The Long Shadows

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Andrew Erlich,Cara Van Miriah

Publisher: eBookIt.com

ISBN: 0977408981

Category: Fiction

Page: 534

View: 969

The Long Shadows: A True-Life Novel The Long Shadows is a fascinating true-life novel about Jacob Reuben Erlich, who, at 8 foot 6, was among the tallest men in the world. Best known by his stage name, Jack Earle, he would overcome crippling shyness, depression, temporary blindness and the physical challenges of a giant's frame to earn widespread acclaim during his career as a silent film star, circus performer, artist, poet and vaudevillian. Drawing on ten years of research culled from family lore, newspaper archives, historical documents and the recorded recollections of Earle's contemporaries, author Andrew Erlich weaves a fascinating bio-fictional account of a remarkable man and the cast of colorful characters who knew him. Along the way, we learn a great deal about courage, character, and one man's unique perspective on a broad sweep of history that encompassed the Great Depression, the immigrant experience in turn-of-the-century Texas, silent films, life in the circus, the modern art movement and the domestic anti-Semitism that accompanied the run-up to World War II.

The Season of the Long Shadow

The End of Separation

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James T. King,Patrick E. Quirk

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595263828

Category: Fiction

Page: 624

View: 5033

The Season of the Long Shadow, the second book in the "Messenger Series" of Redpath novels, refers to an ancient Native American prophecy that is already passing over this land and warns of events which will affect everyone. It speaks of strange times ahead and the ultimate decision we will be asked to make. Which path will we follow? What will we need to choose our path wisely?This book provides indepth information on lessons to end Separation, steps to heal our spirit from within, and the Seven Warnings leading to the Season of the Long Shadow.

The Long Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: B. M. Bower

Publisher: The Floating Press

ISBN: 1775561429

Category: Fiction

Page: 177

View: 4407

B. M. Bower was one of the most prolific and popular writers in the early days of the Western genre, and stories like The Long Shadow explain the author's abiding popularity. From heartrending descriptions of the Western landscape, to budding romance, to action-packed chases and fight scenes, this novel truly has something for everyone.

The Long Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Loretta Proctor

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1783060549

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 4491

HISTORICAL FICTION. The Long Shadow is compelling historical novel which tells the human story of the Eastern campaign in Salonika and will appeal to readers of The Island and The Thread.

The Long Shadow

Nuclear Weapons and Security in 21st Century Asia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Muthiah Alagappa

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 0804760861

Category: History

Page: 571

View: 2298

The Long Shadow investigates the purposes and roles of nuclear weapons in the new security environment, the nature and content of the national nuclear strategies of relevant states, and their implications for international security and stability in the Asian security region

The Long Shadow of the British Empire

The Ongoing Legacies of Race and Class in Zambia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Juliette Bridgette Milner-Thornton

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

ISBN: 0230340180

Category: History

Page: 304

View: 4215

The Long Shadow of the British Empire explores the lived experiences of formerly colonized people in the privacy of their homes, communities, workplaces, and classrooms, and the associations they created from these social interactions and the enduring legacies of their relationships. It examines the centrality of gender and social identity in the formation of non-western people in the British Empire more generally and Northern Rhodesia specifically. Combining anthropological and autoethnographical historical methods, it describes the social, economic, political, and educational disadvantages Eurafricans-more commonly known as 'Coloured' in Zambia-were subjected to on account of their mixed heritage and the legacies of these racist practices in their present-day lives.

The Long Shadow

Family Background, Disadvantaged Urban Youth, and the Transition to Adulthood

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Karl Alexander,Doris Entwisle,Linda Olson

