Thierstrafen Und Thierprocesse

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Karl von Amira

Publisher: Wentworth Press

ISBN: 9780270159271

Category: Law

Page: 234

View: 6819

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

Juristen

ein biographisches Lexikon : von der Antike bis zum 20. Jahrhundert

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Stolleis

Publisher: C.H.Beck

ISBN: 9783406459573

Category: Lawyers

Page: 719

View: 4034

Das fremde Mittelalter

Gottesurteil und Tierprozess

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Dinzelbacher

Publisher: Magnus Verlag

ISBN: 3884005049

Category: Civilization, Medieval

Page: 287

View: 7414

Eine Geschichte der Welt in 10,5 Kapiteln

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Julian Barnes

Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch

ISBN: 3462308181

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 2185

Ein Klassiker von Julian Barnes – genial und witzig In 101⁄2 miteinander korrespondierenden Episoden schreibt Julian Barnes davon, wie es ist, wenn man sich in die Fluten des Lebens stürzt. Auf den Spuren des Arche-Noah-Mythos nagt er sich, einem seiner kleinsten Protagonisten gleich, durch das Leben und die Geschichten, die es schreibt. Er berichtet von einem blinden Passagier, der mit ansehen muss, wie seine Mitreisenden einer nach dem anderen von der hungrigen Mannschaft der Arche Noah verspeist werden, von den sonderbaren Irrfahrten einer jungen Frau, von einer beschwerlichen Reise zum Berg Ararat, einem Filmdreh in Südamerika, der furchtbar in die Hose geht, von einer Geiselnahme auf hoher See, von Géricaults »Floß der Medusa« und wie aus einer Katastrophe Kunst wird.»Eine Geschichte der Welt in 101⁄2 Kapiteln« ist ein meisterliches Spiel mit Erzählformen und Perspektiven, eine Reise durch die Jahrhunderte und durch die Möglichkeiten der Sprache.

Animal Capital

Rendering Life in Biopolitical Times

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nicole Shukin

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN: 0816653410

Category: Social Science

Page: 306

View: 4974

The juxtaposition of biopolitical critique and animal studies--two subjects seldom theorized together--signals the double-edged intervention of Animal Capital. Nicole Shukin pursues a resolutely materialist engagement with the "question of the animal," challenging the philosophical idealism that has dogged the question by tracing how the politics of capital and of animal life impinge on one another in market cultures of the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries.

Die Frau und der Affe

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Høeg

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783446188808

Category: Apes

Page: 287

View: 4264

Die Alkoholikerin Madelene Burden rettet den geheimnisvollen Menschenaffen Erasmus vor ihrem Mann, einem besessenen Wissenschaftler, der das Tier für Forschungszwecke missbrauchen will. Eine dramatische Verfolgungsjagd und ungewöhnliche Liebe nimmt ihren Lauf.

Verantwortung

Tradition und Dekonstruktion

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stefan A. Seeger

Publisher: Königshausen & Neumann

ISBN: 3826042719

Category: Deconstruction

Page: 626

View: 2163

Der Gefangene

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Grisham

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783453265318

Category: Judicial error

Page: 463

View: 8208

Ron Williamson sitzt 11 Jahre unschuldig in der Todeszelle. Kurz vor seiner Hinrichtung gibt es Beweise für seine Unschuld. Ein Wettlauf gegen die Zeit beginnt.

Gesetze

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht

ISBN: 3525304358

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5859

Die Freunde von Eddie Coyle

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George V Higgins

Publisher: Antje Kunstmann

ISBN: 3888979137

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 4478

Dem kleinkriminellen Waffenschieber Eddie »Fingers« Coyle droht der Bau, und Detective Dave Foley, sein Freund und Helfer bei der Polizei, stellt ihn vor eine schwierige Wahl: Die einzige Möglichkeit, dem Knast zu entgehen, ist, einen von seinen guten Kunden zu verpfeifen. Doch wer von den unzähligen Gangstern, die Eddie Coyle seine Freunde nennt, muss dran glauben? Für Jimmy Scalisi, einen skrupellosen Mobster mit besten Verbindungen, hat Coyle die Knarren für eine Serie von brutalen Banküberfällen besorgt. Von Jackie Brown erwartet Coyle eine neue Lieferung, ein ganz großes Ding, Maschinenpistolen für ein paar politische sehr Engagierte. Und dann ist da noch Dillon, in dessen Bar Kontakte geknüpft und Geschäfte gemacht werden. In Eddie Coyles Welt wäscht zwar eine Hand die andere, aber hier spielt jeder sein eigenes Spiel ...

Soul, Self, and Society

The New Morality and the Modern State

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Edward L. Rubin

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199348677

Category: Political Science

Page: 336

View: 6333

Political and social commentators regularly bemoan the decline of morality in the modern world. They claim that the norms and values that held society together in the past are rapidly eroding, to be replaced by permissiveness and empty hedonism. But as Edward Rubin demonstrates in this powerful account of moral transformations, these prophets of doom are missing the point. Morality is not diminishing; instead, a new morality, centered on an ethos of human self-fulfillment, is arising to replace the old one. As Rubin explains, changes in morality have gone hand in hand with changes in the prevailing mode of governance throughout the course of Western history. During the Early Middle Ages, a moral system based on honor gradually developed. In a dangerous world where state power was declining, people relied on bonds of personal loyalty that were secured by generosity to their followers and violence against their enemies. That moral order, exemplified in the early feudal system and in sagas like The Song of Roland, The Song of the Cid, and the Arthurian legends has faded, but its remnants exist today in criminal organizations like the Mafia and in the rap music of the urban ghettos. When state power began to revive in the High Middle Ages through the efforts of the European monarchies, and Christianity became more institutionally effective and more spiritually intense, a new morality emerged. Described by Rubin as the morality of higher purposes, it demanded that people devote their personal efforts to achieving salvation and their social efforts to serving the emerging nation-states. It insisted on social hierarchy, confined women to subordinate roles, restricted sex to procreation, centered child-rearing on moral inculcation, and countenanced slavery and the marriage of pre-teenage girls to older men. Our modern era, which began in the late 18th century, has seen the gradual erosion of this morality of higher purposes and the rise of a new morality of self-fulfillment, one that encourages individuals to pursue the most meaningful and rewarding life-path. Far from being permissive or a moral abdication, it demands that people respect each other's choices, that sex be mutually enjoyable, that public positions be allocated according to merit, and that society provide all its members with their minimum needs so that they have the opportunity to fulfill themselves. Where people once served the state, the state now functions to serve the people. The clash between this ascending morality and the declining morality of higher purposes is the primary driver of contemporary political and cultural conflict. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Francis Fukuyama's The End of History, Charles Taylor's The Secular Age, and Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man, Edward Rubin's new volume promises to reshape our understanding of morality, its relationship to government, and its role in shaping the emerging world of High Modernity.