The Cleaner

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Beth Wakefield

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1445768097

Category:

Page: 151

View: 6548

The Cleaner's only crime was to fall in love, and of course it had to be with the spider Kings favourite daughter. In the hope that he would get killed, the King set The Cleaner three tasks. The first was to get the right toe nail off a giant. The second a moonbeam. And the third the end of a lions tail. He successfully completed all the tasks, with the help of his friend Earwig. They both nearly got killed many times. But in the end the king agreed to let them marry, with fatal consequences.

The Cleaner

A Thriller

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Paul Cleave

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451677804

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 4060

Joe is in control of everything in his simple life—both his day job as a janitor for the police department and his “night work.” He isn’t bothered by the daily news reports of the Christchurch Carver, who, they say, has murdered seven women. Joe knows, though, that the Carver killed only six. He knows that for a fact, and he’s determined to find the copycat. He’ll punish him for the one, then frame him for the other six. It’s the perfect plan because he already knows he can outwit the police. All he needs now is to take care of all the women who keep getting in his way, including his odd, overprotective mother and Sally, the maintenance worker who sees him as a replacement for her dead brother. Then there’s the mysterious Melissa, the only woman to have ever understood him, but whose fantasies of blackmail and torture don't have a place in Joe’s investigation. Originally published in 2006 in Cleave’s native New Zealand, where it was a finalist for the prestigious Ned Kelly Award for Best Fiction, The Cleaner is a chilling and darkly funny thriller that will leave you clamoring for his next.

The Cleaner

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Brett Battles

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1848091427

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 1495

Jonathan Quinn's work comes after the crime. But now the crime's coming after him. Quinn is a freelancer working for 'the Office', a shadowy criminal organisation. His job is to clean up crime scenes - dispose of bodies, wipe away prints, anything to help them get away with it. His latest job seems simple enough: investigate a suspicious case of arson. Until the moment a dead body turns up where it doesn't belong, and Quinn's Office handlers go strangely silent. The Office is under threat, and someone wants him dead. And if Quinn can't figure out what's going on from only a handful of clues, he'll never clean another crime scene. He'll be the crime scene. A brutal, acclaimed thriller, perfect for fans of JOHN WICK

The Cleaner

Second Book of the "Miandi" Series

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: A. P Lynn

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 1466941995

Category: Fiction

Page: 344

View: 2365

In Arrival, the first book of the Miandi series, Detective Mark Daniels meets Julie Warren, a young entrepreneur, who was renting out his deceased wife's studio. Her involvement in a property scheme case piques his curiosity as to the background of his tenant and the world she lives in. What Mark cannot discover is that Julie is actually an immortal, who has arrived on Earth to attempt to live life as humans do, without her powers or her past getting in the way. Now in The Cleaner, Mark's curiosity over his tenant grows stronger, and Julie's unwitting involvement in his caseload only heightens her fear that he will discover her secret. Mark and his new partner, Detective Cassie Edwards, are assigned to assist the arson team, when a series of arsons claims the son of a prominent Mason City attorney. The investigation reopens deep wounds for Mark, who lost his mother in a fire. They join Lieutenant Lawrence Rutherford and trainee Melanie Keegen in a search for the arsonist and the motive behind the fires. When a new blaze claims a historical home owned by Julie's company, Julie is drawn into the mystery. Julie must then fight Mark's growing obsession over her and an arsonist whose anger knows no bounds and is not afraid to make Julie or Mark their latest victim.

The Cleaner of Chartres

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Salley Vickers

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101599634

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 1458

“If you enjoy the work of Marilynne Robinson, Penelope Fitzgerald, James Salter…you should be reading Vickers.” —Michael Dirda, The Washington Post Book World There is something very special about Agnès Morel. A quiet presence in the small French town of Chartres, she can usually be found cleaning the famed medieval cathedral or doing odd jobs for the townspeople. No one knows where she came from or why. Not diffident Abbé Paul, nor lonely Professor Jones, nor even Alain Fleury, whose attention she catches with her tawny eyes. She has transformed all their lives in her own subtle way, yet no one suspects the dark secret Agnès is hiding. Then an accidental encounter dredges up the specter of her past, and the nasty meddling of town gossips forces Agnès to confront her tragic history and the violent act that haunts it.

