From the Corner of his Eye

A breath-taking thriller of mystical suspense and terror

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472202783

Category: Fiction

Page: 634

View: 8040

All he wanted was to make his mother proud... Dean Koontz's From the Corner of His Eye is an unforgettable thriller of suspense, danger and the supernatural. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. 'A wonderful read. The pacing is perfect, keeping the reader in exquisite tension. This is a deeply satisfying, rich novel. You may have nightmares about [the villain] but you'll love the other characters. Singularly and collectively, they are unforgettable. From the Corner of His Eye is magic' - New Orleans Times-Picayune Bartholomew Lampion was blinded at the age of three, when surgeons reluctantly removed his eyes to save him from a fast-spreading cancer. But although eyeless, Barty regained his sight when he was thirteen. This sudden ascent from a decade of darkness into the glory of light was not brought about by a holy healer. No celestial trumpets announced the restoration of his vision, just as none had announced his birth. A rollercoaster had something to do with his recovery, as did a seagull. And you can't discount Barty's profound desire to make his mother proud of him before she died. The first time she died was the day Barty was born. January 6, 1965. What readers are saying about From the Corner of His Eye: 'At one stage I was so shocked by what happened I had to reread a few pages to make sure I hadn't misread... the twist was so surprising and so unexpected' 'This book had twists and turns to the last word' 'One of the best books I've ever read'

Darkfall

A remorselessly terrifying and powerful thriller

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472202732

Category: Fiction

Page: 252

View: 3421

Who is more foolish - the child afraid of the dark or the man afraid of the light? A deadly villain threatens New York City in Dean Koontz's gripping thriller, Darkfall. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Harlan Coben. 'In every industry there exist 'artists' that are not only unforgettable, but know their craft better than the rest. Dean Koontz...is among these artisans' - Suspense Magazine Baba Lavelle is a stranger in New York. A stranger with a mission to break the Mafia stranglehold on the city's drug traffic, and take it over himself. He has no guns, no army of hoods, no friends in high places. But he has the Power - magical, ancient, and terrifyingly brutal. The power that thrives in darkness... What readers are saying about Darkfall: 'A brilliant book that had me checking over my shoulder for days after finishing it!' 'Horror and terror going at a breakneck pace through the snow filled streets of New York City' 'Darkfall was gripping, scary and kept you on your toes. Hooked'

Pretend You're Safe

A gripping thriller of page-turning suspense

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alexandra Ivy

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472252918

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 5105

Pretend You're Safe is the new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner. He sees you... He knows you... And he'll never let you go... Jaci Patterson was sixteen when she found the first golden locket on her porch. Inside were a few strands of hair wrapped around a scrap of bloodstained ribbon. Though the 'gifts' kept arriving, no one believed her hunch that a serial killer was at work. Now Jaci has finally returned home - only for bodies of strangled victims to start appearing years after they disappeared. Her nightmare is beginning all over again. And this time it won't end until the murderer makes Jaci his...for ever. Look for the next novel of page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy, What Are You Afraid Of?

Creative Writing

A Guide and Glossary to Fiction Writing

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Bulman

Publisher: Polity

ISBN: 0745636888

Category: Education

Page: 249

View: 4256

All writers are familiar with terms like plot, suspense, conflict and character. They may be less familiar with intertextuality, anachrony, and fabula, and they may be even less confident in achieving the effects these terms refer to. This book defines fictional techniques and guides the potential writer in their use. It may spark off ideas for stories and novels and provide first-aid for failing stories. A story's ending may come as a surprise to the reader, suspense may have the reader on the edge of the seat, and conflict may lead to unbearable excitement. It is the job of the writer to create these effects and this book illustrates how it is done. The book is for students doing creative writing in higher education, at "A" level, and it will be essential reading for anyone interested in writing fiction. Contents: Definitions of over 200 terms and techniques to do with fiction writing How to achieve fictional effects Literary examples of the techniques described Characteristics of genre as well as literary fiction Basic but essential techniques such as writing dialogue and using figures of speech Definitions of major terms used in publishing

THE GREATEST BRITISH DETECTIVES - Ultimate Collection: 270+ Murder Mysteries, Suspense Thrillers & Crime Stories (Illustrated Edition)

The Most Famous British Sleuths & Investigators, including Sherlock Holmes, Father Brown, P. C. Lee, Martin Hewitt, Dr. Thorndyke, Bulldog Drummond, Max Carrados, Hamilton Cleek and more

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Arthur Conan Doyle,Edgar Wallace,Annie Haynes,R. Austin Freeman,H. C. McNeile,G. K. Chesterton,Arthur Morrison,Ernest Bramah,Victor L. Whitechurch,Thomas W. Hanshew,J. S. Fletcher,Rober Barr

