The Story of Holy Island

An Illustrated History

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kate Tristram

Publisher: Canterbury Press

ISBN: 1853119458

Category: History

Page: 192

View: 2845

Kate Tristam is a well-known island resident whose talks on the history of Lindisfarne hold visitors spellbound. A historian and a priest in the Church of England, she is ideally qualified to tell the remarkable story of this captivating place. From its misty beginnings as part of the mainland in the Stone Age right up to the present day, this popular history covers: its formation as an island, the Roman and Anglo-Saxon eras, the influence of Columba and Iona, Lindisfarne's own apostle, Aidan, the making of the Lindisfarne Gospels, Cuthbert, Cedd, Chad and Aidan's other followers, Hilda and the community at Whitby, Bede and the monastic tradition, the coming of the Vikings, the Benedictine years, the dissolution of the monasteries, and more.

100 Walks in Northumberland

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Norman Johnsen

Publisher: The Crowood Press

ISBN: 1785001841

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 300

View: 3835

Northumberland offers a wide range of delights for the walker - from coastal walks to important historical features such as Hadrian's Wall. This collection of 100 walks of up to 12 miles will help you explore the best of this diverse county. The Crowood Walking Guides give detailed and accurate route descriptions of the 100 walks, with full-colour mapping and details of where to park and where to eat and drink, and places of interest to see along the way. Of great interest to anyone living in Northumberland, or visiting family or friends and who enjoys walking - from retirees to young families. Illustrated with 100 colour route maps and one regional map.

Short Walks in Northumbria

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Collins Maps

Publisher: Collins

ISBN: 9780008101589

Category: Northumberland (England)

Page: 96

View: 4622

A practical little walk guide to Northumbria endorsed by the Ramblers. All the walks are 5 miles or under in length and can easily be completed in less that 3 hours. 20 walks are included and use clear Ordnance Survey maps to show the route plus easy to follow walk descriptions. Northumbria offers diverse landscapes: the scenic North Sea Coast with it's diverse wildlife, the bare moorland landscape of the Cheviot Hills and the historical interest of Hadrian's Wall lying along the Whin Sill. Many of the walks are located within the Northumberland National Park and the Northumberland Coast which is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. This guide, produced in co-operation with the Ramblers and featuring Ordnance Survey mapping, is the perfect way to get out and enjoy the stunning scenery. This compact little guide contains walks, all of which are 5 miles or under, which are ideal for an afternoon stroll. INCLUDES: 20 easy to follow walks which can be completed in 3 hours and under. Each walk has a detailed Ordnance Survey map with the route clearly marked plus a detailed description of the route. The walks have been chosen with issues like parking and refreshments in mind to make life easy for families. There are interesting facts about the things you'll see along the route. All the books include general information on walking and also the general area covered by the guide. Packed with colour photographs of scenes you will see along the walk.

Durham & Northumberland

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robin Gauldie

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780749577612

Category:

Page: 352

View: 6504

'The AA Guide to Durham & Northumberland' gives you everything you need to know to get the most out of your visit to this wonderful area. Each entry is packed with the very best sites to see, things to do, recommendations for eating and drinking, and places to explore nearby.

Northumberland

40 Coast and Country Walks

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jon Tait

Publisher: Pocket Mountains

ISBN: 9781907025310

Category: Northumberland (England)

Page: 96

View: 2034

Northumberland is England's most nothern county, a magical place filled with ancient castles, golden sand beaches, rolling hills, rugged moorland and friendly little towns and villages. This is a practical guide to 40 of the best walks in the region.

Discover Northumberland

30 Coastal and Inland Walks

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mark Lejk

Publisher: Sigma Press

ISBN: 9781850589624

Category: Northumberland (England)

Page: 208

View: 2787

30 circular walks covering the whole of Northumberland from north to south and east to west aimed at people of all walking abilities and preferences with lengths ranging from 4.5 km (2.8 miles) to 17.8 km (11.1 miles) and difficulty ranging from easy to strenuous. Many of the longer walks have shorter versions and altogether the different variations and combinations make for 48 routes. The walks range from the fabulous Northumberland coastline to the Cheviot Hills, Kielder Forest, the North Pennines, Hadrian's Wall and there are a significant number of walks in the area between the coast and the Cheviots.

St. Cuthbert's Way

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Roger Smith,Ron Shaw

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781780272573

Category: Saint Cuthbert's Way (England and Scotland)

Page: 104

View: 4626

Northumberland, the Borders and Hadrian's Wall Walks

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Brooks

Publisher: Pathfinder

ISBN: 9780711710887

Category: Hadrian's Wall (England)

Page: 96

View: 9271

This exclusive travel guide guides the visitor through the most incredible activities to be found in Shanghai: savour the food of world-class chefs in Asia's most romantic two-seater salon; eat at the best holes-in-the-walls and discover local street food haunts; find the best tailors and quality cashmere, satins and brocades by the yard; expert ......

