The Republic of Pirates

Being the true and surprising story of the Caribbean pirates and the man who brought them down

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Woodard

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 144724608X

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 8803

For fans of Black Sails and Crossbones comes a new history of the Golden Age of Piracy. . . In the early eighteenth century a number of the great pirate captains, including Edward 'Blackbeard' Teach and 'Black Sam' Bellamy, joined forces. This infamous 'Flying Gang' was more than simply a thieving band of brothers. Many of its members had come to piracy as a revolt against conditions in the merchant fleet and in the cities and plantations in the Old and New Worlds. Inspired by notions of self-government, they established a crude but distinctive form of democracy in the Bahamas, carving out their own zone of freedom in which indentured servants were released and leaders chosen or deposed by a vote. They were ultimately overcome by their archnemesis, Captain Woodes Rogers-a merchant fleet owner and former privateer - and the brief but glorious Republic of Pirates came to an end. Meticulously researched and full of incident and adventure, The Republic of Pirates brings to life an extraordinary forgotten chapter of history.

The Republic of Pirates

Being the True and Surprising Story of the Caribbean Pirates and the Man Who Brought Them Down

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Woodard

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780156034623

Category: History

Page: 383

View: 8486

Describes how a group of powerful pirate captains, led by Edward "Blackbeard" Teach and "Black Sam" Bellamy, joined forces to create not only a cadre of thieves but also to establish a distinctive form of democracy in the Bahamas, one that ultimately was destroyed by their arch-nemesis, Captain Woodes Rogers, a merchant fleet owner and former privateer. Reprint.

Operation Piratenjagd. Von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alain Felkel

Publisher: Lindhardt og Ringhof

ISBN: 8711448946

Category:

Page: 408

View: 2523

Der Kampf gegen die Schrecken der Meere. Das Buch über die Piratenjäger Seit Beginn der Seefahrt ist Piraterie eine Gefahr für die Weltmeere. Brutal nutzen Piraten kriegerische Wirren und anarchische Zustände, um ihr Gewerbe zu professionalisieren und sich in Bünden zusammenzuschließen. Sie fallen über Handelsschiffe und reiche Küsten her, um sie auszurauben. Wikinger, Likedeeler, Barbaresken und Bukanier sind die Schrecken der Meere und des Seehandels. Bis zu dem Tag, an dem sich die geschädigten Mächte zur Piratenjagd rüsten. Piratenjägern aus aller Welt ist Felkels Buch gewidmet. Sie begeben sich auf die Spur der Seeräuber, um ihnen ihr Handwerk zu legen. In erbitterten Waffengängen und Strafexpeditionen, aber auch mit List und Diplomatie setzen die Piratenjäger alles daran, die Meere von ihren Widersachern zu befreien. Doch Piraterie stirbt nicht aus. Seit dem letzten Jahrzehnt des 20. Jahrhunderts werden erneut Menschen mitsamt ihren Schiffen geraubt und erst gegen Lösegelder in Millionenhöhe wieder freigelassen. Und wieder entsenden Handelsmächte ihre Kriegsflotten, um der Gefahr wirksam zu begegnen. Von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart zeichnet Alain Felkel in Operation Piratenjagd diesen epischen Konflikt nach. Spannend wie ein Kriminalroman! AUTORENPORTRÄT Alain Felkel studierte Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte, Spanisch-Romanistik und Iberoamerikanische Geschichte in Marburg, Salamanca und Köln. Seit 1997 ist er als Drehbuchautor und historischer Berater für Fernsehproduktionen tätig. 2006 Co-Autor des TV-Serienbegleitbuchs »Die Germanen« und 2009 Autor von »Aufstand. Die Deutschen als rebellisches Volk«. Heute lebt er als freier Autor und Regisseur in Köln.

Spanish Gold

Captain Woodes Rogers and the True Story of the Pirates of the Caribbean

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: David Cordingly

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1408822164

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 7816

The amazing true story of Blackbeard, Calico Jack and all the other pirates of the Caribbean and Captain Woodes Rogers, the privateer turned governor of the Bahamas, who brought them to book.

The Real Pirates of the Caribbean

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Woodard

Publisher: New Word City

ISBN: 1612300537

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 3693

Here's the true story of the British Royal Navy's struggle with the greatest pirate gang of all time. Drawing on archives in Great Britain and the United States, award-winning journalist and author Colin Woodard separates fact from fiction, revealing the real motivations and struggles of Blackbeard, Black Sam Bellamy, Calico Jack Rackham, and more.