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: 8026879139

Category: Fiction

Page: 14817

View: 565

This grand collection comprises over 270 mystery tales and murder cases of the famous British detectives and investigators: Sherlock Holmes Series: A Study in Scarlet The Sign of Four The Hound of the Baskervilles The Valley of Fear The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes The Return of Sherlock Holmes His Last Bow The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes Father Brown Stories: The Innocence of Father Brown The Wisdom of Father Brown The Incredulity of Father Brown The Secret of Father Brown The Scandal of Father Brown Inspector Furnival Series: The Abbey Court Murder The House in Charlton Crescent The Crow's Inn Tragedy Inspector Stoddart Series: The Man with the Dark Beard Who Killed Charmian Karslake? The Crime at Tattenham Corner The Crystal Beads Murder Martin Hewitt Series: Martin Hewitt, Investigator Chronicles of Martin Hewitt Adventures of Martin Hewitt The Red Triangle Dr. Thorndyke Series: The Red Thumb Mark The Eye of Osiris The Mystery of 31 New Inn A Silent Witness Helen Vardon's Confession The Cat's Eye The Mystery of Angelina Frood The Shadow of the Wolf The D'Arblay Mystery A Certain Dr. Thorndyke As a Thief in the Night Mr. Pottermack's Oversight Pontifex, Son and Thorndyke When Rogues Fall Out Dr. Thorndyke Intervenes For the Defence: Dr. Thorndyke The Penrose Mystery Felo De Se? The Stoneware Monkey Mr. Polton Explains The Jacob Street Mystery Percival Bland's Proxy The Missing Mortgagee Dr. Thorndyke's Cases The Adventures of Dr. Thorndyke Dr. Thorndyke's Casebook The Puzzle Lock The Magic Casket Hamilton Cleek Series: Cleek, the Master Detective Cleek of Scotland Yard Cleek’s Government Cases The Riddle of the Night The Riddle of the Purple Emperor The Riddle of the Frozen Flame The Riddle of the Mysterious Light The Riddle of the Spinning Wheel Bulldog Drummond Adventures Max Carrados Mysteries Thorpe Hazell Mysteries P.C. Lee Stories Paul Campenhaye – Specialist in Criminology Eugéne Valmont Mysteries Dorrington & Hicks Stories Ronald Standish Stories

24 Hours

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Greg Iles

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101043509

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 2370

#1 New York Times bestselling author Greg Iles takes readers on a daringly executed roller-coaster ride as a family under attack takes justice into their own hands. It begins on a perfect night, with a perfect family about to be trapped in a perfect crime... Will Jennings is a successful young doctor in Jackson, Mississippi, with a thriving practice, a beautiful wife, and a five-year-old daughter he loves beyond measure. But Will and his family are being watched by a con man and psychopath who may be a genius. A man who has never been caught and whose victims have never talked to the police. A man whose life's work strikes at the heart of every family's unspoken fear: the unstoppable kidnapping. But this time he's picked the wrong family to terrorize. Because Will and Karen Jennings aren't going to watch helplessly as he victimizes them. They aren't going to let him get away with it. They're going to fight back...

Terror In Shadows

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lecy McKenzie

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1477207864

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 6921

Terror in the Shadows: Sometimes the one thing that frightens you the most is the one thing you have been looking for all your life. The Terror Is Here! Terror in the Shadows, a new suspense thriller by Horror Novelist Lecy McKenzie Pritchett, will keep you riveted and promises to be filled with bone chilling terror and heart stopping surprises until the very end. Four couples begin a dream vacation that very quickly spins into a nightmare. One of them is in for some life altering changes, and the realization that horror can be watching for you from the shadows, or maybe not? Alicia Martin was forewarned. A premonition, a sixth sense, a warning from some inner most human desire for survival, an uneasy feeling that this trip could very well be their last, a revelation of doom coming from deep within her soul, but unable to share these feelings for fear of her inability to tell anyone where they were coming from. Choosing to ignore these warnings, instead following her husband and friends to a mountain paradise, she will soon find the beauty that surrounds them is the mask for evil that is more terrifying than anyone could have imagined or foreseen. Finding themselves the prey of four demented brothers, who seemed to have crept up from the depths of hell, inhuman, and twisted beyond compare, languishing in the humiliation, deprivation, and horror they inflict on others, with a thirst for blood that is unimaginable, and a lust that will stop at nothing to quench that desire. The group soon finds themselves stalked and tormented, the pawns of a deadly twist of fate, being led into a wilderness that none may have the ability to survive. Unable to defend themselves against a formidable foe, with their only hope a mysterious shadow watching from a distance. Alicia is about to realize that the one that could be their salvation is the one thing that nothing could have prepared her for. A must read, hang in for the spine chilling ending that will prove a nightmare is only a dream of things that are meant to be.

Leonard Maltin's Movie and Video Guide 1993

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Leonard Maltin

Publisher: N A L Trade

ISBN: 9780452268579

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1520

View: 9671

Widely acclaimed as the biggest, best, most authoritative book in its field, this guide has been updated for 1993 and now includes a new feature--a symbol to designate movies available on increasingly popular laser discs. Features 300 new movie summaries, plus expanded coverage of films available on video for home viewing.