Emerald Labyrinth

A Scientist's Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Eli Greenbaum

Publisher: University Press of New England

ISBN: 1512601209

Category: Nature

Page: 336

View: 8413

Emerald Labyrinth is a scientist and adventurer's chronicle of years exploring the rainforests of sub-Saharan Africa. The richly varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo offer a wealth of animal, plant, chemical, and medical discoveries. But the country also has a deeply troubled colonial past and a complicated political present. Author Eli Greenbaum is a leading expert in sub-Saharan herpetology - snakes, lizards, and frogs - who brings a sense of wonder to the question of how science works in the twenty-first century. Along the way he comes face to face with spitting cobras, silverback mountain gorillas, wild elephants, and the teenaged armies of AK-47-toting fighters engaged in the continent's longest-running war. As a bellwether of the climate and biodiversity crises now facing the planet, the Congo holds the key to our planet's future. Writing in the tradition of books like The Lost City of Z, Greenbaum seeks out the creatures struggling to survive in a war-torn, environmentally threatened country. Emerald Labyrinth is an extraordinary book about the enormous challenges and hard-won satisfactions of doing science in one of the least known, least hospitable places on earth.

Democratic Republic of the Congo

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Debbie Nevins,Jay Heale

Publisher: Cavendish Square Publishing, LLC

ISBN: 1502636395

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 144

View: 2929

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is the largest and most populous country in Central Africa. Its history has been marred by almost continuous war, and the Congolese people have long suffered through political tumult. Largely covered in dense rain forests, the country, also known as Congo-Kinshasa, is traversed by the Congo River, a lifeline that transports Congolese merchants with barges filled with fruit, grains, and bushmeat to local villages. Allow your readers to explore the vibrant culture and lush landscape of the Democratic Republic of the Congo in this book, which features informative sidebars and engaging color photographs.