Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Patty Lovell

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101653876

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 4884

Be yourself like Molly Lou Melon no matter what a bully may do. Molly Lou Melon is short and clumsy, has buck teeth, and has a voice that sounds like a bullfrog being squeezed by a boa constrictor. She doesn't mind. Her grandmother has always told her to walk proud, smile big, and sing loud, and she takes that advice to heart. But then Molly Lou has to start in a new school. A horrible bully picks on her on the very first day, but Molly Lou Melon knows just what to do about that. From the Hardcover edition.

Have Fun, Molly Lou Melon

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Patty Lovell

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101648139

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 2865

A creative companion to Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon Molly Lou Melon's grandma taught her to be happy with herself no matter what, but that's not all she learned. Molly Lou heard all about how her grandma didn't have fancy store-bought toys when she was little. She made dolls out of twigs and flowers and created her own fun in her backyard. So Molly Lou does just that, proving that the best thing to play with is a huge imagination!

The Bully in the Book and in the Classroom

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Christie Jo Bott

Publisher: Scarecrow Press

ISBN: 9780810850484

Category: Education

Page: 185

View: 3862

Offers suggestions to stop bullies in the classroom and outlines a program which uses literature as a starting point for discussion of bullying.

That's a Great Answer!

Teaching Literature Response to K-3, ELL, and Struggling Readers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nancy N. Boyles

Publisher: Maupin House Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 1934338125

Category: Education

Page: 196

View: 1719

How can teachers get great answers to open-ended comprehension questions from the students who need help the most?K-3, ELL, and struggling older students. Nancy Boyles supplies the solution. She begins with the foundations of a great answer'great objectives, books, instruction, and discussions'and adds valuable guidance on assessment. Her ready-to-go student scaffolds then break down the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) objectives into 40 specific, measurable, open-ended comprehension questions that can be correlated with the literacy objectives of any state. Each question includes: teaching tips; a bibliography of fiction/nonfiction picture books aligned with the question; a worksheet with the reading and writing strategy; and an answer frame scaffold for initial response practice. Included CD has scaffolds and an extensive master bibliography organized alphabetically that matches key fiction/nonfiction literature models with appropriate comprehension questions.

Classroom Bullying Prevention, Pre-K-4th Grade

Children's Books, Lesson Plans, and Activities

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Melissa Allen Heath,Tina Taylor Dyches,Mary Anne Prater

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1610690974

Category: Education

Page: 131

View: 8679

Featuring 20 selected bully-themed children's picture books, this teacher-friendly resource book offers lesson plans and activities to assist educators in strengthening bystander support against bullying.

My Friend Maggie

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hannah E. Harrison

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735228418

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 4422

A sweet and heart-tugging story about bullying, friendship, and fitting in, perfect for readers of Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon Paula and Maggie have been friends forever. Paula thinks Maggie is the best—until mean girl Veronica says otherwise. Suddenly, Paula starts to notice that Maggie is big and clumsy, and her clothes are sort of snuggish. Rather than sticking up for Maggie, Paula ignores her old friend and plays with Veronica instead. Luckily, when Veronica turns on Paula, Maggie’s true colors shine through. This moving friendship story has all the heart and emotion of The Giving Tree and Kevin Henkes's Chrysanthemum. The gorgeous artwork and important message make this a book to treasure. It’s truly a classic in the making.

The Boy Who Looked Like Lincoln

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mike Reiss,David Catrow

Publisher: Puffin

ISBN: 9780142404164

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 1701

Eight-year-old Benjy, who is always being teased because he resembles Abraham Lincoln, learns to accept and appreciate his face when he attends a special summer camp.

My Secret Bully

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Trudy Ludwig

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0385387067

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 1871

THE SECRET'S OUT ON BULLYING Here is the all-too-familiar story of Monica. She and Katie have been friends since kindergarten. Monica loves being around her when she's nice. But there are times when Katie can be just plain mean. And Monica doesn't understand why. Monica is a target of relational aggression, emotional bullying among friends who will use name-calling and manipulation to humiliate and exclude. But with a little help from a supportive adult—her mother—Monica learns to cope and thrive by facing her fears and reclaiming power from her bully. Including a foreword by the founder of the The Ophelia Project, as well as helpful tips, discussion questions, and additional resources, My Secret Bully is a vital resource for children, parents, teachers, and counselors. From the Hardcover edition.