Sabotaged

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781442406469

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4846

After helping Chip and Alex survive 15th-century London, Jonah and Katherine are summoned to help another missing child, Andrea, face her fate. Andrea is really Virginia Dare, from the Lost Colony of Roanoke. Jonah and Katherine are confident in their ability to help Andrea fix history, but when their journey goes dangerously awry, they realize that they may be in over their heads: They’ve landed in the wrong time period. Andrea doesn’t seem that interested in leaving the past. And even worse, it appears that someone has deliberately sabotaged their mission....

Sabotaged by Emotions

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stacey S. Smith

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 1622304713

Category: Religion

Page: 276

View: 8332

Stacey Smith wrote Sabotaged by Emotions while experiencing severe depression. Her heart's desire is to share the reality of living with painful emotions, and how she experiences inner peace, love, and happiness once again. Sabotaged by Emotions will help people who suffer from a mental illness, the people who support them, and give insight into the emotional pain for the medical community. There are a variety of approaches she embarks on to get better. Her spiritual life is foundational. Psychiatric drugs, electroconvulsive therapy (ECT), and counseling help tremendously. She works with a medical doctor who is also a Natural Pathologist. Overcoming painful emotions is not only an emotional challenge; it is spiritual and physical as well. have had the privilege of knowing Stacey from the beginning of her healing journey. There have been many dark days when Stacey felt she could not go on. Thanks to her faith, family, friends, tenacity, and amazing creativity, she is experiencing major breakthroughs. This book is a chronicle of the struggles and of the tools used to help her find the hope and strength needed to come out on the other side of her emotion and mental struggles. Gretchen H. Peacock, D.M.F.T., L.P.C. Stacey grew up in Montana, and moved to Georgia to play oboe in the Army band. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Christian Education and taught for over twenty years. One of her most powerful childhood memories is camping and backpacking in the mountains of Montana. Stacey is now a wife and mother of five lovely daughters. She has suffered from depression periodically throughout her life. Stacey's love for the Lord and her family empowers her to work on the difficult tasks of taking care of herself as well as improving her thought life that is sabotaging her emotions.

Sabotaged (Alaskan Courage Book #5)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dani Pettrey

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 1441265155

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 5264

Finally Returned Home, Reef McKeena Finds His Beloved Alaska Facing Its Greatest Threat Growing up, goody-two-shoes Kirra Jacobs and troublemaker Reef McKenna were always at odds. Now, working together as search-and-rescue for Alaska's arduous Iditarod race, a growing attraction seems to be forcing aside old arguments. Then Reef catches Kirra sneaking from camp in the middle of the night. Kirra's uncle, a musher in the race, has disappeared. Kirra and Reef quickly track the man, but what they discover is harrowing: Frank's daughter has been kidnapped. Kirra and Reef, along with the entire McKenna family, are thrown into a race to stop a shadowy villain who is not only threatening a girl's life--but appears willing to unleash one of the largest disasters Alaska has ever seen. Pettrey is the Winner of the 2014 Daphne du Maurier Award for Inspirational Romantic Suspense "Pettrey keeps the stakes high for her characters and her readers who know and love the whole McKenna clan will be pushing for romance to bloom as suspense mounts." Booklist about Silenced "Readers who enjoy Lynette Eason, Irene Hannon, and DiAnn Mills will add this to their to-read list." Library Journal about Stranded "I have not been this enthralled since the O'Malley series by Dee Henderson!" Christian Manifesto

Man Disconnected

How technology has sabotaged what it means to be male

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Philip Zimbardo,Nikita D. Coulombe

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473527694

Category: Psychology

Page: 352

View: 2192

'Zimbardo has put his finger on a great challenge of the modern era' - The Sunday Times Masculinity is in meltdown. Young men are failing as never before — academically, socially and sexually. But why? And what needs to be done? Internationally-acclaimed psychologist Philip Zimbardo, and research partner Nikita Coulombe, show how symptoms include excessive gaming and porn use, apathy and drug abuse. They argue that digital technologies create alternative worlds that many boys find less demanding and more rewarding than real life, yet which are ultimately harmful. There is hope. Man Disconnected reveals where the solutions are to be found, and what action we can take. Controversial, provocative and insightful, this book is an alarm call ignored at our peril.

