American Pie

The Anatomy of Vulgar Teen Comedy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bill Osgerby

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134814682

Category: Social Science

Page: 110

View: 8966

American Pie represents the most commercially successful example of the vulgar teen comedy, and this book analyses the film's development, audience-appeal and cultural significance. American Pie (1999) is a film that exemplifies that most disparaged of movie genres – the vulgar teen comedy. Largely aimed at young audiences, the vulgar teen comedy is characterised by a brazenly over-the-top humour rooted in the salacious, the scatological and the squirmingly tasteless. In this book, consideration is given to the relationship between American Pie’s success and broad shifts within both the youth market and the film business. Attention is also given to the film’s representations of youth, gender and sexuality, together with the distinctive character of its comedy and the enduring place of such humour in contemporary popular culture. While chiefly focusing on the original American Pie movie, the book also considers the development of the franchise, with discussion of the movie's three sequels and four direct-to-DVD releases. The book also charts the history, nature and appeal of vulgar teen comedy as a whole, providing the first concerted analysis of this generally overlooked category of youth film. Clear, concise and comprehensive, the book is ideal for students, scholars and general readership worldwide.

American Pie

My Search for the Perfect Pizza

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Reinhart

Publisher: Ten Speed Press

ISBN: 9781607740902

Category: Cooking

Page: 272

View: 4023

On the subject of pizza, there is never a shortage of opinions. Allegiances run from the general (Chicago versus New York style, Neapolitan versus Roman) to the particular (Pepe's versus Sally's, Gino's East versus Pizzeria Uno), and new interpretations ever extend the pizza frontier.In AMERICAN PIE, master bread baker Peter Reinhart follows the trail from Italy to the States, capturing the stories behind the greatest artisanal pizzas of the Old World and the New. Beginning his journey in Genoa, Reinhart scours the countryside in search of the fabled focaccia col formaggio. He next heads to Rome to sample the famed seven-foot-long pizza al taglio, and then to Naples for the archetypal pizza napoletana. Back in America, the hunt resumes in the unlikely locale of Phoenix, Arizona, where Chris Bianco of Pizzeria Bianco has convinced many that his pie sets the new standard in the country. The pizza mecca of New Haven, grilled pizza in Providence, the deep-dish pies of Chicago, California-style pizza in San Francisco and Los Angeles—these are just a few of the tasty attractions on Reinhart's epic tour. Returning to the kitchen, Reinhart gives a master class on pizza-making techniques and provides more than 60 recipes for doughs, sauces and toppings, and the pizzas that bring them all together. His insatiable curiosity and gift for storytelling make AMERICAN PIE essential reading for those who aspire to make great pizza at home, as well as for anyone who enjoys the thrill of the hunt. A fascinating look into the great pizzas and pizzerias of Italy and America. Peter Reinhart's last book, THE BREAD BAKER'S APPRENTICE, was named Cookbook of the Year by both the James Beard Foundation and the International Association of Culinary Professionals. Reviews“Peter Reinhart has taken a deep look into pizza, one of the best and simplest of foods, embracing all its variety. He probes American pizza especially, but he has tasted the original in Naples and visited elsewhere in Italy to learn about variations and relatives. He tells vivid stories, and his recipes and techniques are thorough and practical. A splendid book.”—Edward Behr, editor, The Art of Eating“I doubt whether anyone else could be as passionate as Peter Reinhart about pizzas or have made such extensive and exciting journeys in pursuing them. He has collected great anecdotes and wonderfully detailed recipes in the course of his intercontinental hunt.”—Alan Davidson, author of The Oxford Companion to Food“We all know that Peter Reinhart is a great baker and teacher, but now that he's fallen in love with pizza, we can see he's also a great tour guide as he takes us to the best pizzerias in Italy and America. Secrets are divulged, expert tips provided, and stories told. Much more than a collection of recipes, this is a book that is as fun to read as it is to bake from.”—Carol Field, author of The Italian Baker

American Pie

Great Pizza Recipes You Can Try At Home!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Martha Stone

Publisher: Martha Stone

ISBN: N.A

Category: Cooking

Page: 50

View: 3292

What makes a pizza perfect? There might have been many instances in your life where you ate a slice of pizza and couldn’t help but say it was the best you ever had. So, what was it that made it so good that you simply had to compliment it? Was it the clever use of ingredients? Was it baked differently than it usually is? Was it the seasoning and toppings that were used? The fact remains that a perfect pizza is the sum of all these factors. If you use the right ingredients but don’t cook the pizza well, it wouldn’t taste awesome. Same goes for not using the best topping for a particular pizza. So, it has to be an effort in totality. We have tried to compile a list of pizza recipes that are perfect in every sense of the word. If you haven’t baked a perfect pizza yet, this Book will help you get there.

Miss American Pie

A Diary of Love, Secrets and Growing Up in the 1970s

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Margaret Sartor

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1596912014

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 4327

Gives an account of the author's life from age twelve to eighteen, crafted from diaries, notebooks, and letters, and reflects all the joys and sorrows of growing up in the 1970s.

Mr. & Mrs. American Pie

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Juliet McDaniel

Publisher: Inkshares

ISBN: 1942645864

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 6582

In the vein of Where'd You Go, Bernadette, this whip-smart romantic comedy is as incisive as it is funny—and refuses to be thwarted by convention. After getting dumped by her husband, a woman sets out to prove her worth by entering a 'best housewife' pageant in 1970 Palm Springs.

Miss American Pie and Other Lies

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Noah M. Tysick,Noah Tysick

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595167179

Category: Poetry

Page: 112

View: 6181

"Poetry is alive for the duration that it is engaged. The words become latent, if not dead, the moment the reading ceases. They cannot be put on a shelf like a painting on a gallery wall and still exist. The lyrics must be split like a pomegranate and the seeds sucked out. There must be movement of air through vocal cords and neuroactivity in the brain. This is what makes poetry immediate, current. It exists only in the now," claims Noah M. Tysick. He holds an M.A. in English Language and Literature. For more information, please visit www.noahtysick.com.

How to Bake an American Pie

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Karma Wilson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0689865066

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 9069

Rhyming text and illustrations present a recipe for how to bake a pie from all the things that make America great, such as a dash of purple mountain majesties and cups of courage. By the author of Bear Snores On.

American Pie

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Lee West

Publisher: Harper Perennial

ISBN: 9780060984335

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 5349

The lives of the three McBroom sisters of Tallulah, Tennessee, were tangled before the eldest, Eleanor, discovered their mother hanging from the Venetian blinds—and the years have done little to comb out the knots. Now a drunken encounter with the midnight train has left brash, much-married Jo-Nell near death, compelling agoraphobic Eleanor to summon marine biologist Freddie home from California—where she fled after being expelled from med school following a daring gall bladder heist. At last the McBroom sisters are together again, to face old fears and new catastrophes as they cheerfully deflect every flaming arrow that outrageous fortune fires their way. With wit and loving compassion, Michael Lee West introduces us to an indomitable family of eccentric survivors in an unforgettable novel of cruel fate, bad luck, and unassailable resiliency.