Pride and Joy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755383362

Category: Fiction

Page: 311

View: 9104

For sixteen-year-old Mary Harris, growing up in Rotherhithe in 1934 has its ups and downs. She has a good job in a biscuit factory and a best friend, Liz, who's fun to be with, but she's worried about her younger brother Eddie. Eddie is a difficult child whose bad behaviour affects the whole family. Although Mary's stepfather Ted denies losing his temper with the boy, Mary's seen the bruises on Eddie's small body. She wishes her parents would take Eddie to a specialist as perhaps then they would find out what's wrong with him. Mary escapes her problems for a while when she meets Liz's handsome brother Billy, who's a sailor. And when a fortune-teller predicts romance is in the air, Mary's sure that Billy is the one for her. But the future holds some surprises for Mary, and there's heartbreak to come before she can find true love.

The Bellamy Saga

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Pearson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1448210720

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 8074

First published in 1976, this fictional biography is the intimate and detailed portrait of the celebrated Bellamy family of Upstairs, Downstairs. No family in the past century - excepting perhaps the Forsytes - has been so dramatically exposed to public stare as the Bellamys of Eaton Place. Drawing from the diaries of Richard Bellamy, the personal letters of Lady Majorie, the Southwold Papers in the British Museum, as well as his own friendship with James Bellamy and his conversations with Mrs. Elizabeth (Bellamy) Wallace shortly before her recent death in New York City, John Pearson has written a sensitive and finely detailed portrait of this patrician English family. The Bellamys could not have anticipated the extraordinary interest that their lives have generated in Europe and America through the award-winning television series Upstairs, Downstairs. Here, Mr. Pearson chronicles the Bellamys' complex, stormy, and passionate lives during the years between 1884 and 1929, when they reigned at 165 Eaton Place. An exciting and intriguing narrative in its own right, The Bellamy Saga is also a tribute to the surviving relatives and friends who consented - although some of them did so reluctantly - to relinquish much of the privacy they cherish.

Down Our Street

Friendship, family and love collide in this wartime saga (Molly and Nellie series, Book 4)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075539030X

Category: Fiction

Page: 396

View: 3137

With a double wedding on the cards, Liverpool's best-loved neighbours plan for an unforgettable day. In Down Our Street, Joan Jonker brings us another instalment of her hugely popular Molly and Nellie series, as the two friends get up to more mischief in their beloved Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Hilarious but touching' - Woman's Realm The Second World War is finally over and best friends Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough are bursting with happiness. Their beloved sons are coming home at last and their eldest children are planning to marry each other. When a double wedding is announced, Molly is determined to give her two beautiful daughters a day to remember for the rest of their lives. Meanwhile Nellie's daughter Lily has a boyfriend whom no one likes. When he brings trouble to their door, Nellie's friends in the street are ready to face it. And there's a handsome young chap just waiting in the wings for Lily... What readers are saying about Down Our Street: 'This book is like a breath of fresh air, never have I laughed so much and also cried at the antics of Molly and Nellie' 'A lovely story that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear. A story that will touch every emotion. It's so well written that it makes you feel a part of the families'

The Girl from the Tyne

Emotions run high in this gripping family saga!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Melody Sachs

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785762869

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 1583

YOU CAN'T CHOOSE YOUR FAMILY! - for fans of Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. Melody Sachs brings us her gritty and charming World War II saga. We promise you won't be able to put it down! When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy. But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother's frustration and anger. It's only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella's Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms. Will she escape her mother's clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

Pride and Prometheus

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Kessel

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1481481479

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 5147

Threatened with destruction unless he fashions a wife for his Creature, Victor Frankenstein travels to England where he meets Mary and Kitty Bennet, the remaining unmarried sisters of the Bennet family from Pride and Prejudice Meanwhile, the awkward Mary hopes that Victor will save her from approaching spinsterhood while wondering what dark secret he is keeping from her. Pride and Prometheus fuses the gothic horror of Mary Shelley with the Regency romance of Jane Austen in an exciting novel that combines two age-old stories in a fresh and startling way.

Quill & Quire

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Book industries and trade

Page: N.A

View: 1795

Ein einfaches Leben

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Min Jin Lee

Publisher: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3423434929

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 3531

Der Bestseller aus den USA Zwanzig Jahre Arbeit stecken in diesem großen, umwerfenden Buch, das in zwanzig Ländern erscheint: Sunja, Tochter eines Fischers, wird genau im falschen Moment schwach, genau beim falschen Mann. Um keine Schande über ihre Familie zu bringen, verlässt sie Korea und bringt ihre Söhne Noa und Mozasu fernab der Heimat in Japan zur Welt. Koreanische Einwanderer, selbst in zweiter Generation, leben dort als Menschen zweiter Klasse. Während Sunja sich abzufinden versucht, fordern ihre Söhne ihr Schicksal heraus. Noa studiert an den besten Universitäten und Mozasu zieht es in die Pachinko-Spielhallen der kriminellen Unterwelt der Yakuza.

