Saxons, Vikings, and Celts: The Genetic Roots of Britain and Ireland

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bryan Sykes

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393079783

Category: Social Science

Page: 336

View: 1779

From the best-selling author of The Seven Daughters of Eve, a perfect book for anyone interested in the genetic history of Britain, Ireland, and America. One of the world's leading geneticists, Bryan Sykes has helped thousands find their ancestry in the British Isles. Saxons, Vikings, and Celts, which resulted from a systematic ten-year DNA survey of more than 10,000 volunteers, traces the true genetic makeup of the British Isles and its descendants, taking readers from the Pontnewydd cave in North Wales to the resting place of the Red Lady of Paviland and the tomb of King Arthur. This illuminating guide provides a much-needed introduction to the genetic history of the people of the British Isles and their descendants throughout the world.

The Religion of the Ancient Celts

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Arnott MacCulloch

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 9780486427652

Category: Religion

Page: 399

View: 6959

This classic study by a distinguished scholar, first published in 1911, builds upon the surviving texts of the ancient Celtic religion, as well as current folk customs. Topics include nature worship and customs related to the culture of the dead, including rites of rebirth and transmigration.

Blood of the Isles

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bryan Sykes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 0552154652

Category: DNA fingerprinting

Page: 362

View: 7647

Bryan Sykes, the world's first genetic archaeologist, takes us on a journey around the family tree of Britain and Ireland, to reveal how our tribal history still colours the country today. In 54BC Julius Caesar launched the first Roman invasion of Britain. His was the first detailed account of the Celtic tribes that inhabited the Isles. But where had they come from and how long had they been there? When the Romans eventually left five hundred years later, they were succeeded by invasions of Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans. Did these successive invasions obliterate the genetic legacy of the Celts, or have very little effect? After two decades tracing the genetic origins of peoples from all over the world, Bryan Sykes has now turned the spotlight on his own back yard. In a major research programme, the first of its kind, he set out to test the DNA of over 10,000 volunteers from across Britain and Ireland with the specific aim of answering this very question: what is our modern genetic make-up and what does it tell us of our tribal past? Are the modern people of the Isles a delicious genetic cocktail? Or did the invaders keep mostly to themselves forming separate genetic layers within the Isles? As his findings came in, Bryan Sykes discovered that the genetic evidence revealed often very different stories to the conventional accounts coming from history and archaeology. Blood of the Isles reveals the nature of our genetic make-up as never before and what this says about our attitudes to ourselves, each other, and to our past. It is a gripping story that will fascinate and surprise with its conclusions.

Women of the Celts

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jean Markale

Publisher: Inner Traditions / Bear & Co

ISBN: 9780892811502

Category: History

Page: 315

View: 4515

Historian Markale takes us deep into a mythical world where both man and woman become whole by realizing the feminine principle in its entirety. The author explores the rich heritage of Celtic women in history, myth, and ritual, showing how these traditions compare to modern attitudes toward women.

Flight of the Eagle: The Frontier

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Watt

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN: 1742629229

Category: Fiction

Page: 688

View: 7670

The third novel in the compelling Duffy and Macintosh series. "The home grown version of Wilbur Smith" The Sunday Age A deadly family curse holds two families in its powerful grip. Captain Patrick Duffy's passions are inflamed by the mysterious Irishwoman Catherine Fitzgerald, further pitting him against his father, Michael Duffy, and his adoring but scheming grandmother, Lady Enid Macintosh. On the rugged Queensland frontier, Native Mounted Police trooper Peter Duffy is torn between his loyal bond with Gordon James, the love of his sister, Sarah, and the blood of his mother's people, the Nerambura tribe. Two men, the women who love them and a dreadful curse that still inextricably links the lives of the Macintoshes and the Duffys culminate in a stunning addition to the series featuring Cry of the Curlew and Shadow of the Osprey. PRAISE FOR THE SERIES "A rousing and revealing yarn" Weekend Australian "the historical detail brings the ... 19th century to rip-roaring life" The Australian "Watt's fans love his work for its history, adventure and storytelling" Brisbane News

History of the Celts

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Clayton N Donoghue

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 1460219643

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2438

Despite all the books that have been written on the Celts there is still new material to learn about these mysterious people who lived in Europe 2,000 years ago. In this book you will see for yourself just how much there is to discover. It is written in an easy, light manner that anyone can enjoy and is short enough that it won't take long to get through. The objective of this story is to provide a fresh perspective and to dispell some old beliefs; especially in areas like the Druids. They were not that bizarre as many have come to believe. Sit back and be pleasantly surprised.

The Ice King (Twilight of the Celts Book III)

A gripping adventure of courage and honour

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: M. K. Hume

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472215761

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 7008

The Last Dragon must create a kingdom of his own... Embarking on his ultimate voyage, Arthur, The Last Dragon, must brave the high seas and battle his way back to Britain in The Ice King, the explosive conclusion to M.K. Hume's Twilight of the Celts trilogy. The perfect read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Ian Ross. 'Historical fiction of the most bloodthirsty and roistering kind' - Australian Bookseller & Publishers Magazine It is several years now since Arthur, the Last Dragon of Britain, has set foot on home soil. Roaming the Land of the Denes, he has not only engaged in brutal and bloody conflict with the barbaric Geats, but he has also unearthed the most evil force within the royal court of Heorot. And, under the guidance of Stormbringer, the mighty Sae Dene king, he has honed his skills as a commander. Now the time has come for Arthur to brave the dangers of the frozen north as he and a band of daring sea-faring warriors prepare to embark on his ultimate voyage - to return to Britain and to create a kingdom of his own... What readers are saying about The Ice King: 'Wonderful storytelling does this book an enormous credit thus making it such a thrill to read from start to finish' 'An excellent completion of the Arthur trilogy - well constructed, good characters and a good read' 'Brilliant as usual. Five stars'

The Last of the Celts

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Marcus Tanner

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300115352

Category: History

Page: 398

View: 9922

Award-winning author Tanner has journeyed throughout the Celtic world--from the wilds of Northwest Scotland to the Isle of Man, and from Boston to Cape Breton--seeking the Celtic past and what remains of authentic culture.