Mad About Space

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241393108

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 2122

Are you mad about space? From astronauts and asteroids to rockets and robots, this book is packed with fascinating facts and key information for all young space enthusiasts. Ladybird's Mad About series is all about giving its readers all the facts they could possibly need about their favourite subjects. Get ready to impress all your friends with all your new knowledge!

Mad Scientist Academy: The Space Disaster

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Matthew McElligott

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0553523848

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 5161

Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, will want to join Dr. Cosmic’s class of clever monsters as they tackle gravity, comets, and many moons in the third book of the Mad Scientist Academy series. When Dr. Cosmic’s class meets Commander Nova, the school astronomer, they know their next lesson will be out of this world! With the help of Dr. Cosmic’s latest invention—a planetarium—the class must complete four challenges. Each time the planetarium shifts and the atmosphere changes, the students find themselves floating from planet to planet. They put their new magnetic antigravity belts and trusted handbooks to the test to figure out where in the solar system Dr. Cosmic’s invention has “sent” them—and how to land safely back on Earth. "Young readers can only hope for this much excitement on their real field trips." —Kirkus Reviews "[A] space adventure that young readers will pore over, learn from, and enjoy." —School Library Journal

Foucault and Latin America

Appropriations and Deployments of Discursive Analysis

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Benigno Trigo

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135774390

Category: Philosophy

Page: 288

View: 2099

Foucault and Latin America is the first volume to trace the influence of Foucault's theories on power, discourse, government, subjectivity and sexuality in Latin American thought.

People in Space

Policy Perspectives for a "Star Wars" Century

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Everett Katz

Publisher: Transaction Publishers

ISBN: 9781412830645

Category: Political Science

Page: 222

View: 1555

U.S. military strategy, particularly the "Star Wars" scenarios, has generated renewed interest in outer space. The implications for the security of nations on Earth and other emerging space policy problems are examined in this volume. People in Space is organized into three sections following an overview by Katz: military activities in space, civilian activities in space, and space as a sociological phenomenon. The authors treat the human uses of outer space as endeavors wherein ordinary policy and sociological processes take place. They offer perspectives on how space policy ought to be and is being formed. Space policy is a new, often emotionally charged field, laden with conflicting ideas, values, and worldviews.

Mad Matters

A Critical Reader in Canadian Mad Studies

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Brenda A. LeFrançois,Robert Menzies,Geoffrey Reaume

Publisher: Canadian Scholars’ Press

ISBN: 1551305348

Category: Mental illness

Page: 394

View: 1048

In 1981, Toronto activist Mel Starkman wrote: "An important new movement is sweeping through the western world.... The 'mad,' the oppressed, the ex-inmates of society's asylums are coming together and speaking for themselves." Mad Matters is the first Canadian book to bring together the writings of this vital movement, which has grown explosively in the years since. With contributions from scholars in numerous disciplines, as well as activists and psychiatric survivors, it presents diverse critical voices that convey the lived experiences of the psychiatrized and challenges dominant understandings of "mental illness." The connections between mad activism and other liberation struggles are stressed throughout, making the book a major contribution to the literature on human rights and anti-oppression.

Mad Like Tesla

Underdog Inventors and Their Relentless Pursuit of Clean Energy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tyler J. Hamilton

Publisher: ECW Press

ISBN: 1770410082

Category: Science

Page: 251

View: 4334

Nikola Tesla was the father of the modern electricity system. A man ahead of his time, he was mocked by a scientific community often unable to comprehend the significance of his innovations or the purpose behind his controversial experiments. Tesla, who predicted the threat now known as global warming more than 100 years ago, was labelled a mad scientist in his later years and died a failed businessman. Mad Like Tesla explores some of the latest and most 'out there' energy innovations and the entrepreneurs and academics behind them.

American Space Law

International and Domestic

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nathan C. Goldman

Publisher: American Astronautical Society

ISBN: N.A

Category: Space industrialization

Page: 488

View: 4574

Dont Get Mad Get Wise: Why No One Ever M

Why no one ever makes you angry!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mike George

Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

ISBN: 1846946859

Category: Self-Help

Page: 160

View: 5078

Analyzes the illusions we have created for ourselves that justify our anger. We can draw on our own inner resources to heal its scars and focus on forgiveness for ourselves and others.

Ed Wood, Mad Genius

A Critical Study of the Films

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rob Craig

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786454237

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 314

View: 5898

Filmmaker Ed Wood was controversial and critically maligned, even labeled “the worst director of all time,” yet he achieved cult status and remains of great interest today. This book frames Wood’s work, such as the cross-dressing themed Glen or Glenda? and the haphazard Bride of the Monster, as reflections of the culture of their era. Wood invariably worked with infinitesimal budgets, shooting at breakneck speed, incorporating plot twists that defied all logic. Yet there was a tangible if unfocused thematic thrust to Wood’s films, which meditate fitfully on gender, religion and society, revealing a “holy trinity” of fixations—sex, death and resurrection. Wood’s infamous Plan 9 From Outer Space encapsulates the fixations and flaws that were his hallmarks, and with 22 other films, is explored here. A filmography and 47 photographs are included.