Fundraiser Rescue

100 All New Fundraising Ideas

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Richard Black

Publisher: Gatekeeper Press

ISBN: 1642370541

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 326

View: 3472

Over 120 new original and unique fundraising ideas for nonprofits across the globe. All new Fundraisers that have never been seen before and come complete with sample logos and instructions on how to implement the idea and hold the charity event. When your nonprofit organization is in need of a fresh new fundraiser, Fundraiser Rescue is the guide for you!

North by Northwestern

A Seafaring Family on Deadly Alaskan Waters

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sig Hansen,Mark Sundeen

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9781429993777

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 9157

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen's rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family's struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream Sig Hansen has been a star of the Discovery Channel's Deadliest Catch from the pilot to the present. Seen in over 150 countries, the show attracts more than 49 million viewers per season, making it one of the most successful series in the history of cable TV. With its daredevil camera work, unpredictably dangerous weather, and a setting as unforgivable and unforgettable as the frigid Bering Sea, The Deadliest Catch is unlike anything else on television. But the weatherworn fishermen of the fishing vessel Northwestern have stories that don't come through on TV. For Sig Hansen and his brothers, commercial fishing is as much a part of their Norwegian heritage as their names. Descendants of the Vikings who roamed and ruled the northern seas for centuries, the Hansens' connection to the sea stretches from Alaska to Seattle and all the way to Norway. And after twenty years as a skipper on the commercial fishing vessel the Northwestern--which was his father's before him--Sig has lived to tell the tales. To be a successful fisherman, you need to be a mechanic, navigator, welder, painter, carpenter, and sometimes, a firefighter. To be a successful fisherman year after year, you need to be a survivor. This is the story of a family of survivors; part memoir and part adventure tale, North by Northwestern brings readers on deck, into the dockside bars and into the history of a family with a common destiny. Built around a gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like The Perfect Storm, North By Northwestern is the multi-generational tale of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who, through the popularity of The Deadliest Catch, have become modern folk-heroes.

Deep Sea Fishing

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: William David Thomas

Publisher: Cavendish Square Publishing, LLC

ISBN: 1608702960

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 9079

Describes why so many people choose to work in occupations that put their lives on the line.

Hilarity Ensues

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tucker Max

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451669038

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 451

View: 4084

The author of the best-selling Assholes Finish First recounts a new series of misadventures marked by his considerable indiscretions, from deliberately baiting a short-tempered acquaintance to getting kicked out of his own charity event, in a volume that includes a revised version of his famed "Miss Vermont Story." 200,000 first printing.

Deadliest Waters

A Story of Survival on Alaskan Seas

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sig Hansen,Mark Sundeen

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1847378900

Category: Social Science

Page: 336

View: 9487

Sig Hansen has been a star of the Channel 4's The Deadliest Catchfrom the pilot to the present. Seen in over 150 countries, the show attracts more than 49 million viewers per season, making it one of the most successful series in the history of cable TV. With its daredevil camera work, unpredictably dangerous weather, and a setting as unforgivable and unforgettable as the frigid Bering Sea, The Deadliest Catchis unlike anything else on television. But the weatherworn fishermen of the fishing vessel Northwesternhave stories that don't come through on TV. For Sig Hansen and his brothers, commercial fishing is as much a part of their Norwegian heritage as their names. Descendents of the Vikings who roamed and ruled the northern seas for centuries, the Hansens' connection to the sea stretches from Alaska to Seattle and all the way to Norway. And after twenty years as a skipper on the commercial fishing vessel the Northwestern-- which was his father's before him -- Sig has lived to tell the tales. To be a successful fisherman, you need to be a mechanic, navigator, welder, painter, carpenter, and sometimes, a firefighter. To be a successful fisherman year after year, you need to be a survivor. This is the story of a family of survivors; part memoir and part adventure tale, North by Northwesternbrings readers on deck, into the dockside bars and into the history of a family with a common destiny. Built around a gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like The Perfect Storm, North by Northwesternis the multi-generational tale of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who, through the popularity of The Deadliest Catch, have become modern folk-heroes.

