Invisible Women

A hilarious, feel-good novel of love, sex, motherhood and friendship

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sarah Long

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785762664

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 7865

Perfect for fans of Allison Pearson, Dawn French and Sophie Kinsella. Isn't it about time we talked about YOU? Sandra has a naughty secret. Harriet has been ditched with her ailing mother-in-law one time too many. Tessa is desperate for distraction after her youngest flies the nest for uni. With the big 5-0 around the corner, isn't it about time they put themselves first? After Tessa responds to a late night Facebook message from an old flame, she finds herself impulsively waiting at the airport for a plane from New York. Will it reunite her with The One That Got Away, or land her in a heap of trouble? And is this the long-awaited moment Tessa and her friends grab their lives back and start living exactly as they choose? A sharp, irreverent and very funny novel for grown-ups. This is what you have been saying about Sarah Long: 'An emotional tale of love, friendship and taking control of your life' 'Intelligent, witty, thought-provoking . . . thoroughly recommended, especially if you're a woman of a certain age' 'Sure to make you giggle' 'A perfect, easy read' 'Funny and emotional . . . so true it's scary!'

Talking Animals in British Children's Fiction, 1786–1914

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tess Cosslett

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1351896296

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 216

View: 8689

In her reappraisal of canonical works such as Black Beauty, Beautiful Joe, Wind in the Willows, and Peter Rabbit, Tess Cosslett traces how nineteenth-century debates about the human and animal intersected with, or left their mark on, the venerable genre of the animal story written for children. Effortlessly applying a range of critical approaches, from Bakhtinian ideas of the carnivalesque to feminist, postcolonial, and ecocritical theory, she raises important questions about the construction of the child reader, the qualifications of the implied author, and the possibilities of children's literature compared with literature written for adults. Perhaps most crucially, Cosslett examines how the issues of animal speech and animal subjectivity were managed, at a time when the possession of language and consciousness had become a vital sign of the difference between humans and animals. Topics of great contemporary concern, such as the relation of the human and the natural, masculine and feminine, child and adult, are investigated within their nineteenth-century contexts, making this an important book for nineteenth-century scholars, children's literature specialists, and historians of science and childhood.

On Becoming a Teen Mom

Life before Pregnancy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Patrice Erdmans,Timothy Black

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520959280

Category: Social Science

Page: 344

View: 3101

In 2013, New York City launched a public education campaign with posters of frowning or crying children saying such things as "I’m twice as likely not to graduate high school because you had me as a teen" and "Honestly, Mom, chances are he won’t stay with you." Campaigns like this support a public narrative that portrays teen mothers as threatening the moral order, bankrupting state coffers, and causing high rates of poverty, incarceration, and school dropout. These efforts demonize teen mothers but tell us nothing about their lives before they became pregnant. In this myth-shattering book, the authors tell the life stories of 108 brown, white, and black teen mothers, exposing the problems in their lives often overlooked in pregnancy prevention campaigns. Some stories are tragic and painful, marked by sexual abuse, partner violence, and school failure. Others depict "girl next door" characters whose unintended pregnancies lay bare insidious gender disparities. Offering a fresh perspective on the links between teen births and social inequalities, this book demonstrates how the intersecting hierarchies of gender, race, and class shape the biographies of young mothers.

Die Stadt und die Stadt

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: China Miéville

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 383870701X

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 5911

Zwei Städte - geeint und doch entzweit. Die Bewohner werden erzogen, einander nicht zu sehen. Das unerlaubte Betreten der jeweils andere Stadt zieht schwerste Strafen nach sich. Ein ganz alltägliches Szenario für Kommissar Borlú. Eines Tages wird in Borlús Stadt eine Frauenleiche gefunden. Der Mord stellt ihn vor ein Rätsel. Denn die Tote hätte niemals in seiner Stadt auftauchen dürfen. Offenbar hat der Mörder gegen die Regeln verstoßen: Er hat die Leiche von der einen Stadt in die andere geschafft, ohne Alarm auszulösen. Will Borlú den Fall lösen, bleibt ihm nur ein einziger Weg: Er muss allein in die verbotene Zwillingsstadt, um das Ungesehene sichtbar zu machen ...

Vox

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Christina Dalcher

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104909539

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 8457

In einer Welt, in der Frauen nur hundert Wörter am Tag sprechen dürfen, bricht eine das Gesetz. Das provozierende Überraschungsdebüt aus den USA, über das niemand schweigen wird! Als die neue Regierung anordnet, dass Frauen ab sofort nicht mehr als hundert Worte am Tag sprechen dürfen, will Jean McClellan diese wahnwitzige Nachricht nicht wahrhaben – das kann nicht passieren. Nicht im 21. Jahrhundert. Nicht in Amerika. Nicht ihr. Das ist der Anfang. Schon bald kann Jean ihren Beruf als Wissenschaftlerin nicht länger ausüben. Schon bald wird ihrer Tochter Sonia in der Schule nicht länger Lesen und Schreiben beigebracht. Sie und alle Mädchen und Frauen werden ihres Stimmrechts, ihres Lebensmuts, ihrer Träume beraubt. Aber das ist nicht das Ende. Für Sonia und alle entmündigten Frauen will Jean sich ihre Stimme zurückerkämpfen.

