The Butcher Boy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin MacCabe

Publisher: Cork University Press

ISBN: 9781859182864

Category: History

Page: 87

View: 5790

The Butcher Boy is perhaps the finest film to have come out of Ireland. Although it marks a clear break with the more banal canons of realism, it is nonetheless the most realistic of Irish films. It engages with the society and culture of modern Ireland with a wit and ferocity that denies the viewer any easy moral position. Cinema is often thought of as a purely visual art, but this film is adapted from a novel by a filmmaker who is himself a writer of prose fiction. In this study, Colin McCabe examines the process by which fiction becomes film, and writing becomes image.

The Butcher's Wife and Other Stories

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ang Li,Howard Goldblatt

Publisher: Cheng & Tsui

ISBN: 9780887272226

Category: Fiction

Page: 245

View: 9583

Li Ang's highly charged fiction has brought her worldwide attention.

In the Wake of the Butcher

Cleveland's Torso Murders

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Jessen Badal

Publisher: Kent State University Press

ISBN: 9780873386890

Category: True Crime

Page: 255

View: 5406

"In the Wake of the Butcher is based on police reports, autopsy protocols, personal interviews with the descendants of victims and investigators, and unpublished manuscripts and is illustrated with maps, rare crime scene and morgue photographs, and newspaper photos. The author dispels some long-held rumors about the crimes and confirms others. In the Wake of the Butcher presents its compelling case and leaves readers to come to their own conclusions about the notorious Cleveland murders."--BOOK JACKET.

The Butcher of Amritsar

General Reginald Dyer

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nigel Collett

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9781852855758

Category: History

Page: 576

View: 8610

On 13 April 1919, General Reginald Dyer marched a squad of Indian soldiers into the Jallianwala Bagh in Amritsar, and opened fire without warning on a crowd gathered to hear political speeches. This is an account of the massacre set in the context of a biography of a man whose attitudes reflected many of the views common in the Raj.

The Butcher’s Wife

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adamu Kyuka Usman

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 146700085X

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 2127

The Butcher

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jennifer Hillier

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1476734232

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 9610

"Thirty years ago, police chief Edward Shank hunted down and killed the most notorious serial killer in Seattle's history: the Beacon Hill Butcher. Now, eighty years old and retired, Edward is giving up his Victorian home to his grandson Matt, an aspiring chef. While Matt is renovating it, he stumbles upon a gruesome cache. Matt must decide whether he should ignore the sinister secret, go to the police, or take matters into his own hands. And his family's past is feeding disturbing changes in himself as well... Sam, his girlfriend, believes that her mother may have been killed by the Beacon Hill Butcher - even though the murder took place two years after Edward Shank gunned down the killer. But Sam's search is bringing her too close to the truth... and right into the path of Matt's terrible secret"-- Back cover.

The Butcher

Anatomy of a Mafia Psychopath

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Philip Carlo

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1907195416

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 4812

Written by the bestselling author of The Ice Man, The Butcher is a gripping and disturbing fly-on-the-wall account of the US Drug Enforcement Administration's four-year hunt to bring down Tommy 'Karate' Pitera, a drug-dealing, murderous capo in the Bonanno crime family. In 1992, Pitera was sentenced to life in prison for murdering six people and supporting a massive drug-dealing operation. Yet this covered only a fraction of the crimes he committed. Pitera is thought to have murdered more than 60 people, cutting many of his victims into pieces before burying them on Staten Island. Exhaustively researched and written with the cooperation of the DEA agents who hunted Pitera down, The Butcher will send shivers down the spine of the most hardened reader.

