The Remarkable Case of Dorothy L. Sayers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Catherine Kenney

Publisher: Kent State University Press

ISBN: 9780873384582

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 327

View: 8985

Sayers' three main accomplishments serve as the organizing principle of this book: first, her transformation of the modern detective story into a serious novel of social criticism and moral depth; second, her penetrating critique of the situation of modern woman; and, finally, her compelling work as a lay theologian and interpreter of Christianity.

Busman's Honeymoon

A Love Story With Detective Interruptions

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dorothy Leigh Sayers

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780060923938

Category: Fiction

Page: 381

View: 2559

The elegant, intelligent amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey is one of detective literature's most popular creations. Ian Carmichael is the personification of Dorothy L. Sayers' charming investigator in this BBC Radio full-cast dramatization. Society's eligible women are in mourning, as Lord Peter Wimsey has married at last. Having finally succeeded in his ardent pursuit of the lovely Harriet Vane, they depart for a tranquil honeymoon in a country farmhouse. But the couple's newly wedded peace is shattered when the dead body of the previous owner is found in the cellar. Why would anyone have wanted to kill old Mr. Noakes? What dark secrets was he hiding?

Dorothy L. Sayers

The Centenary Celebration

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alzina Stone Dale

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595340776

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 184

View: 9022

1993 marked the 100th birthday of Dorothy L. Sayers and in her honor Dale gathered a baker's dozen of the finest and most popular mystery writers from the United States and United Kingdom who discuss the way Sayers taught them their trade. The collection was nominated for Malice Domestic's non-fiction Agatha Award.

Modernism and Mourning

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Patricia Rae

Publisher: Bucknell University Press

ISBN: 9780838756171

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 310

View: 3704

The essays in Modernism and Mourning examine the work of mourning in modernist literature, or more precisely, its propensity for resisting this work. Drawing from recent developments in the theory and cultural history of mourning, its contributors explore the various ways in which modernist writers repudiate Freud's famous injunction to mourners to work through their grief, endorsing instead a resistant, or melancholic mourning that shapes both their themes and their radical experiments with form. The emerging picture of the pervasive influence of melancholic mourning in modernist literature casts new light on longstanding critical arguments, especially those about the politics of modernism. It also makes clear the pertinence of this literature to the present day, in which the catastrophic losses of 9/11, of retaliatory war, of racially motivated genocide, of the AIDS epidemic, have made the work of mourning a subject of widespread interest and debate. Patricia Rae is Head of the Department of English at Queen's University.

Victims Or Villains

Jewish Images in Classic English Detective Fiction

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Malcolm J. Turnbull

Publisher: Popular Press

ISBN: 9780879727840

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 200

View: 1149

Portrayed as dubious moneylenders, underworld operatives, megalomaniacs, Bolshevik saboteurs, or unscrupulous war-profiteers, Jewish characters have surfaced in English detective fiction from the very beginning. Starting with Conan Doyle, and focusing on the Golden Age of the genre, Tunrbull uses multiple examples to trace the evolution of Jewish caricature in British crime writing, and examines fictional representations of Jews in relation to burgeoning antisemitic sentiment within British society. Attention is paid to crime writers as wide-ranging as Baroness Orczy, Sydney Horler, R. Austin Freeman, Ngaio Marsh, and S. T. Haymon, and the depiction of Jews by Golden Age giants Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie, and Anthony Berkeley Cox.

The Seven Deadly Sins in the Work of Dorothy L. Sayers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Janice Brown

Publisher: Kent State University Press

ISBN: 9780873386050

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 345

View: 8098

An examination of the work of Dorothy L. Sayers, beginning with her early poetry and moving through her fiction to her dramas, essays and lectures. It illustrates how Sayers used popular genres to teach about sin and redemption, and how she redefined the seven deadly sins for the 20th century.

Busman's Honeymoon

Lord Peter Wimsey

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dorothy L Sayers

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1848943687

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 8194

The thirteenth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer Natasha Cooper - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar. Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style. 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Cumulative Paperback Index, 1939-1959

A Comprehensive Bibliographic Guide to 14,000 Mass-Market Paperback Books of 33 Publishers Issued Under 69 Imprints

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: R. Reginald

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 0893700223

Category: Reference

Page: 362

View: 2392

This was the first bibliography and guide to the American mass market paperback book, and it remains one of the most definitive. The major index is by author, and lists: author, title, publisher, book number, year of publication, and cover price. The title index lists titles and authors only. The publisher index provides a history of that imprint, with addresses, number ranges, and general physical description of the books issued. This is the place that all study of the American paperback must begin.