Das dunkle Herz des Waldes

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Naomi Novik

Publisher: cbj Verlag

ISBN: 3641171407

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 576

View: 7907

Agnieszka liebt das Tal, in dem sie lebt: das beschauliche Dorf und den silbern glänzenden Fluss. Doch jenseits des Flusses liegt der Dunkle Wald, ein Hort böser Macht, der seine Schatten auf das Dorf wirft. Einzig der »Drache«, ein Zauberer, kann diese Macht unter Kontrolle halten. Allerdings fordert er einen hohen Preis für seine Hilfe: Alle zehn Jahre wird ein junges Mädchen ausgewählt, das ihm bis zur nächsten Wahl dienen muss – ein Schicksal, das beinahe so schrecklich scheint wie dem bösen Wald zum Opfer zu fallen. Der Zeitpunkt der Wahl naht und alle wissen, wen der Drache aussuchen wird: Agnieszkas beste Freundin Kasia, die schön ist, anmutig, tapfer – alles, was Agnieszka nicht ist. Niemand kann ihre Freundin retten. Doch die Angst um Kasia ist unbegründet. Denn als der Drache kommt, wählt er nicht Kasia, sondern Agnieszka.

Women's Life Writing, 1700-1850

Gender, Genre and Authorship

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Daniel Cook,Amy Culley

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

ISBN: 1137233761

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 272

View: 9061

This collection of new essays by international scholars discusses British and Irish life writings by women in the period 1700-1850. It argues for the importance of women's life writing, both within women's literary history and as an integral part of the culture and practice of eighteenth-century and Romantic auto/biography. The essays presented here reveal women's innovative and diverse experiments with life writing and highlight the complex relationships between conceptions of femininity, auto/biographical forms, and models of authorship in the period. They advance our understanding of canonical women writers while also recovering neglected authors, genres, and traditions to suggest the various ways in which female lives might be narrated in this period. As a group, the essays re-examine the relationships between public and private life, fact and fiction, spiritual and secular literary forms, the poetics and politics of life writing, personal histories and collective memories, in a literary period that has long been recognized as the origin of auto/biography in its modern form.

Die Mütter

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Brit Bennett

Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH

ISBN: 3644001243

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 445

«Die Mütter», so nennen sie die alten Frauen in der kleinen kalifornischen Gemeinde Oceanside. Sie sind Zeugen des Skandals, mit dem dieser Roman beginnt. Ein Skandal ist es, wenigstens aus ihrer Sicht: dass Nadia Turner, deren Mutter sich das Leben genommen hat, mit Luke, dem Sohn des Pastors ... dass Nadia Turner ein Baby bekommt ... oder vielmehr beschließt, es nicht zu bekommen. Und das ist erst der Anfang der Geschichte. Anders als Luke kehrt Nadia der Kleinstadtenge bald den Rücken. Aber Aubrey, ihre beste Freundin, bleibt und stellt sich auf ihre Weise gegen den Chor der alten Frauen, deren Stimmen mit der Zeit merklich auseinandergehen. Es dauert nicht lange, und sie feiern ein neues Paar in Oceanside: Aubrey und Luke Sheppard. Und das beschäftigt die vom College heimgekehrte Nadia mehr, als sie vor der besten Freundin zugeben kann. Brit Bennett fragt nach dem, was uns hält und was uns bindet: Freundschaft, eine gemeinsame Vergangenheit, eine nicht gelebte Geschichte. In «Die Mütter» erzählt sie voller Respekt und mit der nötigen Respektlosigkeit von Herkunft, Hautfarbe und Geschlecht, erzählt mit einer gelassenen Genauigkeit, die staunen macht. Ein lebenskluger Roman über das Amerika von heute und das Amerika von morgen.

Jetzt tut es gleich ein bisschen weh

Die geheimen Tagebücher eines Assistenzarztes - "Herzzerreißend und saukomisch!" John Niven

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Kay

Publisher: Goldmann Verlag

ISBN: 3641230594

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 2247

Vorhang auf für 97-Stunden-Wochen und einen Tsunami an Körperflüssigkeiten. Entscheidungen auf Leben und Tod am laufenden Band und ein Gehalt, gegen das jede Parkuhr zu den Besserverdienern gehört. Auf Nimmerwiedersehen, Freunde und Familie ... herzlich willkommen im Leben eines Assistenzarztes! Adam Kay, jetzt in seiner Heimat England als Comedian gefeiert, gehörte viele Jahre dazu. Nach schlaflosen Nächten und durchgearbeiteten Wochenenden mobilisierte er seine letzten Kräfte, um seine Erlebnisse aus dem Alltag eines Krankenhauses aufzuschreiben. Saukomisch, erschreckend und herzerweichend zugleich: Kays Tagebücher bringen alles ans Tageslicht, was Sie jemals über den Krankenhausalltag wissen wollten – und auch einiges, was besser im Verborgenen geblieben wäre. Kein Zweifel: Diese Lektüre wird Narben hinterlassen.

Best Books for Young Adults

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Betty Carter,Sally Estes,Linda Waddle,Young Adult Library Services Association

Publisher: Amer Library Assn

ISBN: N.A

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 229

View: 8281

Reviews more than 1800 classic and contemporary young adult books, identifies teenagers' interests and best book selections, and provides guidelines for creating reading lists of both young adult and suitable adult literature.

Es

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Heyne Verlag

ISBN: 3641053579

Category: Fiction

Page: 1536

View: 7593

Das Böse in Gestalt eines namenlosen Grauens In Derry, Maine, schlummert das Böse in der Kanalisation: Alle 28 Jahre wacht es auf und muss fressen. Jetzt taucht »Es« wieder empor. Sieben Freunde entschließen sich, dem Grauen entgegenzutreten und ein Ende zu setzen. Stephen Kings Meisterwerk über die Mysterien der Kindheit und den Horror des Erwachsenseins. »Ein Meilenstein der amerikanischen Literatur.« Chicago Sun-Times

Bust

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Women

Page: N.A

View: 536