Lost in Time

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hans Magnus Enzensberger

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9780805065718

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 344

View: 5804

A German teenager begins to lose his identity and any hope of returning to the present when his time-traveling journeys take him further and further into the past.

Where Were You, Robert?

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hans Magnus Enzensberger

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780141306803

Category: Time travel

Page: 252

View: 4346

Fifteen-year-old Robert is a dreamer: one evening his eyes blur over and he literally disappears. Robert has become a time traveller, but with little control over his ability he seems doomed to wander forever - until he appears in 17th-century Amsterdam and finds a slim chance of returning home.

Where Were You?

America Remembers the JFK Assassination

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gus Russo,Harry Moses

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 1493001906

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 7011

DIVNovember 22, 1963. A policeman’s wife was fetching their sick child from school. A young shoe store manager had no idea what lay in wait for him that day. A future president was tending to his farm. A future vice president was standing on the steps of his college library. A Georgetown student was looking forward to playing the piano for the president when he returned to Washington, DC, that evening. A future movie star was attending his second-grade art class. Then the news rang out across airwaves, through telephone lines, and by word of mouth, plunging the country into shock and sorrow. It’s hard to imagine how the last fifty years would have unfolded if President John F. Kennedy had lived. Would Vietnam have dragged on until 1974? Would Nixon have come into power? It’s difficult to say—but, combining evocative archival images with the unique, first-person stories of those who lived through it, Where Were You? says what the history books can’t and offers a fresh look at what was, what is, and what might have been since that fateful day. In the two-hour NBC documentary event that this volume accompanies, special correspondent Tom Brokaw interviewed people close to the tragedy as well as former heads of state, politicians, authors, journalists, performers, musicians, and more. He asked them five simple questions, starting with: Where were you? Together, their words paint a rich and moving picture of a hopeful nation torn asunder by grief. It will remind those who lived it of a pivotal moment in American history, and it bears witness for all who follow. /div

Love You Forever

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert N. Munsch,Sheila McGraw

Publisher: Firefly Books

ISBN: 9780920668375

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 7464

As her son grows up from little boy to adult man, a mother secretly rocks him each night as he sleeps.

Richard Bean: Plays Two

Toast; Smack Family Robinson; Mr. England; Honeymoon Suite

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Richard Bean

Publisher: Oberon Books

ISBN: 184943669X

Category: Drama

Page: 258

View: 7939

Four plays by Richard Bean with an introduction by Chris Campbell. Includes: Toast, Mr England, Smack Family Robinson and Honeymoon Suite.

Billiards at Half-Past Nine

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Heinrich Boll,Jessa Crispin

Publisher: Melville House

ISBN: 1935554182

Category: Fiction

Page: 295

View: 5733

Böll's well-known opposition to fascism and war informs this moving story of a single day in the life of traumatized soldier Robert Faehmel, scion of a family of successful Cologne architects, as he struggles to return to ordinary life after the Second World War. An encounter with a war-time nemesis, now a power in the reconstruction of Germany, forces him to confront private memories and the wounds of Germany's defeat in the two World Wars.

The Hands We Hold

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Naomi Estell

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781453504758

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8236

The Hands We Hold Justin Peterson who plays an excellent running back Football player for Langford High School who can out run almost anybody he's up against. Karla Anderson, who is the love of his life; a young lady who he has made future plans for the two of them. Nothing can stand in their way but something shocking is about to reveal between them and their dream for each other. One man who stands in between him and his girlfriend Karla and that one man was the coach himself. Coach Meyers, he is a coach that controlled Justin's whole career at least he thought he did however, there was a secret behind Coach Meyers and no one knew it but Justin will he reveal this devastating secret without hurting the one and only love of his life and most of all hurting his own career. Mrs. Avery Woods who became one of Coach Meyers closet friends. Mrs. Avery Woods is one of Langford High greatest eleventh and twelve grade English teacher. She's beautiful young and intelligent which all the young men in her classes fantasies about her, she also oversees after school care at the middle school after working at Langford High however, both were friend's among each other. Mrs. Avery Woods a beautiful and intelligent young woman who loves herself some younger men. The question is how young of a man will she go after to satisfy her needs? Unfortunately the only problem with this is will she be considered a pedifier to some. Another problem is that she's married. Will she remain a cheat? She seems to be married to a most prominent police officer that everyone in the neighborhood knows. She and Officer Woods were two of a kind. Both were from the hood and loved their younger groups. However, she would only consider to giving only one young man her love. Officer Woods who was considered no favorite in the neighborhood either especially toward the younger group of people who he always harassed. Then their were the Rev. Mitch Flemings whose congregation stayed full every Sunday morning one would think that they were giving out money just for coming to church yet the Rev. Mitch Flemings was just spreading his love among the congregation. Author-Naomi Estell Native from Birmingham, Al received a B.S. from the University of Alabama in Birmingham in S.W.

