Hallam Square

Book Four in the brilliantly entertaining and heartwarming Gibson Family Saga

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anna Jacobs

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444714430

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 1475

**Book four in the heart-melting Gibson Family series, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Catherine Cookson and 'Call the Midwife'** Lancashire, 1858. Annie Hallam has at last found complete happiness. She has three healthy babies and adores her husband Frederick. After years of struggling to make a living in the small town of Bilsden, Annie knows she deserves to sit back and enjoy her life - after all, she's not yet forty, and still in her prime. But worries are on the horizon. Frederick has been looking rather pale lately. Her brother Tom hasn't moved on after the death of his wife. Rebecca, her half-sister, is longing for something more than her work in the salon. And William, her son, isn't happy at university. And something much more dangerous is looming - a threat not only to Annie's peace of mind, but to her life . . . ***************** Praise for Anna Jacobs: 'Catherine Cookson fans will cheer!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph 'Anna Jacobs' books have an impressive grasp of human emotions' - Sunday Times 'Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around' - Historical Novels Reviews

Spinners Lake

Book Five in the stunningly heartwarming Gibson Family Saga

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anna Jacobs

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444714449

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 5240

**The final installment in the beautifully heartwarming Gibson Family series, perfect for fans of 'Call the Midwife', Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson** Lancashire, 1860. In the mill town of Bilsden, Annie Hallam's husband Frederick is dying. On top of that, a spurned suitor of her sister Joanie is determined to have her, whatever the cost. And he is not the only one who wants to harm the Gibson family. Meanwhile, times are hard in Bilsden and unemployment is rife. Annie has to rebuild her life after the worst happens and plans to create Spinners Lake, an extraordinary project that will keep her workers from destitution and assuage her own grief. And then a ghost from her past returns from the American Civil War . . . Can the secret plans that Frederick made for Annie on his deathbed bring her hope and happiness once again? ************** Praise for Anna Jacobs: 'Catherine Cookson fans will cheer!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph 'Anna Jacobs' books have an impressive grasp of human emotions' - Sunday Times 'Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around' - Historical Novels Reviews

Sheffield

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ruth Harman,John Minnis

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300105858

Category: Architecture

Page: 324

View: 758

Sheffield has been synonymous with steelmaking since the eighteenth century and with cutlery for centuries before that. But while it has an extraordinary variety of industrial buildings connected to its metal trades, there is another side to what is England's least known big city. Set amidst magnificent scenery, it has some surprising survivals of its earlier history, as well as handsome public, commercial and religious buildings designed by its Victorian local architects. The leafy western suburbs that rise towards the Peak District were described by Sir John Betjeman as the finest in England. The 1950s and 60s saw the city famed for its innovative public housing, university buildings and churches. After the decline of its manufacturing sector in the 1980s, major new venues for sport and entertainment, the prize-winning Peace Gardens and exciting new buildings such as the Millennium Galleries, Winter Garden and Persistence Works are visible signs of a renaissance in the city's fortunes. This is the first comprehensive architectural guide to Sheffield. It describes the buildings of the city centre and those of the inner suburbs within a two mile radius of it. It also covers the lower Don valley, still the heart of Sheffield's steel industry, the outer suburbs to the west where those who made their fortunes from it lived in splendour and there are excursions to some outstanding buildings on the outskirts. Major buildings including the Town Hall, the two Cathedrals and the Winter Garden are given more detailed treatment, as are the two Universities. The central areas are the subject of walks, those further out have suggested tours by car. Illustrated throughout in colour with specially commissioned photographs and with these images augmented by historic maps, paintings and drawings, Sheffield will enable residents to look at familiar buildings in a fresh light and encourage visitors to discover for themselves the city's enticing contrasts of industrial heritage and natural beauty.

Spaced Out

A Comprehensive Guide to Award Winning Spaces in the UK

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nicola Garmory,Rachel Tennant

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0750661429

Category: Architecture

Page: 127

View: 4372

This beautifully illustrated guide celebrates some of the most significant award winning public spaces in major cities in the UK and Ireland over the last ten years. Dealing with a range of contemporary and innovating designed landscapes from urban spaces to public parks, this book focuses on those that have been awarded the highest design accolade from the Royal Institute of British Architects, The Royal Town and Planning Institute, The Landscape Institute and The Civic Trust. Focusing on designs in ten major cities, and providing a snappy synopsis of each of the spaces in terms of its design statement, function, location, design team and award commentary, It illustrates to the reader what makes 'good design' in the public realm, providing both information and inspiration. * Beautifully illustrated guide to award winning contemporary urban spaces in the UK and Ireland * Covers a diverse selection of spaces from parks to water fronts to city spaces * Provides a synopsis for each design including comments from each of the judging panels involved

Threepenny Dreams

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anna Jacobs

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444714368

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 7863

Sometimes the worst has to happen . . . Recently widowed, Hannah Firth is still young - young enough to dream of a new life. When her spiteful daughter-in-law uses her as an unpaid servant, Hannah tries to leave, but she is unaware of the depths that Patty's spite will lead her to. Nathaniel King's life is ruined when his landlord's son lays waste to his market garden for a prank - and the resulting feud puts Nathaniel's livelihood at stake. Hannah has only a few coins and dreams of a happier future to sustain her as she tramps the roads and evades pursuit. When she meets Nathaniel, the attraction between them cannot be denied and they join forces. But their enemies have money and powerful allies on their side and will stop at nothing to get rid of them . . . ********************** What readers are saying about THREEPENNY DREAMS 'Such a lovely book, with characters you felt you knew . . . I was sorry to finish it' - 5 stars 'Could not put this book down. I love the way Anna Jacobs makes you feel as though you know all the people and she is a great storyteller' - 5 stars 'Anna Jacobs has done it again!!!' - 5 stars

Twopenny Rainbows

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anna Jacobs

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 144471435X

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 3743

Three sisters. Three journeys. One destination. In 1863 the authorities send Irish orphans Ismay and Mara to Australia against their will. Just when they think it can't get any worse, on arrival they're separated from one another. While Ismay is forced to take a job as a maid miles away in the country, Mara must stay in the care of the catholic mission. Desperate to be reunited, they both run away but Ismay soon runs into danger out in the bush. She is saved by Malachi Firth, but although he's attracted to her, he doesn't want to be encumbered with a wife. Meanwhile, their elder sister Keara has not forgotten them. But she has had her own struggles to face and by the time she reaches Melbourne in search of her sisters, she finds that the trail is cold. Danger continues to threaten all three girls and they start to wonder: will they ever see one another again? ******************** What readers are saying about TWOPENNY RAINBOWS 'This is one of the best books I have ever read' - 5 stars 'Once again I couldn't put it down . . . An excellent read' - 5 stars 'Another fantastic book' - 5 stars

Sustainable Development of Urban Environment and Building Material

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hui Li,Yan Feng Liu,Ming Guo,Rui Zhang,Jing Du

Publisher: Trans Tech Publications Ltd

ISBN: 3038137553

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 2840

View: 2361

Volume is indexed by Thomson Reuters CPCI-S (WoS). These peer-reviewed papers record the invaluable researches of the authors in the fields of innovation in structural system and disaster prevention in engineering structures, architectural innovation, sustainable development of buildings and the environment and innovations in, and applications of, building materials. Hot topics and state-of-the-art view related to sustainable development in civil engineering are presented.