The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mira Bartok

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439183335

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 4984

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, two sisters confront schizophrenia in this poignant literary memoir about family and mental illness. Through stunning prose and original art, The Memory Palace captures the love between mother and daughter, the complex meaning of truth, and family’s capacity for forgiveness “People have abandoned their loved ones for much less than you’ve been through,” Mira Bartók is told at her mother’s memorial service. It is a poignant observation about the relationship between Mira, her sister, and their mentally ill mother. Before she was struck with schizophrenia at the age of nineteen, beautiful piano protégé Norma Herr had been the most vibrant personality in the room. She loved her daughters and did her best to raise them well, but as her mental state deteriorated, Norma spoke less about Chopin and more about Nazis and her fear that her daughters would be kidnapped, murdered, or raped. When the girls left for college, the harassment escalated—Norma called them obsessively, appeared at their apartments or jobs, threatened to kill herself if they did not return home. After a traumatic encounter, Mira and her sister were left with no choice but to change their names and sever all contact with Norma in order to stay safe. But while Mira pursued her career as an artist—exploring the ancient romance of Florence, the eerie mysticism of northern Norway, and the raw desert of Israel—the haunting memories of her mother were never far away. Then one day, a debilitating car accident changes Mira’s life forever. Struggling to recover from a traumatic brain injury, she was confronted with a need to recontextualize her life—she had to relearn how to paint, read, and interact with the outside world. In her search for a way back to her lost self, Mira reached out to the homeless shelter where she believed her mother was living and discovered that Norma was dying. Mira and her sister traveled to Cleveland, where they shared an extraordinary reconciliation with their mother that none of them had thought possible. At the hospital, Mira discovered a set of keys that opened a storage unit Norma had been keeping for seventeen years. Filled with family photos, childhood toys, and ephemera from Norma’s life, the storage unit brought back a flood of previous memories that Mira had thought were lost to her forever.

The Memory Palace

A Book of Lost Interiors

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Edward Hollis

Publisher: Counterpoint

ISBN: 1619022486

Category: Art

Page: 320

View: 3925

The rooms we live in are always more than just four walls. As we decorate these spaces and fill them with objects and friends, they shape our lives and become the backdrop to our sense of self. One day, the houses will be gone, but even then, traces of the stories and the memories they contained will remain. In this dazzling work of imaginative re-construction, Edward Hollis takes us to the sites of five great spaces now lost to history and pieces together the fragments he finds there to re-create their vanished chambers. From Rome’s palatine to the old Palace of Westmisnter and the Petit Trianon at Versailles, and from the sets of the MGM studios in Hollywood to the pavilions of the Crystal Palace and his own grandmother’s sitting room, The Memory Palace is a glittering treasure trove of luminous forgotten places and the people who, for a short time, made them their home.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Hamilton

Publisher: Kent State University Press

ISBN: 9780873385916

Category: Poetry

Page: 17

View: 9281

This poetry text contains three poetic sequences which weave layers of psychological narrative into separate versions of an inner biography.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gill Alderman

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008226946

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 1664

To reach the Palace, walk a path between two gardens, one box-hedged and orderly, the other wild. Climb porphyry stairs to double doors of brass. There an old man waits, like an archangel at the Gates of Paradise. But this is the Archmage, Koschei Corbillion. He looks old ... then he grows younger as he opens the doors into the Memory Palace.

The Storyteller's Memory Palace

A Method of Interpretation Based on the Function of Memory Systems in Literature : Geoffrey Chaucer, William Langland, Salman Rushdie, Angela Carter, Thomas Pynchon and Paul Auster

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hanne Bewernick

Publisher: Peter Lang

ISBN: 9783631604700

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 253

View: 7438

Storytelling and remembering rely on similar practices: they both arrange images in an ordered structure. A story is initially memorised by the author in a mental structure which is transferred to the page via the author's choice of location, organisation and imagery. An interpretation that emphasises these features enhances the natural capacity for comprehension by mimicking the memory process. This study describes and uncovers memory systems (including the memory palace and the memory journey) in medieval texts. The ancient memory techniques are compared to cognitive psychology and used to interpret four modern novels. A practical method of interpretation is devised which provides the reader with direct access to a story by opening the door into the storyteller's memory palace.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Christie Dickason

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007392095

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 9711

An epic love story set in the period of Music and Silence, for readers of Rose Tremain and Philippa Gregory.

Mind the Memory Palace

Learn to Memorize Anything

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Scott Hughey

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781534743182

Category:

Page: 196

View: 7455

I have an addictive personality. It's why I can juggle, why I'm not allowed to gamble, why I've seen every episode of the new Doctor Who, and why I hate my boss. This is all his fault. But thanks to him buying a Rubik's cube for the company to enjoy at break time, this book exists. Take a similar journey to my own. You don't even need a Rubik's cube. This book isn't about solving puzzles. Instead, it teaches how to turn your mind into a Memory Palace that can store anything. What do you need to learn? Phone numbers, random facts, the names of people you've met, every state and its capital, or the precise order of a randomly shuffled deck of cards? I give you the keys to the items you need to remember. Whether it's to impress somebody, to stop relying so much on smart phones for remembering, or just to enjoy the parts where I talk about Star Wars and Doctor Who, there's something here for everyone.

A Walk Through the Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Pamela Johnson Parker

Publisher: Phoenicia Publishing

ISBN: 9780978174965

Category:

Page: 30

View: 4321

Poems by Pamela Johnson Parker; winner of the 2009 qarrtsiluni chapbook contest.