Pride and Joy

A moving saga of a troubled family and true love

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755383362

Category: Fiction

Page: 311

View: 5109

On the eve of war, a young woman faces struggles in life and love... Dee Williams writes a heart-breaking saga in Pride and Joy - a tale of the powerful bond between siblings, and the search for true love. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court. For sixteen-year-old Mary Harris, growing up in Rotherhithe in 1934 has its ups and downs. She has a good job in a biscuit factory and a best friend, Liz, who's fun to be with, but she's worried about her younger brother Eddie. Eddie is a difficult child whose bad behaviour affects the whole family. Although Mary's stepfather Ted denies losing his temper with the boy, Mary's seen the bruises on Eddie's small body. She wishes her parents would take Eddie to a specialist as perhaps then they would find out what's wrong with him. Mary escapes her problems for a while when she meets Liz's handsome brother Billy, who's a sailor. And when a fortune-teller predicts romance is in the air, Mary's sure that Billy is the one for her. But the future holds some surprises for Mary, and there's heartbreak to come before she can find true love. What readers are saying about Pride and Joy: 'This moving story is a wonderful read, set in wartime Rotherhithe but with a new angle. I enjoyed it immensely and was very pleased with the way it ended' 'Brilliant storyline, could not put the book down' 'Excellent reading - five stars'

The Bellamy Saga

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Pearson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1448210720

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5645

First published in 1976, this fictional biography is the intimate and detailed portrait of the celebrated Bellamy family of the TV show Upstairs, Downstairs. No family in the past century - excepting perhaps the Forsytes - has been so dramatically exposed to public stare as the Bellamys of Eaton Place. Drawing from the diaries of Richard Bellamy, the personal letters of Lady Majorie, the Southwold Papers in the British Museum, as well as his own friendship with James Bellamy and his conversations with Mrs. Elizabeth (Bellamy) Wallace shortly before her recent death in New York City, John Pearson has written a sensitive and finely detailed portrait of this patrician English family. The Bellamys could not have anticipated the extraordinary interest that their lives have generated in Europe and America through the award-winning television series Upstairs, Downstairs. Here, Mr. Pearson chronicles the Bellamys' complex, stormy, and passionate lives during the years between 1884 and 1929, when they reigned at 165 Eaton Place. An exciting and intriguing narrative in its own right, The Bellamy Saga is also a tribute to the surviving relatives and friends who consented - although some of them did so reluctantly - to relinquish much of the privacy they cherish. John Pearson is also the author of All the Money in the World (previously titled Painfully Rich), now a major motion picture directed by Ridley Scott film and starring Michelle Williams, Mark Wahlberg and Christopher Plumber (nominated for the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor).

Down Our Street

Friendship, family and love collide in this wartime saga (Molly and Nellie series, Book 4)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075539030X

Category: Fiction

Page: 396

View: 979

With a double wedding on the cards, Liverpool's best-loved neighbours plan for an unforgettable day. In Down Our Street, Joan Jonker brings us another instalment of her hugely popular Molly and Nellie series, as the two friends get up to more mischief in their beloved Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Hilarious but touching' - Woman's Realm The Second World War is finally over and best friends Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough are bursting with happiness. Their beloved sons are coming home at last and their eldest children are planning to marry each other. When a double wedding is announced, Molly is determined to give her two beautiful daughters a day to remember for the rest of their lives. Meanwhile Nellie's daughter Lily has a boyfriend whom no one likes. When he brings trouble to their door, Nellie's friends in the street are ready to face it. And there's a handsome young chap just waiting in the wings for Lily... What readers are saying about Down Our Street: 'This book is like a breath of fresh air, never have I laughed so much and also cried at the antics of Molly and Nellie' 'A lovely story that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear. A story that will touch every emotion. It's so well written that it makes you feel a part of the families'

Hillbilly-Elegie

Die Geschichte meiner Familie und einer Gesellschaft in der Krise

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: J. D. Vance

Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage

ISBN: 3843715777

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 2372

Seine Großeltern versuchten, mit Fleiß und Mobilität der Armut zu entkommen und sich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft zu etablieren. Doch letztlich war alles vergeblich. J. D. Vance erzählt die Geschichte seiner Familie — eine Geschichte vom Scheitern und von der Resignation einer ganzen Bevölkerungsschicht. Armut und Chaos, Hilflosigkeit und Gewalt, Drogen und Alkohol: Genau in diesem Teufelskreis befinden sich viele weiße Arbeiterfamilien in den USA — entfremdet von der politischen Führung, abgehängt vom Rest der Gesellschaft, anfällig für populistische Parolen. Früher konnten sich die »Hillbillys«, die weißen Fabrikarbeiter, erhoffen, sich zu Wohlstand zu schuften. Doch spätestens gegen Ende des 20sten Jahrhunderts zog der Niedergang der alten Industrien ihre Familien in eine Abwärtsspirale, in der sie bis heute stecken. Vance gelingt es wie keinem anderen, diese ausweglose Situation und die Krise einer ganzen Gesellschaft eindrücklich zu schildern. Sein Buch bewegte Millionen von Lesern in den USA und erklärt nicht zuletzt den Wahltriumph eines Donald Trump.