Walking in Northumberland

36 day-walks

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alan Hall

Publisher: Cicerone Press Limited

ISBN: 1849655170

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 224

View: 3090

The book comprises 36 short walking routes generally between 4 and 26 miles, passing through, finishing in, or contained within Northumberland. Northumberland is an extensive county with wide horizons, where space and solitude are in abundance and time is measured by the seasonal cycle. Choose from wild walking, craggy ascents, forest treks and gentle riverside strolls through hills and braes that have few equals. And if that is not enough, there are endless empty miles of sandy bays, rippling dunes and rocky points each bearing pages of Northumberland history. Mountains, moorland and sandy coast provide some of the finest walking in England, and without doubt the most secluded.

Hadrian?'s Wall Path

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anthony Burton,Great Britain. Natural England

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781781313695

Category: Hadrian's Wall Path (England)

Page: N.A

View: 4811

Since it opened in 2003 Hadrian’s Wall Path has become one of Britain’s most popular long-distance paths. Its 84 miles are a convenient week’s walking, shadowing for the most part the historic line of Hadrian’s Wall in its spectacular progress across the superbly wild landscape of the north of England. Starting in what used to be Tyneside’s shipbuilding heart, and joining Newcastle in the east with Carlisle in the west, it takes you via the extraordinary Roman forts of Vindolanda and Housesteads, close to handsome towns like Hexham and Corbridge, to finish on the lonely shores of the Solway Firth with views of Scotland. This is the official guide to this superb National Trail, published in conjunction with Natural England which administers the path and waymarks it with its familiar acorn signs. Comprehensive and engrossing, it is the only companion you need.

St Oswald's Way and St Cuthbert's Way

With the Northumberland Coast Path

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rudolf Abraham

Publisher: Cicerone Press Limited

ISBN: 1783623691

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 192

View: 8401

This guide describes two long-distance trails through the unspoilt scenery of Northumberland and the Borders. St Oswald's Way begins at Heavenfield and its 97 miles take in rolling farmland and the Simonside Hills before reaching the vast sandy beaches of the coast. The 62 mile St Cuthbert's Way begins at Melrose and crosses the rugged crags and heather moorland of the Cheviot Hills. Both trails pass through Northumberland National Park to converge on atmospheric Holy Island, before continuing up the coast to Berwick-upon-Tweed. Each can be walked within a week, though there is scope for shortening or lengthening the stages to suit different itineraries. Also shown is the 64 mile the Northumberland Coast Path from Cresswell to Berwick, which covers the entire length of the Northumberland Coast AONB. The guidebook is crammed with interesting snippets of information, alongside indispensable practical details of transport and accommodation in the area. With varied scenery and a rich history encompassing spectacular castles, medieval abbeys and Roman remains, this is one of Britain's most beautiful corners to explore on foot.

Mysterious Creatures

A Guide to Cryptozoology

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George M. Eberhart

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1576072835

Category: Science

Page: 800

View: 7594

Offers a comprehensive guide to identifying animals yet to be officially recognized in science, and discusses where these animals live and why they remain a mystery.

Richard Mansfield

The Man and the Actor

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Paul Wilstach

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Actors

Page: 500

View: 9610

Outdoor Leisure Maps

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Great Britain. Ordnance Survey

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780319260067

Category: Lake District (England)

Page: 4

View: 2825

Gives tourist information including picnic and camping sites, nature trails and recreation centres.

An Astronomer's Tale

A Bricklayer’s Guide to the Galaxy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gary Fildes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473536685

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 4178

A Bricklayer's Guide to the Galaxy . . . The inspirational memoir of a former brickie who followed his passion for the stars and built his own observatory. Perfect for readers of Robert Macfarlane, Helen Macdonald and James Rebanks - as well as fans of Brian Cox and the BBC’s Sky at Night Gary Fildes left school at sixteen, got a trade like most of his mates and was soon married with four kids. His life seemed set. But he had a secret. Something he only practised late at night with a few like-minded friends. Then one day, middle age approaching alarmingly, he acted on his lifelong passion. He finally came out. As an astronomer. Today, Gary is the founder and lead astronomer of Kielder Observatory, one of the top ten stargazing sites in the world, which he also helped to build. Situated in the beautiful forests of Kielder, Northumberland, within Europe’s largest protected dark sky park, it offers some of the UK's most spectacular views of stars, planets and galaxies. An Astronomer’s Tale is Gary’s inspirational story: part memoir, part nature writing, part seasonal guide to the night sky. It is a book brimming with passion; and at a time when the world is captivated by space, it will leave you ready to get out there and explore the wonders of the skies for yourself.

The Perfect Resume

Today's Ultimate Job Search Tool

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tom Jackson

Publisher: Broadway

ISBN: 9780767916233

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 223

View: 2122

An updated edition of the classic career guide instructs readers on how to make the most out of cutting-edge technologies, covering such topics as resume scanning, Internet job searching, creating power letters, and preparing special-needs resumes. Reprint.