The Mercury 13

The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Martha Ackmann

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781588360373

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 8896

For readers of The Astronaut Wives Club, The Mercury 13 reveals the little-known true story of the remarkable women who trained for NASA space flight. In 1961, just as NASA launched its first man into space, a group of women underwent secret testing in the hopes of becoming America’s first female astronauts. They passed the same battery of tests at the legendary Lovelace Foundation as did the Mercury 7 astronauts, but they were summarily dismissed by the boys’ club at NASA and on Capitol Hill. The USSR sent its first woman into space in 1963; the United States did not follow suit for another twenty years. For the first time, Martha Ackmann tells the story of the dramatic events surrounding these thirteen remarkable women, all crackerjack pilots and patriots who sometimes sacrificed jobs and marriages for a chance to participate in America’s space race against the Soviet Union. In addition to talking extensively to these women, Ackmann interviewed Chuck Yeager, John Glenn, Scott Carpenter, and others at NASA and in the White House with firsthand knowledge of the program, and includes here never-before-seen photographs of the Mercury 13 passing their Lovelace tests. Despite the crushing disappointment of watching their dreams being derailed, the Mercury 13 went on to extraordinary achievement in their lives: Jerrie Cobb, who began flying when she was so small she had to sit on pillows to see out of the cockpit, dedicated her life to flying solo missions to the Amazon rain forest; Wally Funk, who talked her way into the Lovelace trials, went on to become one of the first female FAA investigators; Janey Hart, mother of eight and, at age forty, the oldest astronaut candidate, had the political savvy to steer the women through congressional hearings and later helped found the National Organization for Women. A provocative tribute to these extraordinary women, The Mercury 13 is an unforgettable story of determination, resilience, and inextinguishable hope.

To Touch the Face of God

The Sacred, the Profane, and the American Space Program, 1957–1975

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kendrick Oliver

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN: 1421408341

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 9856

"In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth..." In 1968 the world watched as Earth rose over the moonscape, televised from the orbiting Apollo 8 mission capsule. Radioing back to Houston on Christmas Eve, astronauts recited the first ten verses from the book of Genesis. In fact, many of the astronauts found space flight to be a religious experience. To Touch the Face of God is the first book-length historical study of the relationship between religion and the U.S. space program. Kendrick Oliver explores the role played by religious motivations in the formation of the space program and discusses the responses of religious thinkers such as Paul Tillich and C. S. Lewis. Examining the attitudes of religious Americans, Oliver finds that the space program was a source of anxiety as well as inspiration. It was not always easy for them to tell whether it was a godly or godless venture. Grounded in original archival research and the study of participant testimonies, this book also explores one of the largest petition campaigns of the post-war era. Between 1969 and 1975, more than eight million Americans wrote to NASA expressing support for prayer and bible-reading in space. Oliver’s study is rigorous and detailed but also contemplative in its approach, examining the larger meanings of mankind’s first adventures in "the heavens." -- James Gilbert, University of Maryland, College Park

Almost Astronauts

13 Women Who Dared to Dream

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tanya Lee Stone

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN: 0763656097

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 144

View: 7147

What does it take to be an astronaut? Excellence at flying, courage, intelligence, resistance to stress, top physical shape — any checklist would include these. But when America created NASA in 1958, there was another unspoken rule: you had to be a man. Here is the tale of thirteen women who proved that they were not only as tough as the toughest man but also brave enough to challenge the government. They were blocked by prejudice, jealousy, and the scrawled note of one of the most powerful men in Washington. But even though the Mercury 13 women did not make it into space, they did not lose, for their example empowered young women to take their place in the sky, piloting jets and commanding space capsules. ALMOST ASTRONAUTS is the story of thirteen true pioneers of the space age.

Women Aviators

26 Stories of Pioneer Flights, Daring Missions, and Record-Setting Journeys

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Karen Bush Gibson

Publisher: Chicago Review Press

ISBN: 1613745435

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 4060

Detailing the role of women in aviation, from the very first days of flight to the present, this rich exploration of the subject profiles 26 women pilots who sought out and met challenges both in the sky and on the ground. Divided into six chronologically arranged sections, this book composes a minihistory of aviation. Learn about pioneers such as Katherine Wright, called by many the "Third Wright Brother," and Baroness Raymonde de Laroche of France, the first woman awarded a license to fly. Read about barnstormers like Bessie Coleman and racers like Louise Thaden, who bested Amelia Earhart to win the 1929 Women's Air Derby. Additional short biography sidebars for other key figures and lists of supplemental resources for delving deeper into the history of the subject are also included.

Curveball

The Remarkable Story of Toni Stone the First Woman to Play Professional Baseball in the Negro League

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Martha Ackmann

Publisher: Chicago Review Press

ISBN: 1569766843

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 2939

Documenting multiple challenges at every turn--as a target for racism from society at large and sexism both inside and outside of the Negro League--this is the unique story of the first woman to play professional baseball on a men's team, breaking barriers in sports while believing, "There's got to be a first in everything. Maybe it will be me." Highlighting aggressive and resourceful behaviors, the text explains that as players began to leave the Negro League for major league teams, Toni Stone seized her only opportunity to play professional ball and replaced Henry Aaron on the Indianapolis Clowns, the Negro League's top team. Chronicling her career, this biography follows her experiences playing first with the Indianapolis Clowns, and later with the Kansas City Monarchs. It also details her encounters with the era's top athletes--Ernie Banks, Willie Mays, Buck O'Neil, and Satchel Paige to name a few. As the exploration reveals her remarkable talent, perseverance, and accomplishments, it shows how she posed as a double threat--black and female--to the dominance of white males in sports and society.

Choice

Publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a Division of the American Library Association

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Best books

Page: N.A

View: 8538

USA in space

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Russell R. Tobias,David G. Fisher

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 2014

View: 6783

This books includes 280 essays covering U.S. major space programs, piloted and robotic missions, satellites, space centers, space planes, and issues from the earliest missions to the present.

Library Journal

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 3927

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.