Dead as Doornails

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anthony Cronin

Publisher: Lilliput PressLtd

ISBN: 9781901866421

Category: Social Science

Page: 203

View: 8251

"Hilarious in places, the text also has a bracing inner honesty." --TLS "An impeccably well-written memoir of post-war literary Dublin, Highlighted by unforgettable tales of boozy friendship with Brendan Behan and Flann O'Brien. A true classic." --A

Dead as Doornails

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anthony Cronin

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 1843512203

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 4125

'A classic; of his mastery of language there can be no doubt'- Anthony Burgess. This paperback reissue of Dead as Doornails, first published in 1976, brings back into print a true classic of Irish memoir. Anthony Cronin's account of life in post-war literary Dublin is as funny and colourful as one would expect from an intimate of Brendan Behan, Patrick Kavanagh and Myles na Gopaleen; but it is also a clear-eyed and bracing antidote to the kitsch that passes for literary history and memory in the Dublin of today. Cronin writes with remarkable subtlety of the frustrations and pathologies of this generation: the excess of drink, the shortage of sex, the insecurity and begrudgery, the painful limitations of cultural life, and the bittersweet pull of exile. We read of a comical sojourn in France with Behan, and of Cronin's years in London as a literary editor and a friend of the writer Julian Maclaren-Ross and the painters Robert MacBryde and Robert Colquhoun. The generation chronicled by Cronin was one of wasted promise. That waste is redressed through the shimmering prose of Dead as Doornails, which has earned its place in Irish literary history alongside the best works of Behan, Kavanagh and Myles

Fear and Loathing in Fitzrovia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Paul Willetts

Publisher: Dewi Lewis Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Authors, English

Page: 392

View: 2565

Born in London in 1912, the youngest child of a Cuban father and an Anglo-Indian mother, Julian Maclaren-Ross led a bizarre and chaotic life, living at one time or another as a vacuuum-cleaner salesman, an author, screenwriter, army deserter, alcoholic, drug-addict, stalker and Soho stalwart. Since his death, his place in literary history has been secured by the acclaimed posthumous publication of Memoirs of the Forties, and he has been memorialised as X. Trapnel in Anthony Powell's celebrated A Dance to the Music of Time. This is his first full and authorised biography.

Dead As A Doornail

A True Blood Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charlaine Harris

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0575094915

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 9268

Sookie's got just a month, before the next full moon, to find out who wants her brother dead - and to stop the fiend! Sookie Stackhouse enjoys her life, mostly. She's a great cocktail waitress in a fun bar; she has a love life, albeit a bit complicated, and most people have come to terms with her telepathy. The problem is, Sookie wants a quiet life - but things just seem to happen to her and her friends. Now her brother Jason's eyes are starting to change: he's about to turn into a were-panther for the first time. She can deal with that, but her normal sisterly concern turns to cold fear when a sniper sets his deadly sights on the local changeling population. She afraid not just because Jason's at risk, but because his new were-brethren suspect Jason may be the shooter. Sookie has until the next full moon to find out who's behind the attacks - unless the killer decides to find her first. The Sookie Stackhouse books are delightful Southern Gothic supernatural mysteries, starring Sookie, the telepathic cocktail waitress, and a cast of increasingly colourful characters, including vampires, werewolves and things that really do go bump in the night.

Plague of the Living Dead

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alpheus Hyatt Verrill

Publisher: eStar Books

ISBN: 1612102433

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 6682

Dr. Farnham had thought to help the world with his invention, instead he released a plague upon it.

Dead as a Doornail

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tonya Kappes

Publisher: Kenni Lowry Mystery

ISBN: 9781635113372

Category: Fiction

Page: 242

View: 7368

Beauty is skin deep, but ugly goes clear to the bone. And doesn't our Sheriff Kenni Lowry know that? Well, she knows a lot of things. Lucy Lowell takes great pride in writing negative reviews in the local newspaper for anything that does not go her way. When Lucy is found dead, it appears to be from natural causes. But Sheriff Kenni Lowry knows there is more to it because the ghost of her grandfather, the ex-sheriff, is standing over the body. His presence can only mean one thing: Murder Since Kenni's relationship with Deputy Finn Vincent has heated up, Kenni is having trouble conducting the investigation without Finn questioning her every move. Can Kenni unravel the mystery on her own or will she have to tell Finn the real reason she knows it was murder--the ghost of her poppa? It's blowin' up a storm and only Kenni knows how it'll end. - - - - - - - - - - - - - DEAD AS A DOORNAIL by Tonya Kappes A Henery Press mystery

The Modern Literary Werewolf

A Critical Study of the Mutable Motif

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Brent A. Stypczynski

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 078646965X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 228

View: 9226

"Throughout history, from at least as far back as the Epic of Gilgamesh, mankind has shown a fascination with physical transformation. Tales of such transformations appear in every culture across the course of history. This book approaches werewolves as representations of a proposed shape-shifter archetype, examining how and why the archetype has been employed in modern literature"--Provided by publisher.

