Ignatius Adversus Valentinianos?

Chronologische Und Theologiegeschichtliche Studien Zu Den Briefen Des Ignatius Von Antiochien

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas Lechner

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9789004115057

Category: Religion

Page: 370

View: 2486

This volume discusses the authenticity of the seven letters, handed down under the name of Ignatius of Antioch, and explores the wider theological context at the time of their composition. The author first examines the chronological foundations of current scholarly consensus, which on the whole favours an early second-century date for the composition of these letters, during the reign of the emperor Trajan (98-117). On the basis of his findings the author next addresses the question raised by the title of the volume: do some of the polemic passages in these letters specifically attack Valentinian gnosis? After a detailed discussion of chapters 16-20 of the Letter to the Ephesians it is shown that the Ignatian Star Hymn (Eph. 19) should be seen as a parody of Valentinian myth. The volume concludes with a study of the "Regula fidei" (Eph. 18,2).

The Rand at War, 1899-1902

The Witwatersrand and the Anglo-Boer War

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Diana Rose Cammack

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520068520

Category: History

Page: 222

View: 1148

Diana Cammack provides a rich and readable account of events in the city of Johannesburg that led to the Anglo-Boer War, and she enhances our understanding of both the effects of British imperialism at the turn of the century and the development of the unique racial order of contemporary South Africa. Incorporating social, political, and military history, this work covers events on the Rand during the final year before the war including the flight of well over a hundred thousand black and white refugees in a few weeks of panic; refugee life at the coast; and work, politics, and life on the Rand and in the city between October 1899 and May 1902. Drawing on varied sources, the author provides new information for the specialist, including material on the infamous "Uitlander grievances," the motives and machinations of the Rand agitators, their role in Rand reconstruction, and their relationship with the British high commissioner, Sir Alfred Milner. The wealth of detail enhances the readability of the book which recounts this interesting period of South African history.

Rub Out My History

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Con Krüger

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing

ISBN: 1625168942

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 448

View: 3529

On the Insistence of Kevin, Con Kruger wrote this fascinating biography introducing the Krugers in South Africa and the Cunynghames in England. The Progenitor Jacob Kruger arrived in Table Bay, South Africa, during 1713. Kevin's family background is an admixture of French, Belgian, German and Royal English genes (well camouflaged to protect his pony breeding business in Sussex, England). The story is cast against the larger canvass of the war between the global British Empire and the two tiny independent Zar and OFS Boer Republics during the last 20 years of Queen Victoria's reign - a war described as barbaric. This shameful period in British history has remained largely unknown covered by a thick-veiled diplomatic silence. Lest the Empire's brutal cruelty to animals and other atrocities be forgotten, Kevin feels compelled to recall the details. Kevin goes further. These wrongs must be redressed. He is resolute that those in command of the Empire Army face charges of war crimes. Warning: This book contains material that may upset sensitive readers. Con Kruger, born January 1930, is an eighth generation offspring of progenitor Jacob Kruger, who married a manumitted slave daughter, Jannetjie Kemp. She started the Kruger clan by bearing Jacob eight children during the early 1700's. Con obtained a master's degree in psychopathology and a doctorate in industrial psychology from Stellenbosch University. He practiced as a consulting psychologist from 1952 to 1992. He has authored two historical dramas and four anthologies of Afrikaans poetry. He now lives at the southernmost tip of the African continent at Cape Agulhas. Publisher's website: http: //sbprabooks.com/ConKruger"

The Cambridge History of South Africa: Volume 2, 1885–1994

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Ross,Anne Kelk Mager,Bill Nasson

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1316025675

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 2151

This book surveys South African history from the discovery of gold in the Witwatersrand in the late nineteenth century to the first democratic elections in 1994. Written by many of the leading historians of the country, it pulls together four decades of scholarship to present a detailed overview of South Africa during the twentieth century. It covers political, economic, social and intellectual developments and their interconnections in a clear and objective manner. This book, the second of two volumes, represents an important reassessment of all the major historical events, developments and records of South Africa and will be an important new tool for students and professors of African history worldwide, as well as the basis for further development and research.

