Island in the East

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jenny Ashcroft

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751565075

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 4903

***THE EBOOK BESTSELLER*** 'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped' Dinah Jefferies 'Island in the East is a stunner' Kate Furnivall 'Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read' Gill Paul 'A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric' Rachel Rhys ************** Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything Singapore, 1897 Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair. They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences. 1941 Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . . Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful - with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama - Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best. Perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees. More praise for Jenny Ashcroft: 'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees 'It's impossible to put this book down.' Kate Riordan 'A great read.' Judith Lennox 'A summer must-read' Red 'Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale' My Weekly 'Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.' Nicola Cornick 'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher 'Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous 'Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.' Nikola Scott 'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan 'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey 'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

A Voyage to and from the Island of Borneo, in the East-Indies

With a Description of the Said Island : Giving an Account of the Inhabitants, Their Manners, Customs, Religion, Product, Chief Ports, and Trade : Together with the Re-establishment of the English Trade There, An. 1714, After Our Factory Had Been Destroyed by the Banjareens Some Years Before ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Daniel Beeckman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bali Island (Indonesia)

Page: 205

View: 4000

A New Gazetteer of the Eastern Continent

Or, A Geographical Dictionary: Containing, in Alphabetical Order, a Description of All the Countries, Kingdoms, States, Cities, Towns, Principal Rivers, Lakes, Harbors, Mountains, &c., &c. in Europe, Asia, and Africa, with Their Adjacent Islands

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jedidiah Morse,Elijah Parish

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Africa

Page: 726

View: 3368

A Dutch Castaway on Ascension Island in 1725

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alex Ritsema

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1411698320

Category: Travel

Page: 145

View: 2098

On 5 May 1725 a Dutch ship's officer, Leendert Hasenbosch, was set ashore on the desert island of Ascension in the South Atlantic Ocean, as a punishment for sodomy. He tried to survive on turtles and birds but found very little water on the barren island. He wrote a diary. He probably died after about half a year. In January 1726 British mariners found his tent, diary and other things and brought the diary to England. In 1728 a first English version of the diary of the Dutch castaway was published. Other versions followed. Who was the castaway? The truth was disclosed by the Dutch historian Michiel Koolbergen (1953-2002), in a posthumously published book in Dutch. With the support of Michiel Koolbergen's family and publisher, this new book discloses the truth in English. This book is illustrated with line drawings, both historic ones and by the Dutch artist Anneke de Vries.

Crossing Over Cyprus

Studies on the Divided Island in the Eastern Mediterranean

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Yiorghos Leventis,Nanako Murata Sawayanagi,間寧

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Cyprus

Page: 98

View: 3842

Voyage of HMS Blonde to the Sandwich Islands, in the Years 1824-1825

Captain the Right Hon. Lord Byron, Commander

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Maria Callcott

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1108062113

Category: History

Page: 306

View: 4343

George Anson Byron (1789–1868), cousin of the famous poet, was a naval officer and the seventh Baron Byron. When the king and queen of Hawaii died of measles in July 1824 on a visit to England, Byron was chosen to lead the voyage that returned the bodies to their native land. Prepared by Maria Graham (1785–1842), known later as Lady Callcott, this work was published in 1826 and organised into two parts: the first gives a brief history of the islands, culminating in an account of the fatal visit; the second and larger part is compiled from the journals of those on board HMS Blonde. Engravings made from the drawings of the ship's artist, Robert Dampier, complement observations about the geography of Hawaii, its people and their customs. The remarkable journey home involved the first European sighting of Malden Island and the rescue of survivors from a shipwreck.