Death of a Stranger

A William Monk Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anne Perry

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0345514165

Category: Fiction

Page: 334

View: 2129

The tragic death of a railway magnate in a sleazy brothel has shocked high society. Meanwhile, private investigator William Monk acquires a mysterious new client who asks him to ascertain beyond the shadow of a doubt whether or not her fiancé, a railway-firm executive, has become enmeshed in fraudulent practices. And so Monk embarks upon a journey that will revive memories stripped from his consciousness by amnesia—as a past almost impossible to bear returns, eerily paralleling a fresh tragedy that has already begun its inexorable unfolding.

Death of a Stranger

2 of 4

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ahmet can

Publisher: belkicak booş

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5613

Few authors have written more mesmerizingly about Victorian London than Anne Perry. Readers enter her world with exquisite anticipation, and experience a rich variety of characters and class: aristocrats living in luxury, flower sellers on street corners, ladies of the evening seeking customers on gaslit streets, gentlemen in hansom cabs en route to erotic diversions unknown in their Mayfair mansions. Now Perry gives her myriad fans the book they've been waiting forthe novel in which William Monk breaks through the wall of amnesia and discovers at last who he once was. DEATH OF A STRANGER For the prostitutes of Leather Lane, nurse Hester Monk's clinic is a lifeline, providing medicine, food, and a modicum of peaceespecially welcome since lately their ailments have escalated from bruises and fevers to broken bones and knife wounds. At the moment, however, the mysterious death of railway magnate Nolan Baltimore in a sleazy neighborhood brothel overshadows all else. Whether he fell or was pushed, the shocking question in everyone's mind is: What was such a pillar of respectability doing in a seedy place of sin? Meanwhile, brilliant private investigator William Monk acquires a new client, a mysterious beauty who asks him to ascertain beyond a shadow of a doubt whether or not her fiance, an executive in Nolan Baltimore's thriving railway firm, has become enmeshed in fraudulent practices that could ruin him. As Hester ventures into violent streets to learn who is responsible for the brutal abuse of her patients, Monk embarks upon a journey into the English countryside, where the last rails are being laid for a new line. But the sight of tracks stretching into the distance revives memories once stripped from his consciousness by amnesiaas a past almost impossible to bear returns, eerily paralleling a fresh tragedy that has already begun its inexorable unfolding.

Death of a Stranger

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Eileen Dewhurst

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447256980

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 5911

Even before Tim Le Page and his new wife, Anna, can leave for their honeymoon, he is called back to investigate an attempted murder. But this is no ordinary case, the victim is Tim’s mother. Drifting from one lover to another, Lorna has never been the maternal type and, as a result, she has made more than her fair share of enemies. In particular, Tim can’t help feeling that Simon, the latest escort to materialise at Lorna’s side, is too young even for his glamorous mother. But if Simon isn’t interested in Lorna, then what is he doing in Guernsey? With professional detachment hampered by family loyalty, Le Page knows he must solve this case, and soon – his mother’s life may depend on it.

Death of a Stranger (William Monk Mystery, Book 13)

A dark journey into the seedy underbelly of Victorian society

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anne Perry

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075538315X

Category: Fiction

Page: 274

View: 4893

William and Hester become wrapped up in two separate cases - but are they as unconnected as they first seem? Staggering revelations and a shocking murder propel the Monks into fresh dangers in Anne Perry's gripping mystery Death of a Stranger. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle. 'Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood' - San Francisco Chronicle Hester Monk's voluntary work in Coldbath Square is increasingly demanding. Every night she tends to a stream of women of the streets who have been injured or become ill as a result of their trade. But the injuries are becoming more serious, and now a body has been discovered in one of the area's brothels. The dead man is none other than the wealthy and respectable Nolan Baltimore, head of Baltimore and Sons, a successful railway company. With calls for the police to clean up the streets, Hester decides she must intervene to protect these women who stand to lose everything. Meanwhile her husband, William Monk, has been approached by Katrina Harcus, who suspects that the company her fiancé works for may be guilty of fraud. That company is Baltimore and Sons. As Monk endeavours to prevent a serious crime, possibly even a tragedy, taking place, he faces some staggering revelations. And with the link between the two cases becoming ever clearer, Monk finds that the time has come to confront his own demons - even if it means losing all that he now holds dear... What readers are saying about Death of a Stranger: 'Anne Perry's 13th addition to the Monk series is fast paced, exciting and as dark as you'd expect' 'I cannot fault this latest offering from the "Queen of Crime"... I literally couldn't put it down!' 'A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London'

Less of a Stranger

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nora Roberts

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101599839

Category: Fiction

Page: 142

View: 3002

An exhilarating story of passion’s unexpected twists and turns from #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts. Megan Miller didn’t put her own dreams on hold to run the family amusement park just to have some arrogant, sports car-driving, California businessman take it all away. Plus, Joyland Amusement Park is her grandfather’s life—and he’s all Megan has left in the world. But David “Katch” Katcherton isn’t used to taking no for an answer. And the more Megan resists him on all fronts, the more Katch wants her—but not just for fun and games… A NORA ROBERTS CLASSIC AVAILABLE DIGITALLY FOR THE FIRST TIME

A Stranger at Death

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Judy Schlitt

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595181023

Category: Drama

Page: 165

View: 7597

Jenny was declared dead from a boating accident, but is brought back to life. During the time she was "dead", she meets and talks with a stranger who last remembers working at the top of a ladder. When she recovers and relates her story, everyone tells her it was just a dream. Jenny knows differently and is determined to find this "stranger at death".

Death Is a Stranger

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: J.M. Schubert

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1479727385

Category: Fiction

Page: 131

View: 1950

Amanda Connelly is a very special woman in many ways. She is a brilliant research scientist immersed in her work until a monster with extreme powers takes control of her mind. The monster makes her watch through his eyes as he performs gruesome murders. The monster is obsessed with finding Amanda and destroying her and everyone she loves. Amanda must take the fight to him before he can kill everyone she loves and in doing so; she finds a new type of love she has never experienced, the love of a man. The monster is determined to destroy this and Amanda. Can Amanda save the love of her life, everyone else she holds dear, and herself? Find out if she is monster enough to stop this beast.