The Not So Wild, Wild West

Property Rights on the Frontier

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Terry Lee Anderson,Peter Jensen Hill

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 9780804748544

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 263

View: 6373

Cooperation, not conflict, is emphasized in a study that casts America's frontier history as a place in which local people helped develop the legal framework that tamed the West.

The Oxford Handbook of Austrian Economics

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter J. Boettke,Christopher J. Coyne

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0199811768

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 832

View: 2341

The Austrian School of Economics is an intellectual tradition in economics and political economy dating back to Carl Menger in the late-19th century. Menger stressed the subjective nature of value in the individual decision calculus. Individual choices are indeed made on the margin, but the evaluations of rank ordering of ends sought in the act of choice are subjective to individual chooser. For Menger, the economic calculus was about scarce means being deployed to pursue an individual's highest valued ends. The act of choice is guided by subjective assessments of the individual, and is open ended as the individual is constantly discovering what ends to pursue, and learning the most effective way to use the means available to satisfy those ends. This school of economic thinking spread outside of Austria to the rest of Europe and the United States in the early-20th century and continued to develop and gain followers, establishing itself as a major stream of heterodox economics. The Oxford Handbook of Austrian Economics provides an overview of this school and its theories. The various contributions discussed in this book all reflect a tension between the Austrian School's orthodox argumentative structure (rational choice and invisible hand) and its addressing of a heterodox problem situations (uncertainty, differential knowledge, ceaseless change). The Austrian economists from the founders to today seek to derive the invisible hand theorem from the rational choice postulate via institutional analysis in a persistent and consistent manner. Scholars and students working in the field of History of Economic Thought, those following heterodox approaches, and those both familiar with the Austrian School or looking to learn more will find much to learn in this comprehensive volume.

Property and Social Resilience in Times of Conflict

Land, Custom and Law in East Timor

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Daniel Fitzpatrick,Andrew McWilliam

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317074718

Category: Law

Page: 304

View: 1051

Peace-building in a number of contemporary contexts involves fragile states, influential customary systems and histories of land conflict arising from mass population displacement. This book is a timely response to the increased international focus on peace-building problems arising from population displacement and post-conflict state fragility. It considers the relationship between property and resilient customary systems in conflict-affected East Timor. The chapters include micro-studies of customary land and population displacement during the periods of Portuguese colonization and Indonesian military occupation. There is also analysis of the development of laws relating to customary land in independent East Timor (Timor Leste). The book fills a gap in socio-legal literature on property, custom and peace-building and is of interest to property scholars, anthropologists, and academics and practitioners in the emerging field of peace and conflict studies.

Deleting the State

An Argument about Government

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Aeon J. Skoble

Publisher: Open Court Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780812696141

Category: Philosophy

Page: 129

View: 9001

Is the state a necessary evil? Or can we hope to evolve beyond it? This book, in the tradition of Robert Nozick's Anarchy, State, and Utopia, sheds new light on persistent philosophical questions about the nature and justification of political authority.

Lies, Damned Lies and History

A Catalogue of Historical Errors and Misunderstandings

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Graeme Donald

Publisher: The History Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 4747

rom cats, spats and catacombs to the Wall Street shuffle, Lies, Damned Lies and History is an entertaining look at how historical events didn't always unfold as we think they did. Graeme Donald takes the reader on a journey, century-by-century, showing how the truth we take for granted is a far cry from the facts.

Choice

Publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a Division of the American Library Association

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Academic libraries

Page: N.A

View: 1968