The Vanished Kingdom

Travels Through the History of Prussia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Charles Roy

Publisher: Basic Books (AZ)

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 398

View: 9923

Combining armchair travel, stunning photography, and a keen historical sense, James Charles Roy takes us on a moving journey through the tragic past, present, and, very likely, future of Eastern Europe.

Ordinary Prussians

Brandenburg Junkers and Villagers, 1500-1840

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: William W. Hagen

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521815581

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 679

View: 7647

This book gives voice, in unprecedented depth and immediacy, to ordinary villagers and landlords (Junkers) in the Prussian-German countryside, from the late middle ages to the nineteenth century. It is a work distinguished by its concentration on first-person testimony, and by its focus on the private and family lives--and material fortunes--of ordinary people during the era of the rise of capitalism and the modern state. The book is therefore a major contribution to fundamental debates in German history over the origins of modern political authoritarianism.

Salt to the Sea

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141347414

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 530

WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017 It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story. 'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY

The First Nazi

Erich Ludendorff

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Will Brownell,Denise Drace-Brownell

Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co

ISBN: 0715651056

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 7854

General Erich Ludendorff was one of the most important military commanders of the last century, yet today, is one of the least known. One of the top two German generals of the First World War, Ludendorff dominated not only his superior - General Paul von Hindenburg - but also Kaiser Wilhelm II. For years, he was the de facto military dictator of Germany. Ludendorff not only controlled all aspects of the First World War, he refused any opportunity to make peace; he antagonised the Americans until they declared war; he sent Lenin into Russia to forge a revolution in order to shut down the Russian front; and then he pushed for total military victory in 1918, in a rabid slaughter known as ‘The Ludendorff Offensive’. Shortly after Germany lost the war in 1918, Ludendorff created the murderous legend that Germany had lost only because Jews had conspired on the home front. He soon forged an alliance with Hitler, endorsed the Nazis and wrote manically about how Germans needed a new world war to redeem the Fatherland. This savage man had staggering designs to build a gigantic state that would dwarf even the British Empire. Ludendorff quite simply wanted the world – and changed the 20th century beyond recognition.

Our Nazis

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Petra Rau

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748668667

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 7716

Focusing particularly on the British context, this study offers the first analysis of contemporary popular and literary fiction, film, TV and art exhibitions about Nazis and Nazism.

The Library Journal

Chiefly Devoted to Library Economy and Bibliography

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 7412

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.

Vanished Kingdoms

The History of Half-Forgotten Europe

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Norman Davies

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141960485

Category: History

Page: 848

View: 7420

'The past is a foreign country' has become a truism, yet the past differs from the present in many unfamiliar ways and historical memory is extraordinarily imperfect. The degree to which we think of the European past as the history of France, Germany, Britain, Russia and so on, actually obstructs our view of former reality, and blunts our sensitivity to the ever-changing political landscape. Europe's past is littered with kingdoms, empires and republics which no longer exist but which were some of the most important entities of their day - 'the Empire of Aragon', which dominated the western Mediterranean in the thirteenth century, the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, the largest country in Europe for part of the eighteenth century. This book shows the reader how to peer through the cracks of mainstream history-writing, and to catch a glimpse of the 'Five, Six or Seven Kingdoms of Burgundy'. How long will it be before the USSR, until recently one of the world's two superpowers, is wholly or half-forgotten as most of these? The histories of the lost echo across the centuries, mixed in with more familiar sounds. One of the purposes of this book is to help us hear them again more clearly, and appreciate where they came from. As in his earlier celebrated books Europe and The Isles, Norman Davies aims to subvert our established view what looks familiar in history and urges us to look and think again. This stimulating book, full of unexpected stories, observations and connections, gives us a fresh and original perspective on European history.

Revolution in Mitteleuropa 1918–1919

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Francis Carsten

Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch

ISBN: 3462411055

Category: History

Page: 334

View: 7523

»Im Jahre 1848 wurde Mitteleuropa von einer Reihe von Revolutionen überschwemmt, die – wären sie erfolgreich gewesen – radikale Veränderungen in Staat und Gesellschaft herbeigeführt hätten. Siebzig Jahre später brachen neue spontane Revolutionen aus, die zwar äußerlich erfolgreich waren, aber ihr Hauptziel nicht erreichten: eine wirkliche ›Demokratisierung‹ von Staat und Gesellschaft. Wie und warum sie diesen Verlauf nahmen, ist das Thema des vorliegenden Buches.«

Verschwundene Reiche

Die Geschichte des vergessenen Europa

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Norman Davies

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783806231168

Category:

Page: 958

View: 1760

A History of England

Combining the Various Histories by Rapin, Henry, Hume, Smollet and Belsham : Corrected by Reference to Furner, Lingard, Mackintosh, Hallam, Brodie, Godwin, and Other Sources ; in Three Volumes ; From the Invasion by the Romains, B. C.55 to the Birth of the Prince of Wales, A. D. 1841

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 1022

View: 404