A History of Roman Britain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Salway

Publisher: Oxford Paperbacks

ISBN: 9780192801388

Category: History

Page: 594

View: 3118

'One could not ask for a more meticulous or scholarly assessment of what Britain meant to the Romans, or Rome to Britons, than Peter Salway's Monumental Study' Frederick Raphael, Sunday Times From the invasions of Julius Caesar to the unexpected end of Roman rule in the early fifth century AD and the subsequent collapse of society in Britain, this book is the most authoritative and comprehensive account of Roman Britain ever published for the general reader. Peter Salway's narrative takes into account the latest research including exciting discoveries of recent years, and will be welcomed by anyone interested in Roman Britain.

A history of Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Philip Van Ness Myers

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 275

View: 3050

A History of the Roman World

753 to 146 BC

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Howard Hayes Scullard

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0415522277

Category: History

Page: 490

View: 2979

With a new foreword by Tim Cornell ‘Can anyone be so indifferent or idle as not to care to know by what means and under what kind of polity almost the whole inhabited world was conquered and bought under the dominion of a single city of Rome?’– Polybius, Greek Historian The city of Rome created the foundations of an empire that would come to challenge and conquer the great civilizations of Europe and the Near East. H.H. Scullard’s definitive and highly acclaimed study reveals the peculiar genius of the Roman people, their predilection for law and order and their powers of organization and administration, all of which created a confederation the like of which the Greek World had never seen. He explores the political, military, economic and social history of this incredible empire, showing how the Romans realized an ecumenical ideal and embraced Western Civilization within one political system. Celebrated for its political and military victories as well as its incredible feats of engineering, literature and art. Scullard chartsthe foundation of Rome, the establishment of the Republic, and its spectacular rise until the fall of Carthage. Scullard not only explores the accomplishments of the empire but vividly delves into the corruptive foreign influences which began to undermine the moral qualities of Rome, when lust for power superseded the desire for law and order. A superb overview of this charged historical epoch, A History of the Roman Worldtakes us inside the pivotal events and struggles which have heavily influenced modern western civilizations.

A History of Roman Literature

From Livius Andronicus to Boethius : with Special Regard to Its Influence on World Literature

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael von Albrecht

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9789004107090

Category: Latin literature

Page: 1

View: 756

History of the Roman People

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Allen M. Ward,Fritz M. Heichelheim,Cedric A. Yeo

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1315511207

Category: History

Page: 576

View: 8295

A History of the Roman People provides a comprehensive analytical survey of Roman history from its prehistoric roots in Italy and the wider Mediterranean world to the dissolution of the Roman Empire in Late Antiquity ca. A.D. 600. Clearly organized and highly readable, the text's narrative of major political and military events provides a chronological and conceptual framework for chapters on social, economic, and cultural developments of the periods covered. Major topics are treated separately so that students can easily grasp key concepts and ideas.

A History of Roman Art, Enhanced Edition

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Fred S. Kleiner

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 0495909874

Category: Education

Page: 384

View: 4439

A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART, ENHANCED EDITION is a lavishly-illustrated survey of the art of Rome and the Roman Empire from the time of Romulus to the death of Constantine, presented in its historical, political, and social context. This ENHANCED EDITION has added coverage on Etruscan art in the beginning of the text. All aspects of Roman art and architecture are treated, including private art and domestic architecture, the art of the Eastern and Western provinces, the art of freedmen, and the so-called minor arts, including cameos, silverware, and coins. The book is divided into four parts-Monarchy and Republic, Early Empire, High Empire, and Late Empire-and traces the development of Roman art from its beginnings in the 8th century BCE to the mid fourth century CE, with special chapters devoted to Pompeii and Herculaneum, Ostia, funerary and provincial art and architecture, and the earliest Christian art. The original edition of this text was warmly received in the market based on a high level of scholarship, comprehensive contents, and superb visuals. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

SPQR

A History of Ancient Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Beard

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 184765441X

Category: History

Page: 606

View: 2231

Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller Shortlisted for a British Book Industry Book of the Year Award 2016 The new series Ultimate Rome: Empire Without Limit is on BBC2 now Ancient Rome matters. Its history of empire, conquest, cruelty and excess is something against which we still judge ourselves. Its myths and stories - from Romulus and Remus to the Rape of Lucretia - still strike a chord with us. And its debates about citizenship, security and the rights of the individual still influence our own debates on civil liberty today. SPQR is a new look at Roman history from one of the world's foremost classicists. It explores not only how Rome grew from an insignificant village in central Italy to a power that controlled territory from Spain to Syria, but also how the Romans thought about themselves and their achievements, and why they are still important to us. Covering 1,000 years of history, and casting fresh light on the basics of Roman culture from slavery to running water, as well as exploring democracy, migration, religious controversy, social mobility and exploitation in the larger context of the empire, this is a definitive history of ancient Rome. SPQR is the Romans' own abbreviation for their state: Senatus Populusque Romanus, 'the Senate and People of Rome'.

A history of Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Marcel Le Glay,Jean-Louis Voisin,Yann Le Bohec,Dr. David Cherry

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781405183277

Category: History

Page: 639

View: 4713

"A History of Rome" is a fascinating journey through 1,300 years of Roman history, from its mythic beginnings as a cluster of villages near the Tiber to its emergence as the center of one of the most powerful empires the world has ever known. This popular introductory text provides readers with a comprehensive overview of the key historic events, personalities, and powerful political, social, and economic forces that shaped Rome's path to glory. The fourth edition of "A History of Rome" has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the most recent scholarly research on literary sources and new interpretations of archaeological evidence. It includes expanded coverage of Roman imperialism during the early phases of the Empire, and more on the events of the late Republic period. A variety of enhancements and improvements to this edition include two color text, new pedagogical features, and more illustrations. Together, they serve to reinforce the book’s stature as an indispensable resource on the history and enduring influence of one of the world's greatest empires.

A History of Rome under the Emperors

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Theodor Mommsen

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0203979087

Category: History

Page: 656

View: 5779

This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century. Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. His fame rests on his History of Rome as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome - which ran to the reign of Augustus - was never completed. This book represents that great lost work. In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, A History of Rome Under the Emperors. Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Professor Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers.

A History of Roman Art

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Fred S. Kleiner

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1337515779

Category: Art

Page: 384

View: 7784

Winner of the prestigious TAA Textbook Excellence Award, A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART has been updated to reflect scholarship advances of the past decade, and dramatically expands the lavish photographic documentation of the first edition with more than 400 new color photographs in the text. A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART surveys the art of Rome and its empire from the time of Romulus to the death of Constantine presented in its historical, political, and social context. Divided into four parts (Italy before and during the Republic; and the Early, High, and Late Empires), each of the 21 chapters combines a discussion of general issues and individual monuments with a series of boxed essays on architectural terminology; materials and techniques; religion and mythology; the cultural context of works of art; the role of patrons; and the problems that ancient artists and architects faced and how they solved them. Special chapters are devoted to Pompeii and Herculaneum and funerary and provincial art in all media. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.