The Not So Wild, Wild West

Property Rights on the Frontier

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Terry Lee Anderson,Peter Jensen Hill

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 9780804748544

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 263

View: 7145

Cooperation, not conflict, is emphasized in a study that casts America's frontier history as a place in which local people helped develop the legal framework that tamed the West.

The Oxford Handbook of Austrian Economics

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter J. Boettke,Christopher J. Coyne

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0199811768

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 832

View: 8551

The Austrian School of Economics is an intellectual tradition in economics and political economy dating back to Carl Menger in the late-19th century. Menger stressed the subjective nature of value in the individual decision calculus. Individual choices are indeed made on the margin, but the evaluations of rank ordering of ends sought in the act of choice are subjective to individual chooser. For Menger, the economic calculus was about scarce means being deployed to pursue an individual's highest valued ends. The act of choice is guided by subjective assessments of the individual, and is open ended as the individual is constantly discovering what ends to pursue, and learning the most effective way to use the means available to satisfy those ends. This school of economic thinking spread outside of Austria to the rest of Europe and the United States in the early-20th century and continued to develop and gain followers, establishing itself as a major stream of heterodox economics. The Oxford Handbook of Austrian Economics provides an overview of this school and its theories. The various contributions discussed in this book all reflect a tension between the Austrian School's orthodox argumentative structure (rational choice and invisible hand) and its addressing of a heterodox problem situations (uncertainty, differential knowledge, ceaseless change). The Austrian economists from the founders to today seek to derive the invisible hand theorem from the rational choice postulate via institutional analysis in a persistent and consistent manner. Scholars and students working in the field of History of Economic Thought, those following heterodox approaches, and those both familiar with the Austrian School or looking to learn more will find much to learn in this comprehensive volume.

Property and Social Resilience in Times of Conflict

Land, Custom and Law in East Timor

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Daniel Fitzpatrick,Andrew McWilliam

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317074718

Category: Law

Page: 304

View: 4838

Peace-building in a number of contemporary contexts involves fragile states, influential customary systems and histories of land conflict arising from mass population displacement. This book is a timely response to the increased international focus on peace-building problems arising from population displacement and post-conflict state fragility. It considers the relationship between property and resilient customary systems in conflict-affected East Timor. The chapters include micro-studies of customary land and population displacement during the periods of Portuguese colonization and Indonesian military occupation. There is also analysis of the development of laws relating to customary land in independent East Timor (Timor Leste). The book fills a gap in socio-legal literature on property, custom and peace-building and is of interest to property scholars, anthropologists, and academics and practitioners in the emerging field of peace and conflict studies.

Deleting the State

An Argument about Government

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Aeon J. Skoble

Publisher: Open Court Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780812696141

Category: Philosophy

Page: 129

View: 8802

Is the state a necessary evil? Or can we hope to evolve beyond it? This book, in the tradition of Robert Nozick's Anarchy, State, and Utopia, sheds new light on persistent philosophical questions about the nature and justification of political authority.

Lies, Damned Lies and History

A Catalogue of Historical Errors and Misunderstandings

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Graeme Donald

Publisher: The History Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 1403

rom cats, spats and catacombs to the Wall Street shuffle, Lies, Damned Lies and History is an entertaining look at how historical events didn't always unfold as we think they did. Graeme Donald takes the reader on a journey, century-by-century, showing how the truth we take for granted is a far cry from the facts.

Choice

Publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a Division of the American Library Association

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Academic libraries

Page: N.A

View: 7146

Aboriginal Policy Research: A history of treaties and policies

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jerry Patrick White

Publisher: Thompson Educational Pub

ISBN: 9781550771947

Category: Education

Page: 212

View: 9003

The research and policy discussions included in Aboriginal Policy Research, Volume VII, offer a portion of the original papers presented at the third Aboriginal Policy Research Conference held in Ottawa in 2009.

Bibliographic Index

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bibliographical literature

Page: 26

View: 2848

Gewalt und Gesellschaftsordnungen

eine Neudeutung der Staats- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Douglass Cecil North,John Joseph Wallis,Barry R. Weingast