The Cleaner Plate Club

Raising Healthy Eaters One Meal at a Time

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Beth Bader,Ali Benjamin

Publisher: Storey Publishing

ISBN: 1603427449

Category: Cooking

Page: 305

View: 5581

If you’ve ever had to grapple with picky eaters who won’t touch anything but chicken nuggets and macaroni and cheese, Beth Bader and Ali Benjamin have a solution. Their unique ideas will help you present fresh foods that appeal to kids, eliminate food waste, and help you quit worrying about what your children eat. A must-have for every family, The Cleaner Plate Club is an easy recipe for healthier kids and happier parents.

The Cleaner

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mark Dawson

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781492354253

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 6380

Meet John Milton He considers himself an artisan. A craftsman. His trade is murder. Milton is the man the government sends after you when everything else has failed. Ruthless. Brilliant. Anonymous. Lethal. You wouldn't pick him out of a crowd but you wouldn't want to be on his list. But now, after ten years, he's had enough - there's blood on his hands and he wants out. Trouble is, this job is not one you can just walk away from. He goes on the run, seeking atonement for his sins by helping the people he meets along the way. But his past cannot be easily forgotten and before long it is Milton who is hunted, and not the hunter. The Cleaner A career of state-sanctioned murder has taken its toll. Milton is troubled by nightmares, a long line of ghosts who torment his dreams. He resolves to make his next job his last and, then, perhaps, he can start to make amends for everything that he has done. Sharon Warriner is a single mother in the East End of London, suicidal with fear that she's lost her young son to a life in the gangs. After Milton saves her life, he promises to help. But the gang, and the charismatic rapper who leads it, is not about to cooperate with him. As London burns through summer riots, Milton finds himself in unfamiliar territory, dealing with an unfamiliar foe. And when his employer sends another agent after him, the odds against him are stacked even higher.

The Vacuum Cleaner

A History

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Carroll Gantz

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786465522

Category: Social Science

Page: 240

View: 1010

House cleaning has been an innate human activity forever but only since the early 19th century have mechanical devices replaced the physical labor (performed mostly by women). Mechanical carpet sweepers were replaced by manual suction cleaners, which in turn were replaced by electric vacuum cleaners in the early 20th century. Innovative inventors, who improved vacuum cleaners as electricity became commonly available, made these advances possible. Many early manufacturers failed, but some, such as Bissell, Hoover, Eureka and others, became household names as they competed for global dominance with improved features, performance and appearance. This book describes the fascinating people who made this possible, as well as the economic, cultural and technological contexts of their times. From obscure beginnings 200 years ago, vacuum cleaners have become an integral part of modern household culture.

The Cleaner

The True Story of One of the World's Most Successful Money Launderers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bruce Aitken

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781945190193

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5294

"a unique and perfect insight into the money-laundering world of thirty odd years ago.Read this book and learn how good men can sometimes end up doing things that many regard as not so good. Howard Marks AKA Mr. Nice Excerpt from the Book: "You are looking at the Meyer Lansky of money laundering!" All attending the court gasped out loud, and with malice aforethought, stared at me as if I had just landed from outer space. From humble beginnings in Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, Bruce Aitken was destined to be a baseball player until fate stepped in, in the form of a knee injury, and forever changed the course of his life. What started innocently enough, answering an ad in the newspaper, turned into a globe-trotting lifestyle of moving money - huge sums of money - for some of the world's most notorious and somewhat shady characters. From the jungles of Viet Nam to the money capitals of the world, Bruce moved in circles that would unquestioningly hand over millions of dollars to him on a handshake, to be deposited into Swiss Bank accounts. It all started to crash via an event in Reno Nevada, and nearly cost Bruce the rest of his life in prison.