The Butcher

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Drac Von Stoller

Publisher: Drac Von Stoller

ISBN: 1465895043

Category: Fiction

Page: 7

View: 9590

Life was good for the Walker family. They had a hundred acre farm with plenty of livestock to keep their family's lifestyle above everyone else in town. Johnny Walker stood six feet six inches tall but was as gentle as a kitten. Johnny's wife Elizabeth was by far the prettiest woman around. The Walker's had two beautiful children Sarah and Jimmy. The children grew up fast because their father was an ex-marine in the Vietnam War and believed in hard work and didn't want to raise lazy children on his farm. Johnny was the town’s butcher, always happy to supply their town with the best meat around. Local farmers would drive for miles just to get in on Johnny's secret, but Johnny wasn't about to give up his secret to no one. Johnny's wife, Elizabeth, was Eadendale’s Elementary school teacher. She taught math to first graders. Elizabeth loved her job teaching children to be all they can be. Elizabeth hoped the children she taught would grow up to be teachers some day and instill values she taught them. Sarah and Jimmy would work after school on their father's farm whatever little they could do to help their father out. Johnny would teach his children how to plant, kill chickens, and tend to the cattle on the farm. Johnny would tell his children, "If I sat around all day long hoping the corn would grow and that we would always have food on the table, we would all starve to death. Johnny Walker's children had a good foundation to grow up and be all they can be in whatever obstacles came their way. Johnny Walker's farm had been hit with a serious drought. The Walker family’s farm was facing hard times and their recovery wouldn't be swift. The Walker family lost most of their cattle and corn, so times were getting even harder. Johnny thought next season would be a better one but it was the roughest year than the year before. Tension was building between Johnny and his wife, Elizabeth. They argued constantly over money. Elizabeth wanted Johnny to give up the farm so they could survive but Johnny was too hard headed for that. One night Elizabeth had all she could take from Johnny yelling at her. When she got home from a hard day at work all Elizabeth would see is Johnny sitting at the kitchen table with a bottle of whiskey in his hand and slurring his speech. Elizabeth said, "That's it, I'm going out and don't wait up for me." "Don't worry, I won't," said a drunken Johnny Walker. As Elizabeth slammed the door behind her, Johnny threw the bottle of whiskey at the door shattering the bottle into a million pieces. Johnny said, "Don't come back." Johnny passed out on the kitchen table. Sarah and Jimmy came out of their rooms crying and came up to the kitchen table where their father was passed out trying to console him. Johnny said, "Why don't you kids go to your rooms. I'll be alright. I'll come get you both in a few minutes and take you out to the stable and we’ll ride horses to take our mind off of things." The children returned to their rooms while their daddy cleaned up to take them horseback riding. Johnny knocked on Sarah and Jimmy's door telling them it's time to go horseback riding. Jimmy and Sarah had a great time riding horses with their dad. "Kids, it's getting late I think we need to bring the horses back to the stable and turn in for the night. I'll read you both a bed time story," said Johnny. Johnny read Sarah and Jimmy a bedtime story and kissed them goodnight. Then Johnny got in his truck and headed to the liquor store to get a new bottle of whiskey to drown out his sorrows. Johnny drank well into the night waiting to see when his beautiful wife Elizabeth would be returning home. Elizabeth finally arrived at around 3:00 am in the morning. Johnny said, "Where have you been?" "None of your business," said Elizabeth. Johnny grabbed Elizabeth by the arm and said, "What do you mean none of my business. You're my wife." Johnny and Elizabeth got into a struggle and Johnny slapped Elizabeth's face. Elizabeth broke free and ran to her room crying. Saying, "Why did I come back he doesn't really love me anyway." Johnny knocked on her door trying to get in but the door was locked. Johnny pleaded with her to open the door but she said, "Get away!! Leave me alone!" Johnny turned away and headed to the living room with his bottle of whiskey to drown away his problems. Somehow the whiskey wasn't doing the trick but Johnny was too far gone and too addicted to stop now. Morning came. Johnny was sprawled out on the couch snoring like a freight train with an empty bottle of whiskey lying next to his chest. Elizabeth got the children ready for school and left for work. Sarah and Jimmy were scared their father might hurt them because of his sickness. Their father reassured them he would never lay a hand on them and he was very sorry he hit their mother. Johnny got himself cleaned up and got himself a job at the local diner to show his wife he was serious about their relationship. Elizabeth seemed to be happy once more and things were looking brighter for their marriage but all it took was Johnny's lips to touch the tip of the whiskey bottle and things were back like they were once before. This time Johnny was drinking all day long and Elizabeth was hitting the bars looking for any man that would give her the attention she wasn't getting at home from her husband Johnny.

The Butcher's Daughter

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Victoria Glendinning

Publisher: Abrams

ISBN: 1468316346

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 776

In 1535, England is hardly a wellspring of gender equality; it is a grim and oppressive age where women—even the privileged few who can read and write—have little independence. In The Butcher’s Daughter, it is this milieu that mandates Agnes Peppin, daughter of a simple country butcher, to leave her family home in disgrace and live out her days cloistered behind the walls of the Shaftesbury Abbey. But with her great intellect, she becomes the assistant to the Abbess and as a result integrates herself into the unstable royal landscape of King Henry VIII.As Agnes grapples with the complex rules and hierarchies of her new life, King Henry VIII has proclaimed himself the new head of the Church. Religious houses are being formally subjugated and monasteries dissolved, and the great Abbey is no exception to the purge. The cosseted world in which Agnes has carved out for herself a sliver of liberty is shattered. Now, free at last to be the master of her own fate, she descends into a world she knows little about, using her wits and testing her moral convictions against her need to survive by any means necessary . . .The Butcher’s Daughter is the riveting story of a young woman facing head-on the obstacles carefully constructed against her sex. This dark and affecting novel by award-winning author Victoria Glendinning intricately depicts the lives of women in the sixteenth century in a world dominated by men, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Philippa Gregory.

The Butcher's Apron

A Dream Play Comedy in Two Acts for Six Players

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charles Tidler

Publisher: Ekstasis Editions

ISBN: 9781894800884

Category: Drama

Page: 106

View: 9782

In this two act, dream play comedy, The Butcher's Apron, Charles Tidler presents an alchemical and absurdist portrait of the visionary Swedish playwright August Stringberg. Stringberg has his heart chopped out by a doppleganger and pursues the trail of his most vital organ to the birthplace of Expressionism, 1890s Berlin.