Luna

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sharon Butala

Publisher: Singapore Books

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9192

Luna is bestselling author Sharon Butala's second brilliant novel in her loosely linked trilogy that begins with The Gates of the Sun, and ends with The Fourth Archangel. Selling out its first printing within months when it was first re-issued in 1994, this is a classic Sharon Butala novel. Luna is the story of three prairie women at the crossroads of their lives. Rhea, still strong and proud at 80, contemplates her death, and her pioneer life, the years of loneliness she endured, tears seeping from her body while she kneaded her loaves of bread. Selena, Rhea's niece, struggling to come to terms with her teenaged daughter's pregnancy, wonders if her way of life is changing forever. And Diane, Selena's sister, until now a woman cloaked in the busy fabric of farming life suppers, chores and gardening, leaves for the city on a search for freedom, for identity and for self. Each of them is inexorably a part of the vast prairie landscape, its seemingly...

The Luna Papers, 1559–1561

Volumes 1 & 2

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Herbert Ingram Priestley

Publisher: University of Alabama Press

ISBN: 0817356061

Category: History

Page: 643

View: 5587

This is a work that should be read carefully by students of Spanish colonization. Seldom in recent years has a work of primary sources been as important as this been given to the public.

Luna Moths

Masters of Change

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sandra Markle

Publisher: Lerner Publications

ISBN: 0761340084

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 5967

A look at what makes lunamoths similar to and different from other insects.

The Stories of Eva Luna

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Isabel Allende,Margaret Sayers Peden

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0684873591

Category: Fiction

Page: 330

View: 2479

When her lover asks her to tell him a story, Eva Luna complies with this collection of tales.

Luna

New Moon

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ian McDonald

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1473202256

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 1375

Luna is a gripping thriller about five corporate families caught in a bitter battle for supremacy in the harsh environment of the moon. It's very easy to die on the moon, but with its vast mineral wealth it's also easy to make your fortune. Following the fortunes of a handful of disparate characters, from one of the lowliest workers on the moon to the heads of one of the most powerful families, LUNA provides a vast mosaic of life on this airless and terrifying new home for humanity. This is SF that will be perfect for fans of Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken Macleod alike.

Luna

The Misadventures and Misgivings of a Temperamental Curandera

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dee Dee Peachey

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781467874939

Category: Fiction

Page: 344

View: 5891

"Luna" is a fun, quirky, adventurous tale about a young Curandera, served up Tex-Mex style and spiced with Magic Realism. Set in a timeless village in Texas, Luna's birth was predicted to bring great happiness and great sadness. Born of generations of Curanderas, Luna was especially Blessed with healing gifts selected by Our Heavenly Father, God Almighty, Himself. She starts out a bit precocious and overindulged, while developing wonderous and magical powers to help her friends and neighbors. But when she decides to help herself in a foolish and selfish blasphemous act, the results are not what she expects. Luna finds out that all prayers are heard, and sooner or later, they are answered. In the end, Luna discovers the meaning of true love, and that a Curandera has no place in the modern world. But not before run-ins with her family, friends, neighbors, untamed horses, a chupacabra, vengeful fires, ghosts, an unlikely angel, famous handmade chocolates, a horde of winged demons, and a statue of the Virgin of Guadalupe with a blurred photo stuffed inside.

Luna

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Julie Anne Peters

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316039896

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 256

View: 7606

A groundbreaking novel about a transgender teen, selected as a National Book Award Finalist! Regan's brother Liam can't stand the person he is during the day. Like the moon from whom Liam has chosen his female name, his true self, Luna, only reveals herself at night. In the secrecy of his basement bedroom Liam transforms himself into the beautiful girl he longs to be, with help from his sister's clothes and makeup. Now, everything is about to change: Luna is preparing to emerge from her cocoon. But are Liam's family and friends ready to welcome Luna into their lives? Compelling and provocative, this is an unforgettable novel about a transgender teen's struggle for self-identity and acceptance.

Luna Benamor

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Vicente Blasco Ibáñez

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN: 1465534369

Category: Short stories, Spanish

Page: 209

View: 6450