South African War Books

An Illustrated Bibliography of English Language Publications Relating to the Boer War of 1899-1902

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: P G De Lotz

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 205

View: 7242

With the hundredth of anniversary of the South African (or Boer) War of 1899-1902 fast approaching, the campaign is receiving increased attention from military enthusiasts of all types. R.G. Hackett's bibliography goes far beyond the bare listing of author, date, contents, etc. that one so often encounters, to become a unique evocation of the era. The original covers of over a hundred books of the period are shown, with several dozen in full color, often showing regimental badges and colors. Most books published before 1920 are covered, with the author drawing not only on previously published bibliographies, but the private records of London rare book dealers and individual collections such as that of the British actor Kenneth Griffith. With a more just society now prevailing in South Africa, the sympathy felt at the time for the Boers by some can once again be appreciated. In addition to many British regimental accounts, this compilation also contains accounts of women in the Boer war effort, Richard Harding Davis' shrewd observations, and the memoirs of a West Point graduate in the Irish-American Brigade in Boer service. South African War Books not only belongs in any comprehensive reference library, but will also be treasured by anyone seriously interested in the period of the colonial wars.

Benjamin Kidd

Portrait of a Social Darwinist

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Paul Crook

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521258043

Category: Philosophy

Page: 460

View: 2314

This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer. His first book Social Evolution, published in 1894, was an immediate and enormous success around the world. In it, Kidd developed a collectivist form of Social Darwinism in tune with the values of Progressivism in America and the 'new liberalism' in Britain. By many it was regarded as the basis for a properly scientific sociology, and the combination of its claims to scientific methodology, with an emphasis on non-rational forces as the agents of progress accurately caught the temper of its times. Launched on his career as a writer, Kidd's subsequent books and journalism continued to exercise extraordinary influence. His 'social imperialism', linking a bio-political defence of empire with a programme of social reform, won currency in the Anglo-American world at a time of expansionary fervour.

T. P.'s Weekly

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas Power O'Connor,Holbrook Jackson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1975

The Man before the Mahatma

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charles DiSalvo

Publisher: Random House India

ISBN: 8184003382

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 472

View: 9844

At the age of eighteen, a shy and timid Mohandas Gandhi leaves his home in Gujarat for a life on his own. At forty-five, a confident and fearless Gandhi, ready to boldly lead his country to freedom, returns to India. What transforms him? The law. The Man before the Mahatma is the first biography of Gandhi’s life in the law. It follows Gandhi on his journey of self-discovery during his law studies in Britain, his law practice in India and his enormous success representing wealthy Indian merchants in South Africa, where relentless attacks on Indian rights by the white colonial authorities cause him to give up his lucrative representation of private clients for public work—the representation of the besieged Indian community in South Africa. As he takes on the most powerful governmental, economic and political forces of his day, he learns two things: that unifying his professional work with his political and moral principles not only provides him with satisfaction, it also creates in him a strong, powerful voice. Using the courtrooms of South Africa as his laboratory for resistance, Gandhi learns something else so important that it will eventually have a lasting and worldwide impact: a determined people can bring repressive governments to heel by the principled use of civil disobedience. Using materials hidden away in archival vaults and brought to light for the first time, The Man before the Mahatma puts the reader inside dramatic experiences that changed Gandhi’s life forever and have never been written about—until now.

New Skeletons

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Richards

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 1291925627

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4705

The Gordon Highlanders

A Concise History

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Trevor Royle

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1780572484

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 6456

The Gordons recruited from the north-east of Scotland and the regiment's character was moulded by men from the farming counties of Aberdeenshire, Moray and Nairn. It was raised in 1794 by an aristocratic landowner, the Duke of Gordon, whose wife played a major role in attracting recruits by riding through her husband's estates and offering a guinea and a kiss to each man who enlisted. Originally raised as the 100th Highlanders, it was later renumbered the 92nd Highlanders and in 1881 was amalgamated with the 75th (Stirlingshire) Regiment to form The Gordon Highlanders. In the nineteenth century the two regiments were in constant service throughout the empire and in 1879 the 92nd Highlanders were involved in Lord Roberts' historic march from Kabul to Kandahar during the fighting in Afghanistan. One of the first Victoria Crosses was awarded to a Gordon Highlander, Private Beach, who was decorated for his supreme gallantry while serving in the Crimea in 1854. Another Victoria Cross winner was Major George White (Afghanistan, 1879), who went on to become a field marshal. During the fighting on the north-west frontier of India in 1897, Piper George Findlater was awarded the Victoria Cross for continuing to play his pipes despite being wounded and under heavy enemy fire. In 1994, The Gordon Highlanders amalgamated with Queen's Own Highlanders to form The Highlanders and in 2006 became the 4th Battalion of The Royal Regiment of Scotland. This is a celebratory account of the regiment's long and distinguished history.