Captain Phil Harris

The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Josh Harris,Jake Harris,Steve Springer,Blake Chavez

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451666063

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 7678

A portrait of the late star of Discovery Channel's Deadliest Catch reveals his high-risk private life of tempestuous affairs, drug-fueled parties and motorcycle riding as well as his virtues as a devoted friend, loving father and steadfast captain. 50,000 first printing.

Southeastern Geographer

Spring 2012 Issue

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David M. Cochran Jr.,Carl A. Reese

Publisher: UNC Press Books

ISBN: 080787258X

Category: Social Science

Page: 152

View: 5147

Table of Contents for Volume 52, Number 1 (Spring 2012) Cover Art A Section of the Kansas City Southern in Hattiesburg, Mississippi David M. Cochran, Jr. Introduction David M. Cochran, Jr. and Carl A. Reese Part I: Papers Spatial and Temporal Variations in West Virginia's Precipitation, 1931–2000 James Leonard and Kevin Law The Gulf of Mexico Red Snapper Individual Fishing Quota Program in Florida: Perceptions and Implications Kamal Alsharif and Nathan Miller Reflections in the Water: Society and Recreational Facilities, a Case Study of Public Swimming Pools in Mississippi P. Caleb Smith Local Food Initiatives in Tobacco Transitions of the Southeastern United States Richard A. Russo A GIS-Based Football Stadium Evacuation Model Joslyn J. Zale and Bandana Kar Part II: Geographical Notes The Origin and Appreciation of Savannah, Georgia's Historic City Squares Louis De Vorsey Part III: Reviews Louisiana Place Names of Indian Origin, A Collection of Words William A. Read, edited by George M. Riser Reviewed by Andy Hilburn The SAGE Handbook of Geographical Knowledge Edited by John Agnew and David N. Livingstone Reviewed by J. O. Joby Bass

Time Bandit

Two Brothers, the Bering Sea, and One of the World's Deadliest Jobs

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Andy Hillstrand,Johnathan Hillstrand,Malcolm MacPherson

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 9780345507273

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 5872

“Many brave hearts are asleep in the deep, so beware, beware,” goes the chorus of an old sailors’ sing-along that celebrates the allure and danger of the seafaring life. But make no mistake–there truly is much to beware for those who are drawn to risk their lives and seek their fortunes upon the waves. And perhaps none take more chances than the men and women who brave the tempestuous, bountiful waters of the Bering Sea. Season after season, they bond and battle with its icy depths, determined to reap yet one more rewarding harvest while eluding the ever-present threat of sudden, certain death. And among the rapidly diminishing ranks of these die-hard salts, brothers Andy and Johnathan Hillstrand have forged a reputation as fierce masters of their treacherous, enthralling trade. If you’ve watched their exploits on TV’s Deadliest Catch, you’ve only scratched the surface. To read Time Bandit is to step into their skins, smell the sea air, feel the frigid wind, and know with all your senses the exhilarating, and terrifying life on the edge. Natives of tiny, fishing hamlet, Homer, Alaska; sons of a hard-bitten, highly successful fisherman; and born with brine in their blood, the Hillstrand boys couldn’t imagine a life without a swaying deck underfoot and a harvest of mighty Alaskan king crabs waiting to be pulled from the ocean floor. In pursuit of their daily catch, the brothers brave ice floes and heaving waves 60 feet high, the perils of 1000-lb steel traps thrown about by the punishing wind, and the constant menace of the open, hungry water. Even the brothers’ downtime on land–where the deadly realities of the unforgiving sea are never far from their minds–is lived as if borrowed: fast and hard, haunted by the knowledge that the next season at sea could end asleep in the deep. Here is the Hillstrands’ own heartfelt hymn to the brutally hard, gloriously independent, and mysteriously soul-satisfying life that has earned them their daily bread and defined their existence. By turns raucous and reflective, exhilarating and anguished, enthralling, suspenseful, and wise, Time Bandit chronicles a larger-than-life love affair as old as civilization itself–a love affair between striving, willful man and inscrutable, enduring nature. From the Hardcover edition.