Publisher: Russell Sage Foundation

ISBN: 1610448235

Category: Social Science

Page: 288

View: 5690

A volume in the American Sociological Association's Rose Series in Sociology West Baltimore stands out in the popular imagination as the quintessential “inner city”—gritty, run-down, and marred by drugs and gang violence. Indeed, with the collapse of manufacturing jobs in the 1970s, the area experienced a rapid onset of poverty and high unemployment, with few public resources available to alleviate economic distress. But in stark contrast to the image of a perpetual “urban underclass” depicted in television by shows like The Wire, sociologists Karl Alexander, Doris Entwisle, and Linda Olson present a more nuanced portrait of Baltimore’s inner city residents that employs important new research on the significance of early-life opportunities available to low-income populations. The Long Shadow focuses on children who grew up in west Baltimore neighborhoods and others like them throughout the city, tracing how their early lives in the inner city have affected their long-term well-being. Although research for this book was conducted in Baltimore, that city’s struggles with deindustrialization, white flight, and concentrated poverty were characteristic of most East Coast and Midwest manufacturing cities. The experience of Baltimore’s children who came of age during this era is mirrored in the experiences of urban children across the nation. For 25 years, the authors of The Long Shadow tracked the life progress of a group of almost 800 predominantly low-income Baltimore school children through the Beginning School Study Youth Panel (BSSYP). The study monitored the children’s transitions to young adulthood with special attention to how opportunities available to them as early as first grade shaped their socioeconomic status as adults. The authors’ fine-grained analysis confirms that the children who lived in more cohesive neighborhoods, had stronger families, and attended better schools tended to maintain a higher economic status later in life. As young adults, they held higher-income jobs and had achieved more personal milestones (such as marriage) than their lower-status counterparts. Differences in race and gender further stratified life opportunities for the Baltimore children. As one of the first studies to closely examine the outcomes of inner-city whites in addition to African Americans, data from the BSSYP shows that by adulthood, white men of lower status family background, despite attaining less education on average, were more likely to be employed than any other group in part due to family connections and long-standing racial biases in Baltimore’s industrial economy. Gender imbalances were also evident: the women, who were more likely to be working in low-wage service and clerical jobs, earned less than men. African American women were doubly disadvantaged insofar as they were less likely to be in a stable relationship than white women, and therefore less likely to benefit from a second income. Combining original interviews with Baltimore families, teachers, and other community members with the empirical data gathered from the authors’ groundbreaking research, The Long Shadow unravels the complex connections between socioeconomic origins and socioeconomic destinations to reveal a startling and much-needed examination of who succeeds and why.

The Long Shadow

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Liza Marklund

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451607075

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 8905

The next thrilling installment in the Annika Bengtzon series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Liza Marklund, who Henning Mankell called “Queen of Scandinavian Crime Fiction.” The inspiration for the hit film series, Annika Bengtzon: Crime Reporter, now available on Netflix. In this follow-up to Liza Marklund’s “stunningly great” (BookReporter.com) thriller Lifetime, newspaper reporter Annika Bengtzon is left to pick up the pieces after a shocking and complex murder case turns her world upside down and leaves her personal life in shambles. Meanwhile, an intruder brutally murders an entire family on Spain’s Costa del Sol, and Annika must fly to the glitzy locale to report on the case. Upon arrival she discovers that a fifth family member is unaccounted for. Soon, the killers are found, but they too have met their demise—in the same grisly manner they killed the Söderström family. Amid a culture weighed down by drug smuggling and money laundering, Annika must try to find the missing girl before it’s too late.

The Long Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gaynor Gabriel

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 1481797247

Category: History

Page: 204

View: 327

Sarah, nine years old, endures yet another air-raid in the street shelter in Blitz-torn England. At the same time nine-year old Claude is practising an escape should their house in occupied France be raided by the Gestapo. Sarah and Claude, Jews, and their families experience the devastating effects of Nazi Germany. The children are deeply traumatised, Sarah by the fate of her mother during an air-raid and Claude by the 'disappearance' of his family. The effects of their tragic experiences are played out very differently. The early lives of the children, though in different cultures and different circumstances, manifest very similar parallel experiences. It is only when the two central characters meet as adults that the effects of the trauma show themselves clearly and very dramatically. The novel traces four generations of the two families through to the final powerful and moving outcome. "It becomes hard to put the book down......the narrative becomes truly wrenching. One hopes that Gabriel will keep writing; a remarkable beginning," - Kirkus Reviews "This is a well-charted tale of how great sorrow can colour lives long after the event." - BlueInk Review "Introspective and profoundly moving, Gabriel's realistic portrayal of war's aftermath will leave an enduring impression." - Foreword Reviews

The Long Shadow

The Great War and the Twentieth Century

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Reynolds

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0857206389

Category: History

Page: 544

View: 9808

In Britain we have lost touch with the Great War. Our overriding sense now is of a meaningless, futile bloodbath in the mud of Flanders -- of young men whose lives were cut off in their prime for no evident purpose. But by reducing the conflict to personal tragedies, however moving, we have lost the big picture: the history has been distilled into poetry. In TheLong Shadow, critically acclaimed author David Reynolds seeks to redress the balance by exploring the true impact of 1914-18 on the 20th century. Some of the Great War's legacies were negative and pernicious but others proved transformative in a positive sense. Exploring big themes such as democracy and empire, nationalism and capitalism and re-examining the differing impacts of the War on Britain, Ireland and the United States,TheLong Shadowthrows light on the whole of the last century and demonstrates that 1914-18 is a conflict that Britain, more than any other nation, is still struggling to comprehend. Stunningly broad in its historical perspective, The Long Shadowis a magisterial and seismic re-presentation of the Great War.