Tapestry of Spies

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stephen Hunter

Publisher: Island Books

ISBN: 0307762904

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 7335

Stephen Hunter has chosen the backdrop of the chaotic and cruel Spanish Civil War to weave a classic tale of espionage and counterespionage. Julian Raines was one of the first Englishmen to volunteer for the international brigade in Spain. The British Secret Service suspect that the flamboyant Raines was recruited for the KGB by the Bolsheviks during his student days at Oxford and send Robert Florry, a struggling young writer to Spain after Raines with orders to eliminate him. Florry was an old school chum to Raines and had every reason to hate him. The British are not alone on Raines' trail. The ruthless Communist leader in Barcelona believes that the identity of the double agent conceals a powerful and profitable secret. It is a novel that constantly surprises. From the Paperback edition.

Where Did You Go? Out. What Did You Do? Nothing.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Paul Smith

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393339416

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 144

View: 3653

The author reminisces about the simple joys of his 1920s childhood, when he dealt with collecting horse-chestnuts, playing neighborhood sports, reading books, searching for arrowheads, and building a treehouse.

Cobbett's Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason

And Other Crimes and Misdemeanor from the Earliest Period to the Present Time ... from the Ninth Year of the Reign of King Henry, the Second, A.D.1163, to ... [George IV, A.D.1820]

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas Bayly Howell,Thomas Jones Howell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page: N.A

View: 1463

Witness the Dead

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Craig Robertson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0857204211

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 6343

'Doing for Glasgow, what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror Scottish Police are called to a murder scene in Glasgow's Northern Necropolis. The body of a young woman lies stretched out over a tomb in what looks like a ritualistic murder. Her body bears a three letter message from her killer, daubed in lurid red lipstick. In the 1970s, Danny Neilson was the detective working on the infamous Red Silk murders. Still haunted by the memory of the unsolved investigation, he spots a link between the new murders and those carried out by Red Silk - details that no copycat killer could have known about. But Archibald Atto, the man suspected of the killings all those years ago, is rotting in jail, so Danny has to face up to his fear that they never caught their man. Neilson goes with police photographer Tony Winter, to visit Archibald Atto in prison. But Atto will not speak to them unless it is on his terms. As clues begin to surface, they learn that they are dealing with a killer whose agenda is so terrifying and history so twisted that it will take the combined efforts of police forces past and present to make an arrest. Delivering brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson is the author of the acclaimed Random, Snapshot, Cold Grave, Witness the Dead, The Last Refuge and In Place of Death.

Reports of Committees

30th Congress, 1st Session - 48th Congress, 2nd Session

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: United States. Congress. Senate

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 6056

We Share Everything!

(Read Aloud Edition)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Munsch

Publisher: Scholastic Canada

ISBN: 1443148571

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 1086

It's the first day of kindergarten and Amanda and Jeremiah have a problem. They both want to read the same books. They want to paint with the same paints. And they refuse to share. The teacher tells them, "Look. This is kindergarten. In kindergarten we share. We share everything." Everything? Amanda and Jeremiah decide to take their teacher at her word. But what can they share? They begin by switching their shoes, and end up wearing each other's outfits! Now Jeremiah is wearing Amanda's pink shoes, pants and shirt and Amanda is wearing Jeremiah's clothes. Together they show their teacher that sharing really can be fun!

The Cry of the Owl

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Patricia Highsmith

Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.

ISBN: 0802195539

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 4630

In a small Pennsylvania town, Robert Forrester is recuperating from a nasty divorce and a bout of psychological trouble. One evening, while driving home, he sees a pretty young woman framed by her bright kitchen window. Soon, he can’t keep himself away. But when Robert is inevitably discovered, obsession is turned on its head, and he finds himself unable to shake the young woman, nor entirely sure whether he should. From Patricia Highsmith, once called "the balladeer of stalking" by The New Yorker, The Cry of the Owl is a modern classic ready to be reborn.

Cousins' Rivalry

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ted Brooks

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595180167

Category: Fiction

Page: 93

View: 1686

Greg Sutton and Robert Hawkins are two cousins who quarrel over the ownership of the Portmouth Falls Country Store, which Greg inherited from their grandfather. In addition, Robert's mother finds out she is cut out of their grandparents' wills, after she marries out of the faith. The novel is set in a fictional town in Connecticut, accessible only by crossing the covered bridge.