Something in the Water

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Catherine Steadman

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 1524797197

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 8620

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena. “A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick) NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY GLAMOUR AND NEWSWEEK If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . . Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares? Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . . Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves. Praise for Something in the Water “Superbly written, clever and gripping.”—B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors “Deliciously dramatic.”—Entertainment Weekly “Thrilling . . . the perfect beach read.”—PopSugar “A dark glittering gem of a thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . [Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner.”—The New York Times

Something in the Water...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jule McBride

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 0373792301

Category: Fiction

Page: 249

View: 3470

Go-getter Ariel Anderson is back in Bliss, West Virginia. She's got to shoot a TV spot, and undo her (undeserved) wild-child reputation. But there's something downright sexy happening in Bliss. And inexplicably, Ariel aches to be more naughty than nice. Especially after colliding with Rex Houston, the hottest CDC virus-chasing "cowboy" this side of the mountains. He's testing the local spring for a love bug dubbed "Romeo" that's reputed to cause sexual mayhem for seven straight days. For the first time in sixty years, Bliss is going "buggy." Romantic songs on the radio. Restaurant breakfast specials for two. The whole town is under some spell. Now Rex and Ariel are testing some steamy waters of their own. Maybe this myth was never meant to be debugged.

Something in the Water

A Superior Murder Mystery

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mike Savage

Publisher: Savage Press

ISBN: 9781886028326

Category: Fiction

Page: 238

View: 6045

Honeywell dumped 2365 barrels in Lake Superior amid strict security. The contents of those barrels has been a strict secret ever since. NOT ANYMORE!! Famous Superior detective Alphonse "Dave" Davecki gets to the bottom of why there's plutonium and dead bodies in those barrels.

Something in the Water

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Scott

Publisher: Down East Books

ISBN: 1461741777

Category: Fiction

Page: 302

View: 4125

Maine lobster fisherman Amos Coombs knows that German U-boats are hiding out along the coast by day and sinking American merchant vessels at night. Until one terrifying day, however, he is unaware that the enemy is quite literally in his backyard or that the presence of a Nazi submarine is about to change his life and those of his fellow islanders forever. More than just a war novel, this excitingly original novel presents a vivid portrayal of a community and a way of life.

Something in the Water

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charlotte MacLeod

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3958593801

Category: Fiction

Page: 226

View: 9144

While vacationing in Maine, Professor Peter Shandy confronts a poisonous potpie. Massachusetts horticulturalist Peter Shandy is famous for his rutabagas, but he comes to Maine with a loftier plant in mind. Specifically, he wants to size up the world-renowned lupines of Frances Rondel, a nonagenarian whose legendary flowers are even more beautiful in life than they are in myth. Shandy is bitterly jealous, but finds a major distraction in the dining room of the country inn where he's staying. He may grow wretched lupines, but no gardener can solve a murder like Peter Shandy. The corpse belongs to the late Jasper Flodge, a local loudmouth with a toupee and a sizeable gut. Shoveling down the last bites of a chicken potpie, Flodge clutches his chest and falls dead. Suddenly with more to do than stopping to smell the lupines, Shandy must ask himself: Which Maine cook has the bad taste to flavor chicken with cyanide? Review Quotes. "Sly, subtle . . . offers a blooming good time." - Baltimore Sun. "MacLeod's lively mystery lampoon . . . will surely please her myriad fans." - Publishers Weekly. "One of the most gifted mystery authors writing today." - Sojourner Magazine. Biographical note. Charlotte MacLeod (1922-2005) was an internationally bestselling author of cozy mysteries. Born in Canada, she moved to Boston as a child, and lived in New England most of her life. After graduating from college, she made a career in advertising, writing copy for the Stop & Shop Supermarket Company before moving on to Boston firm N. H. Miller & Co., where she rose to the rank of vice president. In her spare time, MacLeod wrote short stories, and in 1964 published her first novel, a children's book called Mystery of the White Knight. In Rest You Merry (1978), MacLeod introduced Professor Peter Shandy, a horticulturist and amateur sleuth whose adventures she would chronicle for two decades. The Family Vault (1979) marked the first appearance of her other best-known characters: the husband and wife sleuthing team Sarah Kelling and Max Bittersohn, whom she followed until her last novel, The Balloon Man, in 1998.

Torchwood: Something in the Water

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Trevor Baxendale

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409071316

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 1947

Dr Bob Strong's GP surgery has been treating a lot of coughs and colds recently, far more than is normal for the time of year. Bob thinks there's something up but he can't think what. He seems to have caught it himself, whatever it is - he's starting to cough badly and there are flecks of blood in his hanky. Saskia Harden has been found on a number of occasions submerged in ponds or canals but alive and seemingly none the worse for wear. Saskia is not on any files, except in the medical records at Dr Strong's GP practice. But Torchwood's priorities lie elsewhere: investigating ghostly apparitions in South Wales, they have found a dead body. It's old and in an advanced state of decay. And it is still able to talk. And what it is saying is 'Water hag'... Featuring Captain Jack Harkness as played by John Barrowman, with Gwen Cooper, Owen Harper, Toshiko Sato and Ianto Jones as played by Eve Myles, Burn Gorman, Naoki Mori and Gareth David-Lloyd, in the hit science fiction series created by Russell T Davies for BBC Television.

Something in the Water

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Teresa Mummert

Publisher: Teresa Mummert

ISBN: 0463093798

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 9802

There’s a place just south of town that people hide their secrets. The police call it the killing field. Seven bodies have been unearthed there in the past thirteen years. Four of those were in the last few months alone. If you ask me, this whole town is a killing field, riddled with corrupted innocence and decaying youth. Nothing ever changed here. Maybe that's why I was drawn to the new boy who moved in across the street. Momma called him a heathen. He looked like freedom to me. I didn't care what it was that he was running from, as long as he took me along for the ride. But the distance couldn’t help me escape my past, and some secrets were best to stay buried. Something in the Water has a mature storyline. Some readers may find the content triggering. Not intended for readers under the age of eighteen. Portions of this story appeared in my young adult novel The Death of Lila Jane.

Theres Something in the Water

Environmental Racism in Indigenous & Black Communities

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ingrid R. G. Waldron

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781773630571

Category: Social Science

Page: 160

View: 8047