D-Day Girls

The Spies Who Armed the Resistance, Sabotaged the Nazis, and Helped Win World War II

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sarah Rose

Publisher: Crown

ISBN: 0451495101

Category: History

Page: 400

View: 2382

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • The dramatic, untold true story of the extraordinary women recruited by Britain’s elite spy agency to help pave the way for Allied victory in World War II “Gripping. Spies, romance, Gestapo thugs, blown-up trains, courage, and treachery (lots of treachery)—and all of it true.”—Erik Larson, author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake In 1942, the Allies were losing, Germany seemed unstoppable, and every able man in England was on the front lines. To “set Europe ablaze,” in the words of Winston Churchill, the Special Operations Executive (SOE) was forced to do something unprecedented: recruit women as spies. Thirty-nine answered the call, leaving their lives and families to become saboteurs in France. In D-Day Girls, Sarah Rose draws on recently de­classified files, diaries, and oral histories to tell the thrilling story of three of these remarkable women. There’s Andrée Borrel, a scrappy and streetwise Parisian who blew up power lines with the Gestapo hot on her heels; Odette Sansom, an unhappily married suburban mother who saw the SOE as her ticket out of domestic life and into a meaningful adventure; and Lise de Baissac, a fiercely independent member of French colonial high society and the SOE’s unflap­pable “queen.” Together, they destroyed train lines, ambushed Nazis, plotted prison breaks, and gathered crucial intelligence—laying the groundwork for the D-Day invasion that proved to be the turning point in the war. Rigorously researched and written with razor-sharp wit, D-Day Girls is an inspiring story for our own moment of resistance: a reminder of what courage—and the energy of politically animated women—can accomplish when the stakes seem incalculably high. Praise for D-Day Girls “Rigorously researched . . . [a] thriller in the form of a non-fiction book.”—Refinery29 “Gripping history . . . thoroughly researched and written as smoothly as a good thriller, this is a mesmerizing story of creativity, perseverance, and astonishing heroism.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “The mission is this: Read D-Day Girls today. Not just for the spy flair—code names, aliases, and operating covers—but also because this history feels more relevant than ever, as an army of women and girls again find themselves in a fight for the common good.”—Lily Koppel, author of The Astronaut Wives Club

Sabotaged and Defeated

A Final Glimpse

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jeffery Grayer

Publisher: Noodle Books

ISBN: 9781906419905

Category: Railroads

Page: 128

View: 7742

This volume captures the demise of the much loved Somerset and Dorset railway line. It's not just filled with train views, but scenes of the railway in the months just prior to and then subsequent to its closure in 1966.

The Missing Collection

Found; Sent; Sabotaged; Torn; Caught

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix,Mike Heath

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9781442497795

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 1808

View: 8829

Plunge into the past—and change the course of history—with the first five books the New York Times bestselling The Missing series, available in one boxed set. Jonah has always known he was adopted, and he’s never thought it was a big deal. But when sinister messages start to suggest an unimaginable secret in his past, Jonah and his sister, Katherine, are swept up in an adventure greater than time itself. Because Jonah isn’t just any kid—he’s one of the famous missing children from history. And if he and his friends can’t fix the past, then the future—and the present—are in grave danger… Ideal for newcomers to the series and loyal fans alike, this collection of the first five books in The Missing series includes Found, Sent, Sabotaged, Torn, and Caught.

Sabotage

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Don Pendleton

Publisher: Gold Eagle

ISBN: 1426852487

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 6636

A rash of killings among returning American soldiers puts Mack Bolan on the front line of a conspiracy to destabilize the U.S. military at home and abroad. His Russian-born, American-made enemy has infiltrated and co-opted the country's largest radical peace organization, spurring waves of antiwar protests and turning members into mercenaries willing to use violence against veterans of the Middle East conflicts. Media mogul Yuri Trofimov has the power and influence to deliver a propaganda campaign via television straight into America's living room—and enough money to buy hired guns and the cooperation of a corrupt congressman. Despite the sensitive nature of the crisis and the determination of the U.S. government to stop the atrocities, Bolan's doing what a dedicated warrior does best: search and destroy.

The Self-sabotage Cycle

Why We Repeat Behaviors that Create Hardships and Ruin Relationships

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stanley Rosner,Patricia Hermes

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780275990039

Category: Psychology

Page: 178

View: 3195

Shows, via case studies from a veteran psychologist, how early life experiences can be a trigger the development of adult repetitive, self-defeating behaviors, including being attracted to the same kind of hurtful mate or relationship again and again.

Sabotage in the Arctic

Fate of the Submarine Nautilus

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stewart B. Nelson

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 146533209X

Category: Science

Page: 242

View: 7565

The story of Australian-born Sir Hubert Wilkins and the Nautilus is usually a brief footnote, if mentioned at all, of Arctic exploration history. However, it is a tale of daring enterprise and of men captivated by the pursuit of noble deeds. Having leased and extensively modified a decommissioned vintage World War I U.S. Navy submarine, the Wilkins-Ellsworth Trans Arctic Submarine Expedition of 1931 was marked by controversy from its inception. Many considered it a huge publicity stunt, especially the planned rendezvous at the North Pole with the German airship Graf Zeppelin. The Nautilus did make it into the Arctic but suspected sabotage ended Sir Huberts quest to be the first to use a submarine to cross the Arctic Ocean by way of the North Pole. An oceanographer, historian and author, Dr. Nelson is a Fellow of the Marine Technology Society, a member of the Explorers Club and the former president of the American Oceanic Organization.