The Epic Book of Epicness

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Frost

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781408862346

Category:

Page: 112

View: 6666

Pick up this book and just look at what you will find. Crikey! That's dead scary. If all the dead people on earth came back to like as zombies there would be 101 billion zombies in the world. Aagh! Run for your life! Check your worryometer! If you see a tiger shark be very afraid, it will eat you. On the other hand if it's a zebra shark - did you know they don't attack people? Safe! Is there anybody there? Messaging home from outer space can take forever! If you're on Venus, a message sent would reach home in 8 minutes and from Neptune it would take over 4 hours! Better check you're in range. Seeing RED! You'll have to travel all the way to Antarctica to see a red waterfall. It's called Blood Falls and the water is turned red by the element iron. WOW! Top trunks! Find out all the things an elephant does with it's trunk. He would die without it. GAV! GAV! It's barking, literally, a dog bark in Russian. You'll find many of the noises animals make in different languages. WOOF! WOOF! How cool is that!

A Dash of Poison

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Frost

Publisher: Stripes Publishing

ISBN: 9781847157744

Category:

Page: 128

View: 7372

Solving crime in record time! Wily Fox is on the case again. A cursed tomb, some sinking sand and an army of snakes. From the pyramids of Egypt to the Grand Canyon, USA, detective Wily Fox is racing to uncover a Pharaoh’s long-lost treasure before Doug Donkey steals it. But there’s a bigger plot at work. If Wily can’t stop his old enemy Klara Kraftypants and her evil scheme, the world as they know it will be history… Fun and fast-paced detective stories, perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and The Dragon Detective Agency.

Brush with Danger

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Frost

Publisher: Stripes Publishing

ISBN: 9781847156167

Category:

Page: 128

View: 6778

Solving Crime in Record Time! A priceless painting, a mysterious letter, a piece of cheese so stinky it’s deadly…From the art galleries of Paris to the palaces of Moscow, detective Wily Fox is on the trail of Dimitri Gottabottomitch. But the brown bear is doing whatever he can to throw Wily off the scent. Can Wily solve the case of the priceless painting or will he be the victim of an art attack? Fun and fast-paced detective stories, perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and The Dragon Detective Agency.

Children's Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2017

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472924975

Category: Reference

Page: 480

View: 9662

Foreword by Frances Hardinge The annual, bestselling guide to all aspects of the media and how to write and illustrate for children and young adults. Acknowledged by the media industries and authors as the essential guide to how to get published. The 70+ articles are updated and added to each year. Together they provide invaluable guidance on subjects such as series fiction, writing historical or funny books, preparing an illustration portfolio, managing your finances, interpreting publishers' contracts, self-publishing your work. NEW articles for the 2017 edition included on: - Wanting to be a writer by Simon Mason - Finding new readers and markets by Tom Palmer - News and trends in children's publishing 2015-16 by Caroline Horn - Series fiction: writing as a part of a team by Lucy Courtenay - Creating a children's comic by Tom Fickling All of the 2,000 listings of who to contact across the media have been reviewed and updated. The essential guide for any writer for children.

Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2017

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472928660

Category: Reference

Page: 816

View: 8797

This bestselling guide to all areas of publishing and the media is completely revised and updated every year. The Yearbook is packed with advice, inspiration and practical guidance on who to contact and how to get published. New articles in the 2017 edition on: Stronger together: writers united by Maggie Gee Life writing: telling other people's stories by Duncan Barrett (co-author of the Sunday Times bestseller GI Brides) The how-to of writing 'how-to' books by Kate Harrison (author of the 5:2 Diet titles) Self-publishing Dos and Dont's by Alison Baverstock The Path to a bestseller by Clare Mackintosh (author of the 2015 Let Me Go) Getting your lucky break by Claire McGowan Getting your poetry out there by Neil Astley (MD and Editor at Bloodaxe Books) Selling yourself and your work online by Fig Taylor Then and now: becoming a science fiction and fantasy writer - Aliette de Bodard Writing (spy) fiction - Mick Herron Making waves online - Simon Appleby All articles are reviewed and updated every year. Key articles on Copyright Law, Tax, Publishing Agreements, E-publishing, Publishing news and trends are fully updated every year. Plus over 4,000 listings entries on who to contact and how across the media and publishing worlds In short it is 'Full of useful stuff' - J.K. Rowling Foreword to the 2017 edition by Deborah Levy.

Wissensvermittlung in dichterischer Gestalt

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Marietta Horster

Publisher: Franz Steiner Verlag

ISBN: 9783515086981

Category: History

Page: 348

View: 2735

Mit Hesiod beginnt die Tradition lehrhaften Dichtens in der Antike. Wie Wissen in dichterischer Gestalt vermittelt wird, unterliegt dem historischen Wandel. Welche Funktionen erfuellt das Lehrgedicht im sich wandelnden soziokulturellen Kontext? L�sst sich eine Periodisierung in der Gattungsgeschichte feststellen? Wie bedingen sich Traditionsbezogenheit lehrhaften Dichtens auf der einen und experimentelle Themenvielfalt auf der anderen Seite? In welchem Verh�ltnis stehen poetische und prosaische Fach- und Lehrschriften? Diesen Fragen gingen die Philologen und Historiker w�hrend des 2. Rostocker Kolloquiums zu antiken Fachschriftstellern nach. Entstanden ist ein Band, in dem chronologisch der Bogen vom archaischen Griechenland bis ins lateinische Mittelalter gespannt wird, und in dem theoretische �berlegungen ebenso wie Einzelinterpretationen sich zu einem �berblick ueber die Funktionsweise von Wissensvermittlung in dichterischer Gestalt runden. Mit Beitr�gen von: Marietta Horster / Christiane Reitz, Peter Toohey, Bernd Effe, Wilhelm Bluemer, Oliver Primavesi, Christian K��er, Peter Kruschwitz, Wolfgang Huebner, Katharina Volk, Monica Gale, Claudia Schindler, Christiane Reitz, Roland Mayer, Alison Sharrock, Marco Formisano, Thomas Haye.

Figuring Religions

Comparing Ideas, Images, and Activities

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Shubha Pathak

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 1438445393

Category: Religion

Page: 314

View: 2880

This volume offers new ways of comparing prominent features of the world's religions. Comparison has been at the heart of religious studies as a modern academic discipline, but comparison can be problematic. Seeking to reinvigorate comparison and avoid its excesses, contributors to this volume use theories of metaphor and metonymy from the fields of philosophy, linguistics, and anthropology to look at religious ideas, images, and activities.

Bad Yeti

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Carrie Harris

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0449817725

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 62

View: 1981

Set in the world of BAD TASTE IN BOYS and BAD HAIR DAY, this original digital story is the perfect introduction into the funny high school world of CARRIE HARRIS, where humor meets horror (and sometimes zombies, werewolves, yetis, and yes, even unicorns). Jonah Grable hasn’t minded living in the shadow of his older, zombie fighting sister Kate, but this weekend he’s definitely raising his profile. A weekend of epic epicness—waving swords and flirting with girls in elf ears at his LARP club event—is totally up Jonah’s alley. But when his alter ego, Sir Talatien Maguirier, Nightdark Clanlord, comes face to face with a real, live Yeti, Jonah—or, rather, Tal—has to take matters into his own hands. So he sets off with gamer goddess Lady Amethyst, brown-eyed Europa, and Calamity, a braid-wearing barbarian in fur into the great unknown on a search for yeti-related awesomeness. . . .