Christmas with the Bomb Girls

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Daisy Styles

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 1405929812

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 7225

Christmas is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and it's going to be a year to remember . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true? A factory floor might not be their first choice of a place to spend Christmas, but pulling together and making do is exactly what the Bomb Girls are best at. Gladys, back from singing for the troops in Europe, quiet as she takes her place on the cordite line. Her old friends are determined to bring back her spark while they work hard to help their conuntry, as the threat of danger grows ever-closer. What dark secret lies in Galdys's heart? Will the grils see out another year in a country at war? And, if everyone does their bit, despite the worry, pain and toil, will the Bomb Girls be able to provide a wodnerful Christmas for all? Fans of Lesley Pearse, Maggie Hope, Dilly Court and Donna Douglas will love Daisy Styles' mesmerising novels . . . Look out for - The Bomb Girls, The Bomb Girl's Secrets and The Code Girls. 'This book brought home wonderfully vivid camaraderie wartime women shared and their immense sacrifices on the Home Front . . . Real women in the best sense - funny, scheming, loyal, witty. An absolute joy to read' Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls 'A cracking story with truly endearing characters' Annie Murray, bestselling author of Now The War is Over

The Factory Girls

The Bomb Girls 3

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rosie Archer

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1784297860

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 7425

For fans of Daisy Styles, a heart-warming wartime saga about a group of women who work in an armaments factory. No matter how hard the times, despite bombing, short rations, cruel men, unwanted pregnancy, through thick and thin friendship will pull you through. Autumn, 1944. Doodlebugs are the latest threat to war-battered southern England. At Priddy's Hard munitions factory though, Em Earle is about to suffer a threat to her livelihood from much nearer home. Local crook Samuel Golden is back and up to his old tricks, trying to find ways to exploit people's hardship for his own gain. As well as Samuel's unwanted attentions, Em has to deal with some huge revelations from within her own family. Her daughter Lizzie is pregnant, and a strange woman has turned up on Em's doorstep claiming to be her sister. Em is excited, but wary - could this woman be too good to be true? Once again it will be up to the girls from the bomb factory to rally round and support one of their own.

Bomb Girls

Trading Aprons for Ammo

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Barbara Dickson

Publisher: Dundurn

ISBN: 1459731182

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 5489

2016 Speaker's Book Award — Shortlisted 2016 Heritage Toronto Book Award — Nominated An account of the women working in high-security, dangerous conditions making bombs in Toronto during the Second World War. What was it like to work in a Canadian Second World War munitions factory? What were working conditions like? Did anyone die? Just how closely did female employees embody the image of “Rosie the Riveter” so popularly advertised to promote factory work in war propaganda posters? How closely does the recent TV show, Bomb Girls, resemble the actual historical record of the day-to-day lives of bomb-making employees? Bomb Girls delivers a dramatic, personal, and detailed review of Canada’s largest fuse-filling munitions factory, situated in Scarborough, Ontario. First-hand accounts, technical records, photographic evidence, business documentation, and site maps all come together to offer a rare, complete account into the lives of over twenty-one thousand brave men and women who risked their lives daily while handling high explosives in a dedicated effort to help win the war.

The Ranulph Fiennes Collection: Captain Scott; Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know & Mad, Dogs and Englishmen

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ranulph Fiennes

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 144477753X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 800

View: 1730

Three of Sir Ranulph Fiennes acclaimed bestsellers in one eBook collection – his epic biography of CAPTAIN SCOTT (‘Fiennes own experiences allow him to write vividly and with empathy’ Daily Mail); his enthralling autobiography, MAD, BAD AND DANGEROUS TO KNOW (‘The memoir of a supreme sportsman, an uber-earthling who could show the Martians a thing or two about what the best of us can achieve’ Financial Times); and the story of his unconventional, extraordinary family, MAD DOGS AND ENGLISHMEN (‘History at its best and most approachable’ Country Life).

Edinburgh Companion to Twentieth-Century British and American War Literature

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Piette

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748653937

Category: History

Page: 600

View: 1759

The first reference book to deal so fully and incisively with the cultural representations of war in 20th-century English and US literature and film. The volume covers the two World Wars as well as specific conflicts that generated literary and imaginativ

Thoughts of a Proud American

An Ode to Joe and Josephine Ordinary, Salt of the Earth Americans

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ercille Christmas

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781425949723

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 720

View: 1769

This book is the account of an ordinary woman trying to live life with good intentions, and translating those good intentions into action by helping others, in the aftermath of a really traumatic national event - 9/11/01. The primary focus is on Terror and its effects on a personal life, and indeed the life of the nation. Interwoven is a deep concern for fairness and justice, especially as regards children. No book should be complete without "politics!" There is that also. There is a mix of grief, anger and humor (the real elixir of life!)

The Girl in Blue

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: P.G. Wodehouse

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 140906414X

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 8181

A P.G. Wodehouse novel Young Jerry West has a few problems. His uncle Crispin is broke and employs a butler who isn't all he seems. His other uncle Willoughby is rich but won't hand over any of his inheritance. And to cap it all, although already engaged, Jerry has just fallen in love with the wonderful Jane Hunnicutt, whom he's just met on jury service. But she's an heiress, and that's a problem too - because even if he can extricate himself from his grasping fiancée Jerry can't be a gold-digger. Enter The Girl in Blue - a Gainsborough miniature which someone has stolen from Uncle Willoughby. Jerry sets out on a mission to find her - and somehow hilariously in the process everything comes right.