Bones of Betrayal

A Body Farm Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jefferson Bass

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 006197272X

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6520

“The forensic thriller meets a formidable slice of history….A riveting mystery with an intricately emotional conclusion.” —Washington Post Bones of Betrayal is the fourth heart-racing “Body Farm” thriller from the world’s top forensic anthropologist. Kathy Reichs calls author Jefferson Bass, “the real deal,” and his hero Bill Brockton has already taken his rightful place alongside Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta and the investigators on TV’s “C.S.I.” In Bones of Betrayal, a hideous murder has links that connect it to World War Two’s Manhattan Project and the development of the atomic bomb—adding a fascinating historical element that enriches an already superior crime series.

The Bone Thief

A Body Farm Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jefferson Bass

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780061976421

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 441

“The Body Farm novels have become bestsellers because of their attention to the fine details of forensics combined with great plot lines.” —Deseret News (Salt Lake City) The latest Body Farm novel from New York Times bestseller Jefferson Bass, The Bone Thief is a must for fans of Patricia Cornwell and TV’s C.S.I. The hero of four previous thrillers—Carved in Bone, The Devil’s Bones, Flesh and Bone, and Bones of Betrayal—Dr. Bill Brockton must stop a grisly black market dealing in body parts and cadavers in this white-knuckle adventure written by the man widely considered to be the world’s foremost expert in forensic anthropology. Read The Bone Thief and discover why Kathy Reichs calls Bass, “The real deal.”

The Bones of Avignon

A Body Farm Thriller

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jefferson Bass

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780875495

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 6636

'If you like Kathy Reichs, you'll like Jefferson Bass' The Times. Miranda Lovelady, Dr Bill Brockton's protégé, is spending the summer helping excavate a newly discovered chamber beneath the spectacular Palace of the Popes in Avignon, France. There she discovers a stone chest inscribed with a stunning claim: inside lie the bones of none other than Jesus of Nazareth. Faced with the case of the millennium, Miranda summons Brockton for help proving or refuting the claim. Both scientists are sceptical - after all, fake relics abounded during the Middle Ages - but the evidence for authenticity soon grows. Brockton and Miranda link the bones to the haunting image on the Shroud of Turin, revered by millions as the burial cloth of Christ and a laboratory test finds that the bones are 2,000 years old. The finding triggers a deadly tug of war between the anthropologists, the Vatican and a deadly zealot who hopes to use the bones to bring about the Second Coming . . . and trigger the end of time.

Longing for the Bomb

Oak Ridge and Atomic Nostalgia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lindsey A. Freeman

Publisher: UNC Press Books

ISBN: 1469622386

Category: Social Science

Page: 256

View: 5610

Longing for the Bomb traces the unusual story of the first atomic city and the emergence of American nuclear culture. Tucked into the folds of Appalachia and kept off all commercial maps, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, was created for the Manhattan Project by the U.S. government in the 1940s. Its workers labored at a breakneck pace, most aware only that their jobs were helping "the war effort." The city has experienced the entire lifespan of the Atomic Age, from the fevered wartime enrichment of the uranium that fueled Little Boy, through a brief period of atomic utopianism after World War II when it began to brand itself as "The Atomic City," to the anxieties of the Cold War, to the contradictory contemporary period of nuclear unease and atomic nostalgia. Oak Ridge's story deepens our understanding of the complex relationship between America and its bombs. Blending historiography and ethnography, Lindsey Freeman shows how a once-secret city is visibly caught in an uncertain present, no longer what it was historically yet still clinging to the hope of a nuclear future. It is a place where history, memory, and myth compete and conspire to tell the story of America's atomic past and to explain the nuclear present.

Old Bone Betrayal

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Pike Bishop

Publisher: Pinnacle Books

ISBN: 9780523422862

Category: Western stories

Page: 181

View: 6226

Reaper's Gale

Book Seven of The Malazan Book of the Fallen

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steven Erikson

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN: 9781429925884

Category: Fiction

Page: 832

View: 6638

All is not well in the Letherii Empire. Rhulad Sengar, the Emperor of a Thousand Deaths, spirals into madness, surrounded by sycophants and agents of his Machiavellian chancellor. Meanwhile, the Letherii secret police conduct a campaign of terror against their own people. The Errant, once a farseeing god, is suddenly blind to the future. Conspiracies seethe throughout the palace, as the empire - driven by the corrupt and self-interested - edges ever-closer to all-out war with the neighboring kingdoms. The great Edur fleet--its warriors selected from countless numbers of people--draws closer. Amongst the warriors are Karsa Orlong and Icarium Lifestealer--each destined to cross blades with the emperor himself. That yet more blood is to be spilled is inevitable... Against this backdrop, a band of fugitives seek a way out of the empire, but one of them, Fear Sengar, must find the soul of Scabandari Bloodeye. It is his hope that the soul might help halt the Tiste Edur, and so save his brother, the emperor. Yet, traveling with them is Scabandari's most ancient foe: Silchas Ruin, brother of Anomander Rake. And his motives are anything but certain - for the wounds he carries on his back, made by the blades of Scabandari, are still fresh. Fate decrees that there is to be a reckoning, for such bloodshed cannot go unanswered--and it will be a reckoning on an unimaginable scale. This is a brutal, harrowing novel of war, intrigue and dark, uncontrollable magic; this is epic fantasy at its most imaginative, storytelling at its most thrilling. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Echoes Of Betrayal

Paladin's Legacy: Book Three

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Elizabeth Moon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0748119280

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 2202

As threats build abroad, treachery strikes at home ... While King Kieri struggles to end the war that plagues his borders, his new subjects are becoming restless. His people include both humans and elves, and their uneasy accord is cracking under the demands of war. Kieri didn't fully appreciate the danger until someone close to him is found slain in the woods, and his beloved new wife also finds her life in danger. Kieri must seek out the corruption within his grandmother's elvish court, or all he's achieved will turn to nothing. Trouble also finds Dorrin Verrakai on the road, riding to command her kingdom's defences in the war torn provinces. Her family's dark power is rising again and it's down to her to root out the devastating influence of their illicit blood magic. Then her investigations reveal magery in the last place anyone expected. And while mortals struggle, dragonspawn might yet set all their realms afire.

Madonna and Corpse

A FREE short story

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jefferson Bass

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780879547

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 6231

'If you like Kathy Reichs, you'll like Jefferson Bass' The Times. Dr Bill Brockton is leaving the Body Farm and heading to Europe for the most fascinating case of his career, The Bones of Avignon. But first, in this exclusive short story prequel, trouble awaits. Inspector René Descartes of the French National Police is awoken in the middle of the night to investigate a break-in at the Petit Palais in Avignon - the medieval town's museum. What Descartes discovers plunges him into a labyrinth of art-lined walls, leading to a master forger's lair. And inside, a charred corpse. And as he closes this case, he will be called to an altogether more intriguing death scene - and one of the greatest mysteries of human history.