Holiday

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Travel

Page: N.A

View: 4642

Jenseits aller Vernunft

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sandra Brown

Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3641150787

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 7254

Ein Wirbelsturm aus Gefahr und Begierde Auf dem Weg nach Texas quält sich ein Wagentreck durch die staubige Prärie. Auf einem der Wagen reist Lydia mit, eine geheimnisvolle Rothaarige, die vor Kurzem ihr Neugeborenes verloren hat. Auch Ross Coleman betrauert einen schrecklichen Verlust. Seine Frau ist im Kindbett gestorben. Doch der neugeborene Sohn braucht eine Mutter, und so geht er mit Lydia eine Vernunftehe ein. Eine Ehe – aus der Notwendigkeit geboren, zum Scheitern verurteilt? In der glühenden Präriesonne geraten Lydia und Ross in einen Sturm der Gefühle, der die bösen Schatten ihrer Vergangenheit ebenso ans Licht bringt wie ihre bedingungslose Leidenschaft.

Die Bücherdiebin

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Markus Zusak

Publisher: cbj Verlag

ISBN: 3894804270

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 8993

Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.

Tagebuch

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bettina von Arnim

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 243

View: 1887

Children of Blood and Bone

Goldener Zorn

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104909962

Category: Fiction

Page: 94

View: 9748

Sie töteten meine Mutter. Sie raubten uns die Magie. Sie zwangen uns in den Staub. Jetzt erheben wir uns. Zélies Welt war einst voller Magie. Flammentänzer spielten mit dem Feuer, Geistwandler schufen schillernde Träume, und Seelenfänger wie Zélies Mutter wachten über Leben und Tod. Bis zu der Nacht, als ihre Kräfte versiegten und der machthungrige König von Orïsha jeden einzelnen Magier töten ließ. Die Blutnacht beraubte Zélie ihrer Mutter und nahm einem ganzen Volk die Hoffnung. Jetzt hat Zélie eine einzige Chance, die Magie nach Orïsha zurückzuholen. Ihre Mission führt sie über dunkle Pfade, wo rachedurstige Geister lauern, und durch glühende Wüsten, die ihr alles abverlangen. Dabei muss sie ihren Feinden immer einen Schritt voraus sein. Besonders dem Kronprinzen, der mit allen Mitteln verhindern will, dass die Magie je wieder zurückkehrt ... Der internationale Bestseller! Große Kinoverfilmung bereits in Arbeit bei Fox 2000 (»Twilight«, »Das Schicksal ist ein mieser Verräter«)

Die unglaubliche Reise der Lillian Leyb

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Amy Bloom

Publisher: Hoffmann und Campe

ISBN: 3455811817

Category: Fiction

Page: 319

View: 6039

Lillian Leyb ist Mitte zwanzig, als sie ihren russischen Heimatort verlässt, um in Amerika Fuß zu fassen. Sie ist einem schrecklichen Massaker an der jüdischen Bevölkerung entflohen. In New York wird die Lower East Side zu ihrem neuen Zuhause, und das Schicksal scheint es gut mit ihr zu meinen - bis sie erfährt, dass ihre totgeglaubte Tochter vielleicht noch am Leben ist. Als Lillian 1924 in New York ankommt will sie es schaffen in diesem neuen, verheißungsvollen Land. Schon bald hat sie nicht nur eine Arbeit als Näherin, sondern auch einen vermögenden Liebhaber. Da steht eines Tage eine Verwandte vor ihrer Tür und behauptet, Lillians Tochter habe das Massaker in Russland überlebt und sei möglicherweise nach Sibirien gebracht worden. Von da an gibt es für Lillian kein Halten mehr. Wider alle Vernunft verlässt sie New York und macht sich völlig mittellos auf eine abenteuerliche Reise. Quer durch Nordamerika, entlang dem legendären Yukon Telegraph Trail, reist sie unbeirrt ihrem Ziel, Sibirien, entgegen. "Mit seiner Mischung aus lebhaften Charakteren, detailreichen Beschreibungen und poetischer Sprache weckt dieser Roman eine Lesefreude, wie es nur guter Literatur gelingt." Los Angeles Times