayals, and treacherous battles, Kelsea's journey is a trial by fire that will either forge a legend . . . or destroy her.

The Fate of the Tearling

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erika Johansen

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062290436

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 5007

"Katniss Everdeen, you have competition."—Entertainment Weekly The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Tearling trilogy. In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has transformed from a gawky teenager into a powerful monarch. As she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling, the headstrong, visionary leader has also transformed her realm. In her quest to end corruption and restore justice, she has made many enemies—including the evil Red Queen, her fiercest rival, who has set her armies against the Tear. To protect her people from a devastating invasion, Kelsea did the unthinkable—she gave herself and her magical sapphires to her enemy—and named the Mace, the trusted head of her personal guards, regent in her place. But the Mace will not rest until he and his men rescue their sovereign, imprisoned in Mortmesne. Now, as the suspenseful endgame begins, the fate of Queen Kelsea—and the Tearling itself—will finally be revealed.

The Invasion of the Tearling

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erika Johansen

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062290401

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 6378

In this riveting sequel to the national bestseller The Queen of the Tearling, the evil kingdom of Mortmesne invades the Tearling, with dire consequences for Kelsea and her realm. With each passing day, Kelsea Glynn is growing into her new responsibilities as Queen of the Tearling. By stopping the shipments of slaves to the neighboring kingdom of Mortmesne, she crossed the Red Queen, a brutal ruler whose power derives from dark magic, who is sending her fearsome army into the Tearling to take what is hers. And nothing can stop the invasion. But as the Mort army draws ever closer, Kelsea develops a mysterious connection to a time before the Crossing, and she finds herself relying on a strange and possibly dangerous ally: a woman named Lily, fighting for her life in a world where being female can feel like a crime. The fate of the Tearling —and that of Kelsea’s own soul—may rest with Lily and her story, but Kelsea may not have enough time to find out. In this dazzling sequel, Erika Johansen brings back favorite characters, including the Mace and the Red Queen, and introduces unforgettable new players, adding exciting layers to her multidimensional tale of magic, mystery, and a fierce young heroine.

The Queen of Blood

Book One of The Queens of Renthia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sarah Beth Durst

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062413368

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 9984

A Tor.com Best of 2016 pick! Set in the magical world of Renthia, The Queen of Blood is Sarah Beth Durst’s ambitious entry into adult epic fantasy. With the danger of Peter Brett’s The Warded Man, heart of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, and lyricism of Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind, this is the first chapter in a series destined to be a classic. Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow . . . But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans. One woman stands between these malevolent spirits and the end of humankind: the queen. She alone has the magical power to prevent the spirits from destroying every man, woman, and child. But queens are still just human, and no matter how strong or good, the threat of danger always looms. With the position so precarious, young women are chosen to train as heirs. Daleina, a seemingly quiet academy student, is under no illusions as to her claim to the throne, but simply wants to right the wrongs that have befallen the land. Ven, a disgraced champion, has spent his exile secretly fighting against the growing number of spirit attacks. Joining forces, these daring partners embark on a treacherous quest to find the source of the spirits’ restlessness—a journey that will test their courage and trust, and force them to stand against both enemies and friends to save their land . . . before it’s bathed in blood.

Year’s Best Young Adult Speculative Fiction 2014

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Julia Rios,Alisa Krasnostein

Publisher: Twelfth Planet Press

ISBN: 1922101362

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8653

Fans of Kaleidoscope will find more tales of wonder, adventure, diversity, and variety in this collection devoted to stories with teen protagonists. Table of Contents Left Foot, Right - Nalo Hopkinson Selfies - Lavie Tidhar The Vitruvian Farmer - Marcelina Vizcarra The Lady and the Fox - Kelly Link Cat Calls - Margo Lanagan Walkdog - Sofia Samatar No Lonely Seafarer - Sarah Pinsker The Endless Sink - Damien Ober No Mercy for the Executioner - Deborah Biancotti The Ancestors - Laurie Tom Jelly and the D-Machine - Suzanne Church Kneaded - S. G. Larner Resurrection Points - Usman T. Malik Memory Lace - Payal Dhar Collected Likenesses - Jamey Hatley Scout - Will McIntosh Selfie - Sandra McDonald The Boy Who Grew Up - Christopher Barzak Cookie Cutter Superhero - Tansy Rayner Roberts The Stuff We Don't Do - Marissa Lingen Figment - Jeri Smith-Ready

Zephyra

Book One of The Elemental Diaries

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Andrea B. Lamoureux

Publisher: Andrea B Lamoureux

ISBN: 1989462022

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 3126

A royal fire elemental. The mysterious man she can't figure out. And a mad king with a dark plan. Bullied as a child and never able to live up to her mother’s expectations, it’s no wonder Zephyra longs to leave her royal life at court behind. When she has to do just that in order to protect her cousin, the queen, she quickly finds out how dangerous life beyond the palace walls is. And there is more than one threat to the kingdom. After being thrown in harms way, Zephyra’s destiny becomes entangled with a mysterious stranger’s who harbours secrets of his own. Can she learn to trust him and master the fire within her before their world is shrouded in darkness? Perfect for fans of books like Throne of Glass and Queen of the Tearling. Buy now to start the Elemental Diaries series today! Please note: This is a second edition.

Isis Unveiled, Vol. II

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: H. P. (Helena Petrovna) Blavatsky

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557357047

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8142