The Mourning Voice

An Essay on Greek Tragedy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nicole Loraux

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN: 9780801438301

Category: Drama

Page: 127

View: 4154

Loraux presents a radical challenge to what has become the dominant view of tragedy in recent years: that tragedy is primarily a civic phenomenon.

The Mourning After

Attending the Wake of Postmodernism

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Neil Edward Brooks,Josh Toth

Publisher: Rodopi

ISBN: 9042021624

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 306

View: 6152

Have we moved beyond postmodernism? Did postmodernism lose its oppositional value when it became a cultural dominant? While focusing on questions such as these, the articles in this collection consider the possibility that the death of a certain version of postmodernism marks a renewed attempt to re-negotiate and perhaps re-embrace many of the cultural, literary and theoretical assumptions that postmodernism seemly denied outright. Including contributions from some of the leading scholars in the field – N. Katherine Hayles, John D. Caputo, Paul Maltby, Jane Flax, among others – this collection ultimately comes together to perform a certain work of mourning. Through their explorations of this current epistemological shift in narrative and theoretical production, these articles work to “get over” postmodernism while simultaneously celebrating a certain postmodern inheritance, an inheritance that can offer us important avenues to understanding and affecting contemporary culture and society.

Anne Carson

Ecstatic Lyre

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Joshua M Wilkinson

Publisher: University of Michigan Press

ISBN: 0472052535

Category: Poetry

Page: 228

View: 5161

The first book of essays dedicated to the work of noted writer, Anne Carson

Bird Relics

Grief and Vitalism in Thoreau

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Branka Arsić

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 0674495381

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 469

View: 3218

Branka Arsic shows that Thoreau developed a theory of vitalism in response to his brother’s death. Through grieving, he came to see life as a generative force into which everything dissolves and reemerges. This reinterpretation, based on sources overlooked by critics, explains many of Thoreau’s more idiosyncratic habits and obsessions.

Mourning in America

Race and the Politics of Loss

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David W. McIvor

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN: 1501706187

Category: Political Science

Page: 224

View: 5872

Recent years have brought public mourning to the heart of American politics, as exemplified by the spread and power of the Black Lives Matter movement, which has gained force through its identification of pervasive social injustices with individual losses. The deaths of Sandra Bland, Michael Brown, Freddie Gray, Trayvon Martin, Tamir Rice, Walter Scott, and so many others have brought private grief into the public sphere. The rhetoric and iconography of mourning has been noteworthy in Black Lives Matter protests, but David W. McIvor believes that we have paid too little attention to the nature of social mourning—its relationship to private grief, its practices, and its pathologies and democratic possibilities. In Mourning in America, McIvor addresses significant and urgent questions about how citizens can mourn traumatic events and enduring injustices in their communities. McIvor offers a framework for analyzing the politics of mourning, drawing from psychoanalysis, Greek tragedy, and scholarly discourses on truth and reconciliation. Mourning in America connects these literatures to ongoing activism surrounding racial injustice, and it contextualizes Black Lives Matter in the broader politics of grief and recognition. McIvor also examines recent, grassroots-organized truth and reconciliation processes such as the Greensboro Truth and Reconciliation Commission (2004–2006), which provided a public examination of the Greensboro Massacre of 1979—a deadly incident involving local members of the Communist Workers Party and the Ku Klux Klan.

The mourning bride

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: William Congreve

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English drama

Page: N.A

View: 8161

The Mourning Sexton

A Novel of Suspense

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Baron

Publisher: Doubleday

ISBN: 9780385515191

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8697

In this deft, multilayered thriller, a disgraced lawyer trying to revive his tattered career stumbles across a hidden case of cold-blooded murder and discovers that he must pursue justice even though doing so might just cost him what little he has left—possibly even his life. Attorney David Hirsch was the managing partner of one of St. Louis’s most prestigious law firms, until he was convicted of embezzlement and sent to the federal penitentiary for seven years. He emerges from prison humbled and genuinely contrite, eager to patch things up with his estranged daughter and to build up a modest legal practice. In forging his life afresh, Hirsch has rediscovered his Judaism and has become part of the daily minyan, the group of ten men necessary to pray together, at the synagogue near his home. When an elderly man in the group asks for his help with a product liability case involving his daughter’s death, Hirsch reluctantly takes it on—only to discover that the seemingly straightforward lawsuit conceals a cold-blooded murder. With the help of Dulcie Lorenz, the altruistic, public-spirited attorney the dead woman worked for, Hirsch pursues the liability case while quietly amassing evidence against the highly placed person he suspects of murder. His attempt to bring his powerful adversary to justice draws Hirsch into a fierce, seesawing battle of wits—and ultimately to an act that expresses the true depth of his atonement. A page-turner in the tradition of Scott Turow, The Mourning Sexton goes beyond the question of “who done it” to explore the more intriguing questions of why the crime was committed and what it reveals about human nature. Set against the richly textured backdrops of St. Louis’s legal establishment and the city’s tight-knit Jewish community, and animated by a vivid cast of characters, it marks the debut of an extraordinary new talent.

A Companion to Sophocles

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kirk Ormand

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1444356895

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 640

View: 1665

A Companion to Sophocles presents the first comprehensive collection of essays in decades to address all aspects of the life, works, and critical reception of Sophocles. First collection of its kind to provide introductory essays to the fragments of his lost plays and to the remaining fragments of one satyr-play, the Ichneutae, in addition to each of his extant tragedies Features new essays on Sophoclean drama that go well beyond the current state of scholarship on Sophocles Presents readings that historicize Sophocles in relation to the social, cultural, and intellectual world of fifth century Athens Seeks to place later interpretations and adaptations of Sophocles in their historical context Includes essays dedicated to issues of gender and sexuality; significant moments in the history of interpreting Sophocles; and reception of Sophocles by both ancient and modern playwrights