The Bird in the Tree

Book One of The Eliot Chronicles

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Elizabeth Goudge

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1473655935

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 3511

Essential reading for fans of E.M. Forster, Mary Stewart and Elizabeth Jane Howard. The first in the classic family saga about the Eliots of Damerosehay. Lucilla Eliot has spent a lifetime making the Hampshire estate of Damerosehay a tranquil haven for her family. When her beloved grandson, David, falls in love with an unsuitable woman, Lucilla sees her most cherished ambitions put at risk. But can she persuade David and Nadine to put duty and family honour before love? What readers are saying about THE ELIOT CHRONICLES 'Goudge has produced a truly enchanting world with Damerosehay at its heart. Perfect' - 5 STARS 'A delightful 'feel-good' family saga' - 5 STARS 'A beautifully-written trilogy' - 5 STARS 'Joyful, affirming and uplifting' - 5 STARS 'A complete antidote to murder and mayhem!' - 5 STARS

A Tree with a Bird in It

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Margaret Margaret Widdemer

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781983727900

Category:

Page: 40

View: 7911

We are delighted to publish this classic book as part of our extensive Classic Library collection. Many of the books in our collection have been out of print for decades, and therefore have not been accessible to the general public. The aim of our publishing program is to facilitate rapid access to this vast reservoir of literature, and our view is that this is a significant literary work, which deserves to be brought back into print after many decades. The contents of the vast majority of titles in the Classic Library have been scanned from the original works. To ensure a high quality product, each title has been meticulously hand curated by our staff. Our philosophy has been guided by a desire to provide the reader with a book that is as close as possible to ownership of the original work. We hope that you will enjoy this wonderful classic work, and that for you it becomes an enriching experience.

A Tree for the Birds

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Vernon R. L. Head

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781431425655

Category: Ecofiction

Page: 344

View: 2347

This time around we venture deep into the mysterious world of the Congo River, the Great Dancing Road. We meet Chrisnelt, a young Congolese boy who grows into manhood shaped by the vast leaves held in the branches of tropical forests, all the while battling a ravaged world of globalised greed and death. Chrisnelt is a gardener of unusual genius: he learns from birds, insects and foreign weeds; and he counts raindrops falling from clouds, finding exquisite numbers that sing of the interconnection of peoples everywhere. Chrisnelt is guided by the ancient journey of water in his part of Africa: the constant flow to the ocean, and the rise back into the sky of mists, mentored by the deepest river on Earth. Vernon RL Head offers a novel of profound beauty. Set in the heart of Africa, this powerful story at the edge of damnation bends a reflection of all of us through the eyes of a birdwatcher who sees wings fly like escaping leaves on streams of eternal water and air for all.

The Bird in the Waterfall

Exploring the Wonders of Water

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jerry Dennis

Publisher: Diversion Books

ISBN: 1940941547

Category: Nature

Page: 215

View: 8970

There is nothing in the universe like water. It is unique and beautiful and without it there could be no life on earth. Little wonder, then, that people have always expressed such awe, delight, and reverence for it. The Bird in the Waterfall is a celebration of the wonders of water and the creatures that live in it. While exploring waterfalls and artesian springs, ocean waves and tidal bores, whirligig beetles and torrent ducks, author Jerry Dennis and artist Glenn Wolff address age-old aquatic mysteries: Why do rivers meander? What are the sources of hot springs and geysers? What causes tsunamis and rogue waves? Why is water blue—and sometimes green, black, yellow, or red? Why do we gather to watch falling water and crashing surf? Why do we toss coins into fountains? At the heart of The Bird in the Waterfall is a profound appreciation for the magic, music, and poetry of water—and a passionate appeal for the protection of this most precious of the earth’s resources. PRAISE: “A passionate appreciation for the magic, music, and poetry of water, and an appeal for the protection of this most precious of the earth’s resources.” —Natural Resources and Wildlife Magazine “Jerry Dennis is one of today’s most readable and informative nature essayists, and his latest book, The Bird in the Waterfall, is a marvelous look at the natural history of oceans, rivers, and lakes. It ought to be required reading for anyone who loves the outdoors, angling, surfing, beachcombing, or birding.” —Buffalo News “The Bird in the Waterfall is truly science for everyone. When you have finished reading it, you will not only know more, but you may become as charmed with water as Dennis is.” —Earth Magazine “I can’t think of anyone I know—angler, conservationist, scientific reader, curious kid—who wouldn’t enjoy, and learn from, this unusual book. And from endpaper to endpaper, it’s a visual delight, too.” —Fly Rod and Reel Magazine “Nature writer Dennis conveys his deep feelings for all aspects of the aquatic realm…and parlays his fascination with the dynamics of bodies of water into a richly informative description of how lakes and rivers support myriad lifeforms.” —Booklist

Two Birds in a Tree

Timeless Indian Wisdom for Business Leaders

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ram Nidumolu

Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers

ISBN: 1609945786

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 216

View: 5820

The Higher Reality of Business The health of business is inextricably linked with the health of humanity and nature. But our current approaches to leadership treat business as entirely separate—and the result has been recurring economic, environmental, and human crises. In this extraordinary book, Ram Nidumolu uses evocative parables and stories from the ancient Indian wisdom texts, the Upanishads, to introduce Being-centered leadership. This new kind of leadership is anchored in the concept of Being, the fundamental reality that underlies all phenomena. Being-centered leaders are guided by an innate sense of interconnection—the good of the whole becomes an integral part of their decisions and actions. Using the experiences of over twenty trailblazing CEOs, as well as those from his own life, Nidumolu describes a four-stage road map every aspiring leader can use to reconnect business to the wider world—to the benefit of all.

The Bird in the Basket

A Story from Indonesia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: Learning Media Ltd

ISBN: 9780478230895

Category: Folklore

Page: 32

View: 1460

Little One's sisters were glad when she found a bird to talk to while they were away working in the fields. They never dreamed it would change their lives so much. Suggested level: primary.

Strange Birds in the Tree of Heaven

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Karen Salyer McElmurray

Publisher: University of Georgia Press

ISBN: 9780820326672

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 2261

This haunting debut novel invites us to explore the boundaries between beliefs, desires, obsessions, and madness. Karen Salyer McElmurray's story is set in Mining Hollow, Kentucky, where we meet Ruth Blue Wallen; her husband, Earl; and their son, Andrew. Ruth longs to know God, the only escape she can find in a world that has shown her spiritual, emotional, and sensual defeat. Earl yearns for the music-making of his past, now lost as he makes a living as a coal miner. Andrew desires the affection of a boyhood friend, an expression of love considered sinful in rural Kentucky. And with the divinely inspired yet tormenting help of his mother, in a world of deeply and tragically conflicting desires, Andrew must choose to live or die--he must choose an uncertain love or nothing at all.

The Pennsylvania School Journal

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas Henry Burrowes,James Pyle Wickersham,Elnathan Elisha Higbee,David Jewett Waller,Nathan C. Schaeffer,John Piersol McCaskey,Thomas Edward Finegan,James Herbert Kelley

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Education

Page: N.A

View: 6398