The Vanished Kingdom

Travels Through the History of Prussia

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Charles Roy

Publisher: Basic Books (AZ)

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 398

View: 5665

Combining armchair travel, stunning photography, and a keen historical sense, James Charles Roy takes us on a moving journey through the tragic past, present, and, very likely, future of Eastern Europe.

Ordinary Prussians

Brandenburg Junkers and Villagers, 1500-1840

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: William W. Hagen

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521815581

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 679

View: 6516

This book gives voice, in unprecedented depth and immediacy, to ordinary villagers and landlords (Junkers) in the Prussian-German countryside, from the late middle ages to the nineteenth century. It is a work distinguished by its concentration on first-person testimony, and by its focus on the private and family lives--and material fortunes--of ordinary people during the era of the rise of capitalism and the modern state. The book is therefore a major contribution to fundamental debates in German history over the origins of modern political authoritarianism.

Salt to the Sea

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141347414

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 1464

WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017 It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story. 'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY

Our Nazis: Representations of Fascism in Contemporary Literature and Film

Representations of Fascism in Contemporary Literature and Film

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Petra Rau

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748668659

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 8204

An analysis of the resurgent cultural fascination with Nazism since 1989. Why has a fascination with fascism re-emerged after the Cold War? What is its cultural function now, in an era of commemoration? Focusing particularly on the British context, this study offers the first analysis of contemporary popular and literary fiction, film, TV and art exhibitions about Nazis and Nazism. Petra Rau brings this material into dialogue with earlier responses to fascism and demonstrates how, paradoxically, Nazism has been both mediated and mythologised to the extent that it now often replaces a critical engagement with actual, violent history.In 5 thematic chapters on Nazi Noir, Men in Uniform, Vile Bodies, The Good German and Meta-Cinematic Farce, Rau provides close analysis of contemporary novels such as Jason Lutes' graphic novel series Berlin, historical crime fiction by Philip Kerr and others, Robert Harris' Fatherland, Ian McEwan's Black Dogs and Justin Cartwright's The Song Before It Is Sung; films such as Bryan Singer's Valkyrie and Quentin Tarantino's Inglorious Bastards; art installations including Mirroring Evil: Nazi Imagery/Recent Art, and Fucking Hell by Jake and Dinos Chapman; and Piotr Uklanski's photo frieze, Untitled (The Nazis).

Germany: Jekyll & Hyde

1939 - Deutschland von innen betrachtet

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sebastian Haffner

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783426775905

Category: Europe

Page: 304

View: 9998

Religious Syncretism

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Eric Maroney

Publisher: Scm Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: 207

View: 5617

This textbook is for undergraduate students interested in the rise of fundamentalism in the three monotheistic faiths. It is not about fundamentalism however, it is about its opposite trend: religious syncretism. Syncretism describes the phenomenon of one religion borrowing elements from another, and it is a part of religion that fundamentalists will seldom acknowledge. This textbook explores Judaism, Christianity and Islam, using compelling examples of how syncretism works and looks, to show how these three religions have adopted customs and conceptions of other religions.

Revolution in Mitteleuropa 1918–1919

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Francis Carsten

Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch

ISBN: 3462411055

Category: History

Page: 334

View: 3707

»Im Jahre 1848 wurde Mitteleuropa von einer Reihe von Revolutionen überschwemmt, die – wären sie erfolgreich gewesen – radikale Veränderungen in Staat und Gesellschaft herbeigeführt hätten. Siebzig Jahre später brachen neue spontane Revolutionen aus, die zwar äußerlich erfolgreich waren, aber ihr Hauptziel nicht erreichten: eine wirkliche ›Demokratisierung‹ von Staat und Gesellschaft. Wie und warum sie diesen Verlauf nahmen, ist das Thema des vorliegenden Buches.«

Vanished Kingdoms

The History of Half-Forgotten Europe

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Norman Davies

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141960485

Category: History

Page: 848

View: 7398

'The past is a foreign country' has become a truism, yet the past differs from the present in many unfamiliar ways and historical memory is extraordinarily imperfect. The degree to which we think of the European past as the history of France, Germany, Britain, Russia and so on, actually obstructs our view of former reality, and blunts our sensitivity to the ever-changing political landscape. Europe's past is littered with kingdoms, empires and republics which no longer exist but which were some of the most important entities of their day - 'the Empire of Aragon', which dominated the western Mediterranean in the thirteenth century, the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, the largest country in Europe for part of the eighteenth century. This book shows the reader how to peer through the cracks of mainstream history-writing, and to catch a glimpse of the 'Five, Six or Seven Kingdoms of Burgundy'. How long will it be before the USSR, until recently one of the world's two superpowers, is wholly or half-forgotten as most of these? The histories of the lost echo across the centuries, mixed in with more familiar sounds. One of the purposes of this book is to help us hear them again more clearly, and appreciate where they came from. As in his earlier celebrated books Europe and The Isles, Norman Davies aims to subvert our established view what looks familiar in history and urges us to look and think again. This stimulating book, full of unexpected stories, observations and connections, gives us a fresh and original perspective on European history.

Verschwundene Reiche

Die Geschichte des vergessenen Europa

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Norman Davies

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783806231168

Category:

Page: 958

View: 7057

Gemeinschaft und Gesellschaft

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: F. T?nnies

Publisher: Рипол Классик

ISBN: 5883377742

Category: History

Page: 32

View: 5049

Gemeinschaft und Gesellschaft: Abhandlung des Communismus und des Socialismus als empirischer Culturformen. Ferdinand T?nnies.