The Girl from the Tyne

Emotions run high in this gripping family saga!

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Melody Sachs

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785762869

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 7700

YOU CAN'T CHOOSE YOUR FAMILY! - for fans of Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. Melody Sachs brings us her gritty and charming World War II saga. We promise you won't be able to put it down! When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy. But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother's frustration and anger. It's only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella's Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms. Will she escape her mother's clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

Quill & Quire

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Book industries and trade

Page: N.A

View: 1578

Holiday

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Travel

Page: N.A

View: 9336

Feuer und Blut - Erstes Buch

Aufstieg und Fall des Hauses Targaryen von Westeros

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George R.R. Martin

Publisher: Penhaligon Verlag

ISBN: 3641233399

Category: Fiction

Page: 896

View: 6169

Wie alles begann! Die packende Vorgeschichte um die Herrschaft des Königshauses Targaryen. Was für Tolkiens Fans das Silmarillion ist, erscheint nun von George R.R. Martin – die epische Vorgeschichte von »Das Lied von Eis und Feuer« / »Game of Thrones«! Drei Jahrhunderte, bevor die Serie beginnt, eroberte Aegon Targaryen mit seinen Schwestergemahlinnen und ihren drei Drachen den Kontinent Westeros. 280 Jahre währte die Herrschaft seiner Nachkommen. Sie überstanden Rebellion und Bürgerkrieg – bis Robert Baratheon den irren König Aerys II. vom Eisernen Thron stürzte. Dies ist die Geschichte des großen Hauses Targaryen, niedergeschrieben von Erzmaester Gyldayn, transkribiert von George R.R. Martin. Mit Stammbaum in Postergröße im Schutzumschlag

Bowker's Directory of Audiocassettes for Children

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: R R Bowker Publishing,Bowker

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Audiocassettes for children

Page: 382

View: 9188

Packed with over 10000 titles, this valuable guide lets you quickly track down the audiocassettes that parents, teachers, & children want & need - from popular read-along & sing-along audiobooks for preschoolers ... to literary classics for young adults ... to nonfiction works in any subject or curriculum area, for any age level.

Jenseits aller Vernunft

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sandra Brown

Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3641150787

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 743

Ein Wirbelsturm aus Gefahr und Begierde Auf dem Weg nach Texas quält sich ein Wagentreck durch die staubige Prärie. Auf einem der Wagen reist Lydia mit, eine geheimnisvolle Rothaarige, die vor Kurzem ihr Neugeborenes verloren hat. Auch Ross Coleman betrauert einen schrecklichen Verlust. Seine Frau ist im Kindbett gestorben. Doch der neugeborene Sohn braucht eine Mutter, und so geht er mit Lydia eine Vernunftehe ein. Eine Ehe – aus der Notwendigkeit geboren, zum Scheitern verurteilt? In der glühenden Präriesonne geraten Lydia und Ross in einen Sturm der Gefühle, der die bösen Schatten ihrer Vergangenheit ebenso ans Licht bringt wie ihre bedingungslose Leidenschaft.

Die Gerechte

Thriller

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Swanson

Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3641167485

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 8440

Nur sie entscheidet, wer den Tod verdient Eine Flughafenbar in London. Es ist Abend, und Ted Severson wartet auf seinen Rückflug nach Boston, als eine attraktive Frau sich neben ihn setzt. Kurz darauf vertraut er der geheimnisvollen Fremden an, dass seine Frau ihn betrogen hat. Mit ihrer Reaktion jedoch hat er nicht gerechnet: Sie bietet ihm Hilfe an – beim Mord an seiner Ehefrau. Ein Trick? Ein morbider Scherz? Oder ein finsteres Rachespiel, das nur ein böses Ende nehmen kann?

Tagebuch

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bettina von Arnim

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 243

View: 4826

Durchstarten zum Traumjob - Das Workbook

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Richard Nelson Bolles

Publisher: Campus Verlag

ISBN: 3593391112

Category: Law

Page: 92

View: 4571

Wer auf der Suche nach seinem Traumjob ist, sollte ganz genau wissen, welche Talente und Fähigkeiten er hat – denn nur dann lässt sich herausfinden, welcher Job wirklich zu einem passt. Das Workbook kann begleitend zu dem Bestseller »Durchstarten zum Traumjob« von Richard Nelson Bolles durchgearbeitet werden, es lässt sich aber auch unabhängig davon als eigenständiges Übungs- und Arbeitsbuch benutzen. Jetzt komplett überarbeitet und in neuer Übersetzung.