Picturing Prince

An Intimate Portrait

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steve Parke

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844039625

Category: Music

Page: 224

View: 8821

PICTURING PRINCE sees the late icon's former art director, STEVE PARKE, revealing stunning intimate photographs of the singer from his time working at Paisley Park. At least half of the images in the book are exclusively published here for the first time; most other images in the book are rare to the public eye. Alongside these remarkable images are fifty engaging, poignant and often funny written vignettes by Parke, which reveal the very human man behind the reclusive superstar: from shooting hoops to renting out movie theatres at 4am; from midnight requests for camels to meaningful conversations that shed light on Prince as a man and artist. STEVE PARKE started working with Prince in 1988, after a mutual friend showed Prince some of Steve's photorealistic paintings. He designed everything from album covers and merchandise to sets for Prince's tours and videos. Somewhere in all of this, he became Paisley Park's official art director. He began photographing Prince at the request of the star himself, and continued to do so for the next several years. The images in this book are the arresting result of this collaboration.

Red Quarter Moon

A Search for Family in the Shadow of Stalin

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anne Konrad,Hiroaki Kuromiya

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 1442611391

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 356

View: 9340

`A compelling and highly personal narrative, Red' Quarter Moon adds much to our knowledge on the lives of the individuals and families who survived the Stalin era, yet lived behind the Iron Curtain for so many years.' Marlene Epp, Conrad Grebel University College, University of Waterloo This is a gripping story of individuals caught in an inhuman world ... With admirable persistence, Anne Konrad has managed to trace the lives of most of her relatives affected by these tragic times. She has scanned archives and collected testimonies in several continents, ranging from Canada to Ukraine, to Siberia, to Paraguay. Konrad offers a unique perspective on the personal costs of religion in Russia. From the foreword by Hiroaki Kuromiya

The Priest's Tale

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: S.J.A. Turney

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 191159172X

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 7592

Blood and adventure on the Mediterranean battlefield. Crete, 1492: After a sojourn on a Venetian-controlled island, Skiouros has learned everything he needs to know for his true quest: destroying the person responsible for his brother’s death. Meanwhile, across the Mediterranean, a small fleet of Turkish galleys is engaged in a desperate last attempt to save Islamic influence on the Iberian Peninsula. While the great naval commander Kemal Reis battles to survive, his subordinate yearns to murder every hint of Christian life. When Skiouros’ ship crosses paths with the violent would-be pirate, things turn sour. Tested to the limits of his endurance, with his life at stake, Skiouros must confront unpleasant truths about his past... A riveting historical adventure, perfect for fans of Griff Hosker, Ben Kane and Christian Cameron.

Иконы Твери, Новгорода, Пскова XV-XVI вв

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Лилия Михайловна Евсеева,T︠S︡entralʹnyĭ muzeĭ drevnerusskoĭ kulʹtury i iskusstva imeni Andrei︠a︡ Rubleva,V. M. Sorokatyĭ

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Christian art and symbolism

Page: 288

View: 2818

Japan inside out

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jay Gluck,Sumi Gluck,Garet Gluck

Publisher: Weatherhill

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 1315

View: 7452

A Hidden Magic

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Vivian Vande Velde,Trina Schart Hyman

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780517568750

Category: Fiction

Page: 128

View: 5483

Lost in a magic forest and separated from her prince, Princess Jennifer seeks help from a kindly young sorcerer in battling an evil witch.

Bird's Eye View

Dancing with Martha Graham and on Broadway

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dorothy Bird,Joyce Greenberg

Publisher: Pittsburgh, Pa. : University of Pittsburgh Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 261

View: 2926

The author shares her impressions of the development of modern dance and describes what it was like to work with Balanchine, de Mille, and other choreographers

Picturing Experience in the Early Printed Book

Breydenbach’s Peregrinatio from Venice to Jerusalem

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Elizabeth Ross

Publisher: Penn State Press

ISBN: 0271064943

Category: Religion

Page: 256

View: 7888

Bernhard von Breydenbach’s Peregrinatio in terram sanctam (Journey to the Holy Land), first published in 1486, is one of the seminal books of early printing and is especially renowned for the originality of its woodcuts. In Picturing Experience in the Early Printed Book, Elizabeth Ross considers the Peregrinatio from a variety of perspectives to explain its value for the cultural history of the period. Breydenbach, a high-ranking cleric in Mainz, recruited the painter Erhard Reuwich of Utrecht for a religious and artistic adventure in a political hot spot—a pilgrimage to research the peoples, places, plants, and animals of the Levant. The book they published after their return ambitiously engaged with the potential of the new print medium to give an account of their experience. The Peregrinatio also aspired to rouse readers to a new crusade against Islam by depicting a contest in the Mediterranean between the Christian bastion of the city of Venice and the region’s Muslim empires. This crusading rhetoric fit neatly with the state of the printing industry in Mainz, which largely subsisted as a tool for bishops’ consolidation of authority, including selling the pope’s plans to combat the Ottoman Empire. Taking an artist on such an enterprise was unprecedented. Reuwich set a new benchmark for technical achievement with his woodcuts, notably a panorama of Venice that folds out to 1.62 meters in length and a foldout map that stretches from Damascus to Sudan around the first topographically accurate view of Jerusalem. The conception and execution of the Peregrinatio show how and why early printed books constructed new means of visual representation from existing ones—and how the form of a printed book emerged out of the interaction of eyewitness experience and medieval scholarship, real travel and spiritual pilgrimage, curiosity and fixed belief, texts and images.