May Bird, Warrior Princess

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471104044

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 5931

At Hog Wallow Middle School, May Ellen Bird was always slightly invisible. Then she went on a long trip to the land of the dead, where ghost towns glowed blue in the dark dusk and spooky specters dwelled in cities on the Dead Sea. Back on Earth at last, May and her hairless cat, Somber Kitty, are now famous, their faces plastered across souvenirs and sportswear that read "May Bird Went to the Land of the Dead and All She Brought Me Was This Lousy T-Shirt." But, finally in the spotlight, May feels more than ever that she doesn't belong. Every night she sits by her bedroom window, gazing at the sky and dreaming of another place, wishing -- despite herself -- to be back among the ghosts. And then one night she gets her heart's desire in a way she would never have wished for. Only the Ever After isn't anything like the world May left behind three years ago. The spirits have vanished, and the towns -- once full of every manner of things that go bump in the night -- are deserted. Evil Bo Cleevil has made the Ever After as cold as his own frigid soul, and put up a bunch of tacky malls to boot. Now, with her friends missing and enemies all around her, May must find her way to the edge of the universe, where night swallows the stars, where allies are few and often have bad breath, where endings can also be beginnings, and where the truest hero lurks in the unlikeliest of souls. But Bo Cleevil's got one last trick up his sleeve -- one that no one on Earth is ready for. With the worlds of the living and the dead in the balance, will May's courage fail her one last time? Or will she finally become the warrior she was always meant to be?

Practical Text Mining with Perl

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Roger Bilisoly

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1118210506

Category: Computers

Page: 296

View: 9498

Provides readers with the methods, algorithms, and means to perform text mining tasks This book is devoted to the fundamentals of text mining using Perl, an open-source programming tool that is freely available via the Internet (www.perl.org). It covers mining ideas from several perspectives--statistics, data mining, linguistics, and information retrieval--and provides readers with the means to successfully complete text mining tasks on their own. The book begins with an introduction to regular expressions, a text pattern methodology, and quantitative text summaries, all of which are fundamental tools of analyzing text. Then, it builds upon this foundation to explore: Probability and texts, including the bag-of-words model Information retrieval techniques such as the TF-IDF similarity measure Concordance lines and corpus linguistics Multivariate techniques such as correlation, principal components analysis, and clustering Perl modules, German, and permutation tests Each chapter is devoted to a single key topic, and the author carefully and thoughtfully introduces mathematical concepts as they arise, allowing readers to learn as they go without having to refer to additional books. The inclusion of numerous exercises and worked-out examples further complements the book's student-friendly format. Practical Text Mining with Perl is ideal as a textbook for undergraduate and graduate courses in text mining and as a reference for a variety of professionals who are interested in extracting information from text documents.

The Code

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: G B Joyce

Publisher: Penguin Canada

ISBN: 0143183443

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 6065

For fans of Elmore Leonard and Robert B. Parker, meet hockey scout turned private detective Brad Shade, from “one of the best sports writers on the continent” Brad Shade has been just about everywhere hockey is played. He has ridden the buses in the minors, shared dressing rooms with the legends of the game, closed bars with guys destined for the Hall of Fame, and dropped the gloves with journeymen like himself who’ll never get near it. And even though he’s retired after fourteen years of bouncing around the league with more losses than wins and his net worth eroding, he’s still living out of a suitcase and still taking numbers. That’s his day job—scout for LA, where someone in management owes him a favour from his playing days. But when the brutally murdered body of coaching legend Red Hanratty turns up in the parking lot after an old-timers charity game (Shade goes scoreless, again), Shade’s job of scouting the local phenom starts to overlap with investigating the killing of the kid’s grizzled old coach. When the killer goes after Shade’s girlfriend, he finds out that guys don’t stay in the league because they’re good—they stick around because they’re smart enough to know what needs to get done, and just ornery enough to actually do it. From small-town rinks to the draft tables in the big league, G.B. Joyce introduces us to a character Canadians already love—the fourth-liner with a self-deprecating sense of humour and an oversized will to win—and weaves a story out of strands of resentment, greed, and fear that span generations and build to a surprising, thrilling conclusion.