Match Race Mayhem

Drag Racing's Grudges, Rivalries and Big-Money Showdowns

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Doug Boyce

Publisher: CarTech Inc

ISBN: 1613253052

Category: Transportation

Page: 176

View: 6334

Drag racing is a very regulated sport. In the history of the NHRA, IHRA, and other sanctioning bodies, many classes existed in an effort to make sure the cars racing against each other are as equal as possible. It is a noble, if not futile, pursuit. You have two cars facing off that have very similar statistics in terms of weight, transmission type, fuel type, estimated horsepower, and all other sorts of measurables. The byproduct is that often the races that were "fair" were not the races that the fans wanted to see. During the golden age of drag racing, fans didn't care as much about class racing as much as they wanted to see scores settled, rivalries battled, and interesting match-ups. There were the manufacturer rivalries, Ford versus Chevy, Chevy versus Mopar, Mopar versus Ford, as well as numerous driver rivalries. Match races were also a great way to feature wildly popular cars that no longer had a class in which to compete, yet the fans still wanted to see them. So popular and intense were these races that many track promoters didn't bother to promote class racing at all. Instead, they used the match races as headliners, similar to the marquee at your local arena or a billboard in Las Vegas, all resulting in putting more fans in the stands. And the drivers loved it too. Although the prize money for national events was fairly average for the day, the extra appearance fees and prize money to lure the most popular match racers to events increased the driver's take exponentially. Many of the most popular pro drivers quit class racing altogether just to go match racing. Veteran drag race author Doug Boyce tells the tale of the history of match racing through the cars, the drivers, the events, the classes, the rivalries, and everything else that was fun about match racing during the golden era. It's all here, complemented by wonderful vintage photography provided by fans and professionals in attendance. If you are a fan of any class of drag racing, from any era, Match Race Mayhem is a fun addition to your racing library. p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Arial}

Collecting Muscle Car Model Kits

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tim Boyd

Publisher: CarTech Inc

ISBN: 1613253958

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 176

View: 5852

In the 1960s, model kit building was a huge hobby. Kids built plastic kits of planes, tanks, race cars, space ships, creatures from scary movies, you name it. Before baseball card collecting, Pokémon, and video games, model kit building was one of the most popular hobby activities. Car and airplane kits were the most popular, and among the car kits, muscle cars, as we know them today, were one of the most popular categories. Many owners of real muscle cars today were not old enough to buy them when the cars were new, of course. Yet kids of the 1960s and 1970s worshiped these cars to an extent completely foreign to kids today. If you couldn’t afford or were too young to buy a muscle car back then, what could you do? For many, the next best thing was to buy, collect, and build muscle car kits from a variety of kit companies. Hundreds were made. Many of these kits have become collectible today, especially in original, unassembled form. Although people still build kits today, there is a broad market for collectors of nostalgic model kits. People love the kits for the great box art, to rekindle fond memories of building them 40 years ago, or even as a companion to the full-scale cars they own today. Here, world-leading authority Tim Boyd takes you through the entire era of muscle car kits, covering the options, collectability, variety availability, and value of these wonderful kits today. Boyd also takes you through the differences between the original kits, the older reproduction kits, and the new reproduction kits that many people find at swap meets today. If you are looking to build a collection of muscle car kits, interested in getting the kits of your favorite manufacturer or even just of the cars you have owned, this book will be a valuable resource in your model kit search.

Die Geier von Wahpeton

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert E. Howard

Publisher: BLITZ-Verlag

ISBN: 3957197732

Category: Fiction

Page: 150

View: 5072

Aus dem Amerikanischen von Markus Müller Eine Bande Gesetzloser terrorisiert das Städtchen Wahpeton. Der Sheriff engagiert einen texanischen Revolverhelden. Der eiskalte Killer soll Recht und Ordnung notfalls mit Gewalt wiederherstellen. Doch schon bald zeigt sich, dass in Wahpeton, einem Ort, der unter dem Goldrausch und Intrigen leidet, nichts so ist, wie es scheint. Die Printausgabe umfasst 150 Buchseiten.

Das zweite Leben des Nick Mason

Thriller

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Steve Hamilton

Publisher: Droemer eBook

ISBN: 3426436205

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 6639

Ein packender Gangsterthriller des vielfach ausgezeichneten US-Thrillerautors, der fesselnde Auftakt zur Serie mit Nick Mason, dem "Hitman wider Willen" - für Fans von Lee Child, Harlan Coben und Dennis Lehane Nick Mason war immer ein sauberer Gangster - soweit das in seinem Gewerbe möglich ist. Bis einer seiner Kumpels einen verdeckten Ermittler erschoss. Nick hielt sich an den Ehrenkodex, verriet seinen Komplizen nicht und ging in den Bau. Totschlag, Mindeststrafe: 25 Jahre. Im Gefängnis wird Darius Cole, der Pate von Chicago, auf ihn aufmerksam und macht ihm ein verlockendes Angebot: Nick soll Coles Mann für besondere Aufgaben werden, sein Ausputzer - und dafür wird er ihn raushauen. Und so ist Nick nach fünf Jahren wieder draußen. Eigentlich könnte er jetzt sein Leben in Freiheit genießen. Wenn da nicht dieses Handy wäre, das man ihm bei der Rückkehr nach Chicago überreicht hat. Wann wird es das erste Mal klingeln? "Umwerfend. Ein packender Nonstop-Thriller, fesselnd von der ersten Seite an." Don Winslow

