The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mira Bartok

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439183335

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 537

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, two sisters confront schizophrenia in this poignant literary memoir about family and mental illness. Through stunning prose and original art, The Memory Palace captures the love between mother and daughter, the complex meaning of truth, and family’s capacity for forgiveness “People have abandoned their loved ones for much less than you’ve been through,” Mira Bartók is told at her mother’s memorial service. It is a poignant observation about the relationship between Mira, her sister, and their mentally ill mother. Before she was struck with schizophrenia at the age of nineteen, beautiful piano protégé Norma Herr had been the most vibrant personality in the room. She loved her daughters and did her best to raise them well, but as her mental state deteriorated, Norma spoke less about Chopin and more about Nazis and her fear that her daughters would be kidnapped, murdered, or raped. When the girls left for college, the harassment escalated—Norma called them obsessively, appeared at their apartments or jobs, threatened to kill herself if they did not return home. After a traumatic encounter, Mira and her sister were left with no choice but to change their names and sever all contact with Norma in order to stay safe. But while Mira pursued her career as an artist—exploring the ancient romance of Florence, the eerie mysticism of northern Norway, and the raw desert of Israel—the haunting memories of her mother were never far away. Then one day, a debilitating car accident changes Mira’s life forever. Struggling to recover from a traumatic brain injury, she was confronted with a need to recontextualize her life—she had to relearn how to paint, read, and interact with the outside world. In her search for a way back to her lost self, Mira reached out to the homeless shelter where she believed her mother was living and discovered that Norma was dying. Mira and her sister traveled to Cleveland, where they shared an extraordinary reconciliation with their mother that none of them had thought possible. At the hospital, Mira discovered a set of keys that opened a storage unit Norma had been keeping for seventeen years. Filled with family photos, childhood toys, and ephemera from Norma’s life, the storage unit brought back a flood of previous memories that Mira had thought were lost to her forever.

The Memory Palace

A Book of Lost Interiors

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Edward Hollis

Publisher: Counterpoint

ISBN: 1619022486

Category: Art

Page: 320

View: 6956

The rooms we live in are always more than just four walls. As we decorate these spaces and fill them with objects and friends, they shape our lives and become the backdrop to our sense of self. One day, the houses will be gone, but even then, traces of the stories and the memories they contained will remain. In this dazzling work of imaginative re-construction, Edward Hollis takes us to the sites of five great spaces now lost to history and pieces together the fragments he finds there to re-create their vanished chambers. From Rome’s palatine to the old Palace of Westmisnter and the Petit Trianon at Versailles, and from the sets of the MGM studios in Hollywood to the pavilions of the Crystal Palace and his own grandmother’s sitting room, The Memory Palace is a glittering treasure trove of luminous forgotten places and the people who, for a short time, made them their home.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Hamilton

Publisher: Kent State University Press

ISBN: 9780873385916

Category: Poetry

Page: 17

View: 2755

This poetry text contains three poetic sequences which weave layers of psychological narrative into separate versions of an inner biography.

The Storyteller's Memory Palace

A Method of Interpretation Based on the Function of Memory Systems in Literature : Geoffrey Chaucer, William Langland, Salman Rushdie, Angela Carter, Thomas Pynchon and Paul Auster

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hanne Bewernick

Publisher: Peter Lang

ISBN: 9783631604700

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 253

View: 4187

Storytelling and remembering rely on similar practices: they both arrange images in an ordered structure. A story is initially memorised by the author in a mental structure which is transferred to the page via the author's choice of location, organisation and imagery. An interpretation that emphasises these features enhances the natural capacity for comprehension by mimicking the memory process. This study describes and uncovers memory systems (including the memory palace and the memory journey) in medieval texts. The ancient memory techniques are compared to cognitive psychology and used to interpret four modern novels. A practical method of interpretation is devised which provides the reader with direct access to a story by opening the door into the storyteller's memory palace.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Christie Dickason

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007392095

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 3431

An epic love story set in the period of Music and Silence, for readers of Rose Tremain and Philippa Gregory.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: JoSelle Vanderhooft

Publisher: Norilana Books

ISBN: 9781934648872

Category: Poetry

Page: 164

View: 2554

A memoir in free verse that details how a talented young woman deals with mental illness, the clash between faith and sexuality, and her father's suicide. These traumas are counterbalanced by earnest hope and the small, sweet moments life grants to fighters and survivors.

The Memory Palace

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gill Alderman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English fiction

Page: 432

View: 7789

The Memory Palace of Matteo Ricci

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jonathan D. Spence

Publisher: Quercus Books

ISBN: 9781847243447

Category: Jesuits

Page: 350

View: 7998

In 1577 a Jesuit priest named Matteo Ricci set out from Italy on a long journey to bring the Christian faith and Western thought to Ming dynasty China. He spent time in India and Macao before entering China in 1583 to undertake mission work. Travelling widely, Ricci learned local languages, mastered Chinese classical script, drew the first-ever map of the world in Chinese and acquired a rich appreciation of the indigenous culture of his hosts. In 1596 Ricci wrote a short book in Chinese on the art of memory for the governor of Jiangxi province, who was preparing his three sons for China's demanding civil service examinations. In it he described a 'memory palace' in which to hold knowledge such as might help the three brothers and their peers in the Ming social elite to pass their exams with flying colours. Ricci must have hoped that, in gratitude to him for instructing them in mnemonic skills, they would use their newly won prestige to further the cause of the Catholic Church in China. To capture the complex emotional and religious drama of Ricci's life, author Jonathan Spence relates the missionary's experiences via a series of images. Four of these images derive from events described in the Bible, the others from Ricci's book on the art of memory that was circulated among members of the Ming dynasty elite. A rich and compelling narrative about a remarkable life, The Memory Palace of Matteo Ricci is also a significant work of global history, juxtaposing the world of Counter-Reformation Europe with that of Ming China.

Creating Your Memory Palace

Learn the Secrets to Unlock Your Photographic Memory

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nick Daniels

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781095635520

Category:

Page: 28

View: 6182

Nothing is as frustrating as searching for that lost piece of information that you need, desperately clutching at straws in your brain for that critical fact that has somehow slipped through your memory. It's in these moments that you wish you had that gift that you see on TV shows and movies, these people with a photographic memory who are able to scroll through their memory like they are searching the endless expanse of the internet in order to pull up any piece of information they need.We have been conditioned through modern media to believe that this is a selective set of people who are born with this gift and that it is something reserved for this privileged few. In reality, it is no more common than the ability to lift a certain weight, or run a distance in a certain amount of time. Yes, there is a genetic component that gives people a head start, but with the use of an ancient memory technique called the "Memory Palace," you can unlock your own Photographic Memory and be able to recall facts and pieces of information years and even decades later.For centuries people have been relying on this amazing memory trick to store vital pieces of information. Originally developed by the Greeks, men and women across time have used the Memory Palace technique to remember important items like Family Histories, Account Ledgers, and Debts and Payments. In Creating Your Memory Palace" we will teach you the secrets of the Memory Palace and how to use this ancient technique to master the power of your brain.