Publisher: Mohr Siebeck

ISBN: 9783161505904

Category: Political Science

Page: 326

View: 9420

English summary: This book integrates the problem of violence in societies in a larger historical and social science context, showing how economic and political behaviour are closely linked. Most societies limit violence by political manipulation of the economy to create privileged interests. Privileges limit the use of violence by powerful individuals, but hinder both economic and political development of such natural states . In contrast, modern societies are characterized by open access to economic and political organizations, thereby fostering political and economic competition (democracy and markets) and general development. Douglass C. North, John Joseph Wallis, and Barry R. Weingast provide a framework for understanding the two types of orders and show in which ways a number of countries have achieved the transition between them. German description: Alle Gesellschaften mussen sich mit der Moglichkeit wie der Realitat von Gewalt auseinandersetzen; sie tun das auf unterschiedliche Art. Douglass C. North, John Joseph Wallis und Barry R. Weingast stellen das Problem der Gewalt in einen grosseren sozialwissenschaftlichen und historischen Zusammenhang und zeigen, wie eng wirtschaftliches und politisches Verhalten verbunden sind. Die meisten aus der Geschichte bekannten Gesellschaften, von den Autoren als naturliche Staaten bezeichnet, begrenzen Gewaltanwendung vorbeugend, indem sie durch politische Einflussnahme auf die Wirtschaftstatigkeit privilegierte Interessen schaffen. Diese Privilegien reduzieren den Einsatz von Gewalt von Seiten machtiger Einzelner; es wird auf diese Weise jedoch die wirtschaftliche ebenso wie die politische Entwicklung solcher Staaten behindert. Denn fur die grosse Mehrheit der Nicht-Privilegierten ist der Zugang zu Politik und Wirtschaft dadurch beschrankt.Im Unterschied hierzu schaffen moderne Gesellschaften Zugangsfreiheit zu wirtschaftlichen und politischen Organisationen (Unternehmen, Markten, Parlamenten, hoheitlichen Einrichtungen) und fordern damit den politischen wie den wirtschaftlichen Wettbewerb und somit die gesellschaftliche Entwicklung. Das Buch bietet ein gedankliches Gerust zum Verstandnis der zwei Typen von Gesellschaftsordnungen, die es an historischen Beispielen von der romischen Antike bis ins 19. Jahrhundert veranschaulicht. Anhand dieses Konzepts wird erklart, wieso Gesellschaften mit Zugangsfreiheit sowohl politisch wie wirtschaftlich hoher entwickelt sind und auf welche Weise seit dem 19. Jahrhundert rund 25 Lander den Ubergang vom einen Typus zum anderen geschafft haben.

The Economist

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Economic history

Page: N.A

View: 5590

Die Industrielle Gesellschaft Und Ihre Zukunft

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Theodore Kaczynski

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781721022458

Category:

Page: 100

View: 9828

Industrial Society and Its Future / The Unabomber Manifesto (2010) in deutscher Sprache. "1. Die industrielle Revolution und ihre Folgen waren ein Desaster für das menschliche Geschlecht. Sie haben die Lebenserwartung derjenigen von uns, die in "fortschrittlichen" Ländern leben, stark erhöht, aber sie haben die Gesellschaft destabilisiert, haben das Leben unerfüllt gemacht, Menschen Demütigungen unterworfen, zu weit verbreiteten psychischem Leiden geführt (in der Dritten Welt ebenso zu physischem Leiden) und haben der Natur einen schweren Schaden zugefügt. Die fortschreitende Entwicklung der Technologie wird die Situation verschlechtern. Sie wird den Menschen sicherlich größeren Demütigungen unterwerfen und der natürlichen Welt größeren Schaden zufügen, sie wird wahrscheinlich zu größeren sozialen Störungen und psychischen Leiden führen und sie dürfte sogar in "fortschrittlichen" Ländern zu erhöhtem körperlichen Leiden führen."

Nebraska History

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Addison Erwin Sheldon,James Lee Sellers,James C. Olson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Nebraska

Page: N.A

View: 1962

Manifest der neuen Libertären

Und die Geschichte der Bewegung in den USA

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Samuel Edward Konkin III

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 3939562572

Category: Political Science

Page: 144

View: 7003

Das „Manifest der neuen Libertären“ (erschienen 1980 auf Englisch) war als Gegenentwurf zu jedem irgendwie politischen Ansatz gedacht. Autor Samuel Edward Konkin III war ein Propagandist des Schwarzmarktes und der Schwarzarbeit. Er wollte nicht wie andere libertäre Publizisten und Aktivisten bei der Erkenntnis stehen bleiben, dass der Staat als Zwangsmonopolist aus moralischen und ökonomischen Gründen zu verwerfen ist. Ihm ging es darum, eine Alternative zum Staat trotz Staat am Staat vorbei, hier und jetzt, aufzubauen, weshalb Konkin Kompromisse, das Wählen und jede Parteipolitik ablehnte. Um seinen Ansatz und seine Position innerhalb der radikalliberalen, libertären, anarchokapitalistischen Ideenwelt noch besser zu verstehen, ist dem hier erstmals in deutscher Sprache gedruckten Standardwerk auch Konkins Aufsatz über die Geschichte der libertären Bewegung in den USA sowie das Transkript eines Redeausschnitts 1985 beigefügt und ein exklusives Vorwort des deutschen libertären Urgesteins Stefan Blankertz vorangestellt, der Samuel Edward Konkin III auf einer Konferenz in London 1984 kennenlernen durfte. Auch dabei wird deutlich, dass Konkin nicht zuletzt als „Freak“ ein Unikat war. Zur Begrüßung erhob er gerne die Arbeiterfaust mit den Worten: „Laissez Faire!“