McMafia

die grenzenlose Welt des organisierten Verbrechens

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Misha Glenny,Sebastian Vogel

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783421058638

Category: Organized crime

Page: 528

View: 5057

Bis zu 20% des globalen Bruttosozialprodukts sollen nach Schätzungen des Internationalen Währungsfonds und der Weltbank aus kriminellen Aktivitäten stammen. Jahrelang recherchierte der britische BBC-Korrespondent Misha Glenny auf den Spuren dieser erschreckenden Tatsache. Dabei führten ihn seine Wege durch die ganze Welt; überall traf er auf Verflechtungen zwischen Politik, Wirtschaft und organisiertem Verbrechen. Der Zusammenbruch des Kommunismus beschleunigte diese Entwicklung z.B. im osteuropäischen Bereich, wo Drogenhandel, Zigarettenschmuggel und Frauenhandel zu einträglichen Geschäften wurden. Instabile Staaten, Globalisierungsprozesse und die wachsenden Migrationsströme sind weitere Faktoren, die zur Ausbreitung des organisierten Verbrechens beigetragen haben. Glenny hat hier ein Buch vorgelegt, das eigentlich zur Pflichtlektüre eines jeden Politikers auf der ganzen Welt gehören sollte. Jede öffentliche Bibliothek sollte diesen Grundbestandstitel neben Roberto Saviano "Gomorra" (BA 2/08) stellen. (1)

Blutiger Winter

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tom Callaghan

Publisher: Hoffmann und Campe

ISBN: 3455170145

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3525

Tote Augen, kalter Wodka, roter Schnee. Vor ihm, leblos im Schnee, liegt eine junge Frau, furchtbar entstellt. Wer tut so etwas? Ein krankhaft Eifersüchtiger, ein Verrückter, einer, der ein Exempel statuieren will? Inspektor Akyl Borubaev kann kaum noch etwas erschüttern. Er stürzt sich bedingungslos in seine Arbeit, lässt sich von nichts und niemandem aufhalten. Er weiß, dass er niemandem trauen kann, er weiß, dass er allein ist, und er weiß, dass es mehr Blut auf Schnee geben wird.

Arianwyn

Hexe auf Probe

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Nicol

Publisher: Chicken House

ISBN: 3646929456

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 4617

Was für eine Blamage! Arianwyn ist durch die Hexenprüfung gefallen. Und anstatt die Welt zu retten, wird sie als Hexe auf Probe in den hinterletzten Winkel des Landes geschickt. Dort muss sie sich mit den magischen Alltagsproblemen der Dorfbewohner herumschlagen. Doch dann ergreifen unheimliche Träume von ihr Besitz. Und als ihre alte Erzrivalin Gimma einen fatalen Zauberfehler begeht, wird klar: Arianwyn ist mächtiger, als alle je vermutet hätten. Und ihr steht eine große Aufgabe bevor ... Eine bezaubernde Erzählung über Magie, Mut und Freundschaft. GUARDIAN

Der König und ich

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Margaret Landon (Schriftstellerin)

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783293205932

Category:

Page: 392

View: 9276

Heaven's Sinners - Vergebung

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bella Jewel

Publisher: Sieben Verlag

ISBN: 3864437962

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 692

Nachdem Spike ein grauenvolles Ereignis durchleben musste, hat er seine Gefühle tief in sich vergraben. Nie im Leben ist er bereit, sich noch einmal solchen Qualen auszusetzen, und hat daher ein Leben in Einsamkeit akzeptiert. Er ist zutiefst überzeugt, nichts anderes zu verdienen. Ciara hat ihr ganzes Leben im Schatten ihrer Schwester verbracht. Selbst den Mann, den sie liebte, hat ihre Schwester geheiratet. Doch jetzt, wo sie beide verloren hat, ihre Schwester an den Tod und ihre große Liebe und einstigen besten Freund, Spike, an Trauer und Verbitterung, ist sie fest entschlossen, für sie beide und ihre Liebe zu kämpfen. Doch es ist schwer, durch Spikes Mauern zu dringen.

Sequitur clades

Die Vigiles im antiken Rom; eine zweisprachige Textsammlung

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kurt Wallat

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783631524732

Category: Vigiles (Roman officials)

Page: 205

View: 659

Trümmerwüste

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gunter Haarmann

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783934555457

Category:

Page: 59

View: 2793

GT Love

50 Jahre Opel GT

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jens Cooper,Harald Hamprecht

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783667110633

Category:

Page: 304

View: 2695

Reinhard Heydrich

Biographie

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Gerwarth

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783570552063

Category:

Page: 478

View: 4173

Heydrichs Elite

das Führerkorps der Sicherheitspolizei und des SD 1936-1945

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jens Banach

Publisher: F. Schoningh

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 363

View: 6722

Steve McQueen - Speed

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Yann-Brice Dherbier,Frédéric Brun

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783894877019

Category:

Page: 192

View: 3747