Blood Games

A gruesome, electrifying horror novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Richard Laymon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755391659

Category: Fiction

Page: 355

View: 6393

Five friends. One reunion. One bloodbath. The reunion of five friends quickly descends into carnage in Richard Laymon's terrifying novel Blood Games. Perfect for fans of Dean Koontz and Joe Hill. They meet for one week every year, five young women, best friends since college, in search of fun and thrills. Each year they choose a different place for their reunion. This year it's Helen's choice, and she chose the Totem Pole Lodge. Bad choice. The Totem Pole Lodge is a deserted resort hotel deep in the woods with a gory, shocking past. Helen has a macabre streak and she can't wait to tell her friends all about what happened at the lodge and why it's now abandoned. But Helen and the others are in for a nasty surprise. The resort isn't quite as deserted as they think. And not all the gruesome events at the Totem Pole Lodge are in its past. The worst are still to come... What readers are saying about Blood Games: 'Scary, funny, witty, and easy reading' 'This book is simply the best of all Richard Laymon's books... The characters are amazing, the plot and story line is astonishingly brilliant and gruesome. You won't be able to put this book down' 'This book was a complete breath of fresh air to me. Fast paced, exciting and very creepy'

Knucklehead

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Smyer

Publisher: Akashic Books

ISBN: 1617756032

Category: Fiction

Page: 340

View: 1118

"By setting his novel in the '90s, Smyer, who lives in Oakland, has crafted some brutal deja vu. As [protagonist] Marcus reflects on Rodney King, the Million Man March and the Oklahoma City bombing, we think of Freddie Gray, Black Lives Matter and school shootings that have become a way of life. And when Marcus laments San Francisco's dwindling black population, here we are more than 20 years on, and it's only gotten worse. We should all be furious." --San Francisco Chronicle "This book is bold in how it treats the reader as an insider to the reality of American blackness. It can be, in turns, lyrically poignant, cynical, hilarious, and infuriating." --Foreword Reviews, Starred Review "In this comic debut novel, lawyer Marcus Hayes careens through the racially divisive 1990s while trying to manage his compulsive anger, chaotic love life, and economic misfortunes...Smyer gives Marcus a sardonic and hilarious voice reminiscent of a Paul Beatty protagonist and endows him with a troubled psychology that plumbs the nuances of black male identity." --Kirkus Reviews "Marcus is an intelligent, acerbic, and often hilarious narrator, bringing a fresh, biting perspective to the social and racial tensions of the time that, as debut novelist Smyer makes clear, are not particularly different from today." --Library Journal "While loss and loneliness are at its core, Knucklehead is a mordantly funny book." --San Francisco Chronicle, Recommended Reading roundup "While not strictly a crime novel, Smyer's debut Knucklehead does contain a whole lot of guns, violence, and rage, as well as plenty of love and sadness. A black lawyer in the late 80s through the mid-90s deals with micro and macro aggressions from a society determined to treat him as a criminal. Also, there are cats. Lots of cats." --Literary Hub, included in the Most Anticipated Crime, Mystery, and Thriller Titles of 2018 "While the provocative subject material will take readers to a sometimes-uncomfortable place, this brilliant debut is also deeply, darkly funny...This is one of those books that simply has to be discussed, as it managed to tackle difficult topics with unexpected humor and pathos. While Marcus is a troubled character, his journey and the choices he makes will provide rich meat for discussion about race in America and how justifiable anger can turn toxic." --IndiePicks Magazine "[A] masterpiece...In this, his debut narrative, Smyer dramatically encapsulates the ancestral trauma, the collective guilt and suffering of tens of millions of people. Indeed he has scored big. Real big...A must buy." --Kaitur News (Guyana) "Like Smyer, the book has a wicked sense of humor, even as it gives the reader a tour of the dystopian Clinton years. Comparisons to James Baldwin, Richard Wright, and Zora Neale Hurston are well earned, yet there are also strains of Anthony Burgess and Hubert Selby Jr. in Smyer's prose." --48 Hills "From page one, Knucklehead is a literary punch in the face. Adam Smyer's exploration of rage is unflinching, brave, and absolutely brilliant. There's so much energy in this debut you could put it in your tank and drive on it." --Mat Johnson, author of Loving Day In Knucklehead we meet Marcus Hayes, a black law student who struggles, sometimes unsuccessfully, with the impulse to confront everyday bad behavior with swift and antisocial action. The cause of this impulse is unknown to him. When Marcus unexpectedly becomes involved with the brilliant and kind Amalia Stewart, her love and acceptance pacify his demons. But when his demons return, he is no longer inclined to contain them.

Eerie Archives

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Various

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

ISBN: 1621156958

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 248

View: 7154

Collecting issues #52-#55 of Warren Publishing’s legendary Eeriehorror anthology, this deluxe hardcover features the character Hunter—the deadly demon killer of the future—making an explosive debut. Esteban Maroto continues his enchanting tales of Dax the Warrior, and Shreck struggles for survival on a dangerous, irradiated alternate world! A run of breathtaking covers by Sanjulian and Ken Kelly and a do-it-yourself Werewolf! board game top off this fine collection of 1970s horror tales! *The greatest horror comics of all time!

The New York Times Film Reviews 1999-2000

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: New York Times Theater Reviews

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9780415936965

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 700

View: 5655

From the Oscar-winning blockbustersAmerican BeautyandShakespeare in Loveto Sundance oddities likeAmerican MovieandThe Tao of Steve, to foreign films such asAll About My Mother, the latest volume in this popular series features a chronological collection of facsimiles of every film review and awards article published inThe New York Timesbetween January 1999 and December 2000. Includes a full index of personal names, titles, and corporate names. This collection is an invaluable resource for all libraries.

Metal Gear Solid

Boss Fight Books #9

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ashly Burch,Anthony Burch

Publisher: Boss Fight Books

ISBN: 1940535093

Category: Metal Gear Solid (Game)

Page: 176

View: 7470

Before they co-created the hit web series Hey Ash, Whatcha Playin'?, Ashly and Anthony Burch were just a brother and sister who shared a weird obsession with Solid Snake and his 3D debut, Metal Gear Solid. And why wouldn't they? Hideo Kojima's 1998 game featured groundbreaking stealth mechanics, a gruff and hunky leading man, a brilliantly claustrophobic setting, tons of cinematic cutscenes, shocking fourth wall breaks, and terrifying bosses. The only problem: The Burches grew up but their all-time favorite video game didn't. After nearly two decades, Metal Gear Solid's once-innovative stealth mechanics seem outdated, the cutscenes have lost some of their action movie punch, and the game's treatment of women is often out of touch. Witness a celebration/takedown of this landmark game with the combination of insight and hilarity that Ashly and Anthony have made their careers on.

The Last One

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: J. M. DeMatteis,Dan Sweetman

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Angels

Page: N.A

View: 8846

Movies on TV '88-'89

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steven H. Scheuer

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN: 9780553268515

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 896

View: 5065

Alphabetical listings and a 4-star rating system make for quick and easy decision-making, while thoughtful, professional reviews guide consumers to optimal viewing pleasure. Expanded and updated with over 14,000 listings.

Look

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9774

Ultimate DVD.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: DVD-Video discs

Page: N.A

View: 1102

Movies on TV and Video Cassette 1989-1990

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steven H. Scheuer

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN: 9780553277074

Category: Reference

Page: 912

View: 1809

Concise plot summaries and capsule reviews of more than fifteen thousand films are accompanied by inside information on casts, running time, and directors and a four-star rating system in a guide to films available on TV, cable TV, and video cassette