Wir werden dich töten

977 Tage in der Hand von Piraten

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Scott Moore

Publisher: Edel:Books

ISBN: 384190663X

Category: True Crime

Page: 464

View: 9848

2012 reiste der deutsch-amerikanische Journalist Michael Scott Moore nach Westafrika, um über Piraten zu recherchieren, denen in Hamburg der Prozess gemacht wurde. In Somalia wird er – bittere Ironie des Schicksals – selbst entführt und anschließend fast drei Jahre lang an verschiedenen Orten gefangen gehalten. Aber Moore bleibt stark, überlebt Gewalt, Hunger, Isolation und Terror durch IS und Al-Shabaab. Nach 977 Tagen und Zahlung von 1,6 Mio. Dollar Lösegeld kommt er frei. Dies ist die packende Schilderung seiner Entführung – eine mentale Achterbahnfahrt, aber auch eine brilliante Reportage mit Einblicken in eine unbekannte Welt. Moore schafft es, trotz seiner traumatischen Erlebnisse ein differenziertes Bild des Islam zu zeichnen und auch den Blick auf die politischen, wirtschaftlichen und religiösen Hintergründe seiner Entführung nicht zu verlieren.

The Republic of Pirates

Being the True and Surprising Story of the Caribbean Pirates and the Man Who Brought Them Down

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Woodard

Publisher: Pan

ISBN: 9781447243939

Category: History

Page: 387

View: 754

In the early eighteenth century a number of the great pirate captains, including Edward 'Blackbeard' Teach and 'Black Sam' Bellamy, joined forces. This infamous 'Flying Gang' was more than simply a thieving band of brothers. Many of its members had come to piracy as a revolt against conditions in the merchant fleet and in the cities and plantations in the Old and New Worlds. Inspired by notions of self-government, they established a crude but distinctive form of democracy in the Bahamas, carving out their own zone of freedom in which indentured servants were released and leaders chosen or deposed by a vote. They were ultimately overcome by their archnemesis, Captain Woodes Rogers - a merchant fleet owner and former privateer - and the brief but glorious Republic of Pirates came to an end. Colin Woodard's account is vividly told, full of incident and adventure, and brings to life this virtually unexplored chapter in the Golden Age of Piracy.

Down East

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Maine

Page: N.A

View: 2713

Höllentage auf See

In den Händen von somalischen Piraten - gerettet von Navy Seals

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Captain Richard Phillips,Stephan Talty

Publisher: Heyne Verlag

ISBN: 3641128641

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 7059

Captain Phillips – ab 14. November im Kino Am 8. April 2009 wird der Albtraum eines jeden Kapitäns wahr: Um 7.30 Uhr Ortszeit wird das Containerschiff Maersk Alabama 300 Seemeilen vor der Küste Somalias von Piraten angegriffen. Um seine Crew zu retten, weist Richard Phillips die Männer an, sich in einer Kabine zu verstecken, und begibt sich freiwillig in die Gewalt der Piraten. Fünf Tage lang wird er als Geisel in einem Rettungsboot gedemütigt, gequält und gefoltert: vier Männer gegen einen, ein Kampf um Leben und Tod. Bis in der Dunkelheit auf einmal Schüsse knallen ... – Ein packender Countdown auf offener See: spannungsgeladen, actionreich, wagemutig. Captain Phillips fährt seit über dreißig Jahren zur See. Beladen unter anderem mit 17 Tonnen Nahrungsmitteln für das World Food Programme, führt die Route seines Containerschiffes diesmal von Salalah im Oman über den Golf von Aden und den Indischen Ozean nach Mombasa, Kenia. Die Fahrt verläuft friedlich, bis am achten Tag das Unglaubliche geschieht: Rasend schnell nähert sich ein vermeintliches Fischerboot. Mit einer langen weißen Leiter wird der Frachter geentert. Und vier mit Maschinengewehren bewaffnete Piraten stürmen an Bord. Ihnen gegenüber stehen der Captain und seine 20 Mann starke Besatzung – unbewaffnet. Ihre einzige Chance: Sie kennen das Schiff, die Piraten nicht. Vor allem begreift Captain Phillips eins: Dies ist der Moment, wo Willensstärke mehr zählt als jede Waffe.

The Stolen Art of War

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Colin Woodard

Publisher: New Word City

ISBN: 1612301355

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 390

Returning the plunder of war to its rightful owner may sound straightforward, writes award-winning author and journalist Colin Woodard but in practice it is extremely difficult, particularly for objects seized during the depths of World War II.

Die Französische Revolution

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas Carlyle

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 3863822757

Category:

Page: 320

View: 1578

Nachdruck des Originals von 1897. Erster Teil der beeindruckenden Reihe ber die franz sische Revolution. Auf dem Cover ein symbolisches Bild: der dritte Stand tr gt Adel und Klerus. In diesem Teil werden der Beginn der Revolution und die Gr nde daf r beschrieben.

Marconis magische Maschine

ein Genie, ein Mörder und die Erfindung der drahtlosen Kommunikation

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erik Larson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783502150084

Category:

Page: 447

View: 3689

Die vielköpfige Hydra

die verborgene Geschichte des revolutionären Atlantiks

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Linebaugh,Marcus Rediker

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783935936651

Category:

Page: 427

View: 3220