Naïve. Super

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erlend Loe

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 1847677126

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 7925

Troubled by an inability to find any meaning in his life, the 25-year-old narrator of this deceptively simple novel quits university and eventually arrives at his brother's New York apartment. In a bid to discover what life is all about, he writes lists. He becomes obsessed by time and whether it actually matters. He faxes his meteorologist friend. He endlessly bounces a ball against the wall. He befriends a small boy who lives next door. He yearns to get to the bottom of life and how best to live it. Funny, friendly, enigmatic and frequently poignant - superbly naive.

The Bloomsbury Companion to Cognitive Linguistics

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jeannette Littlemore,John R. Taylor

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1441152911

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 416

View: 9745

The Bloomsbury Companion to Cognitive Linguistics is a comprehensive and accessible reference resource to research in contemporary cognitive linguistics. Written by leading figures in the field, the volume provides readers with an authoritative overview of methods and current research topics and future directions. The volume covers all the most important issues, concepts, movements and approaches in the field. It devotes space to looking specifically at the major figures and their contributions. It is a complete resource for postgraduate students and researchers working within cognitive linguistics, psycholinguistics and those interested more generally in language and cognition.

The 300 Phillipisms

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gene Phillips

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 1642982474

Category: Humor

Page: 52

View: 7656

This book is my take on the human scene through commentaries, short to long, humorous to poignant. The prince and the pauper, political correctness, and non-political correctness are grist for my mill. No one and nothing is spared my alleged wit and pseudo-wisdom. Now, sit down, buckle up, and be prepared to get blasted with both barrels.

Sincerity after Communism

A Cultural History

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ellen Rutten

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300224834

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 5215

A compelling study of new sincerity as a powerful cultural practice, born in perestroika-era Russia, and how it interconnects with global social and media flows The global cultural practice of a new sincerity in literature, media, art, design, fashion, film, and architecture grew steadily in the wake of the Soviet collapse. Cultural historian Ellen Rutten traces the rise and proliferation of a new rhetoric of sincere social expression characterized by complex blends of unabashed honesty, playfulness, and irony. Insightful and thought provoking, Rutten s masterful study of a sweeping cultural trend with roots in late Soviet Russia addresses postsocialist, postmodern, and postdigital questions of selfhood. The author explores how and why a uniquely Russian artistic and social philosophy was shaped by cultural memory, commodification, and mediatization, and how, under Putin, new sincerity talk merges with transnational pleas to revive sincerity. This essential study stands squarely at the intersection of the history of emotions, media studies, and post-Soviet studies to shed light on a new cultural reality one that is profoundly affecting creative thought, artistic expression, and lifestyle virtually everywhere.

Love, Unscripted

The romantic comedy of the summer!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Owen Nicholls

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 147226312X

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4060

'Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magic - Love, Unscripted is one of those books' Josie Silver 'A complete delight' Holly Bourne Love, Unscripted follows film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the big screen and love in real life. Owen Nicholls is perfect for fans of romcoms, David Nicholls and Nick Hornby. For film projectionist Nick, love should mirror what he sees on the big screen. And when he falls for Ellie on the eve of the 2008 presidential election, it finally does. For four blissful years, Nick loved Ellie as much as he loved his job splicing film reels together in the local cinema. Life seemed... picture-perfect. But now it's 2012, Ellie has moved out and Nick's trying to figure out where it all went wrong. With Ellie gone and his life far from the happy ending he imagined, Nick wonders if their romance could ever again be as perfect as the night they met. Can love really be as it is in the movies? Readers love Owen Nicholls . . . 'An unmissable, multi-layered read' Woman & Home 'A fun, entertaining story with bags of heart - the book equivalent of a classic rom-com' CultureFly 'A nostalgic read for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls . . . [a] smart funny novel' Heat 'A refreshing take on the typical boy-meets-girl romance . . . an unmissable read' Woman's Weekly 'Cute romcom full of cinematic references' The Sun (Fabulous Magazine) 'A gorgeous romcom filled with movie references and Obama-era nostalgia' Kate Davies, author of In At The Deep End 'An astutely observed romantic comedy that had me shaking with laughter and sniffing away tears. Pure pleasure.' Empire Magazine 'Smartly observed romcom . . . bursting with some very cute cultural references' Sunday Mirror 'The perfect read for film enthusiasts' Woman Magazine 'Charming read' Woman's Way 'This is one of the best books I have ever read. If When Harry Met Sally and High Fidelity had a book baby, this would be it' Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us 'High Fidelity for the multiplex generation. Owen Nicholls makes it look easy but it's a smart and funny book, laced with wisdom. A lovely, warm, engaging read.' Richard Lumsden, author of The Six Loves of Billy Binns 'A properly funny, clever, bittersweet romcom' Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For 'One of the most realistic love stories I have read' Michelle Elman, author of Am I Ugly?

Dicing with Death

Chance, Risk and Health

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stephen Senn

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521540230

Category: Mathematics

Page: 251

View: 8786

Explanation of the whys and hows of statistical reasoning in medicine and health.

The American Journal of Theology

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: University of Chicago. Divinity School

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Periodicals

Page: N.A

View: 7746

Vols. 2-6 include "Theological and Semitic literature for 1898-1901, a bibliographical supplement to the American journal of theology and the American journal of Semitic languages and literatures. By W. Muss-Arnolt." (Separately paged)

The Humans

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Matt Haig

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 0857868772

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3552

THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE HOME. OR IS THERE? After an 'incident' one wet Friday night where Professor Andrew Martin is found walking naked through the streets of Cambridge, he is not feeling quite himself. Food sickens him. Clothes confound him. Even his loving wife and teenage son are repulsive to him. He feels lost amongst a crazy alien species and hates everyone on the planet. Everyone, that is, except Newton, and he's a dog. What could possibly make someone change their mind about the human race. . . ?