A History of the Hellenistic World

323 - 30 BC

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: R. Malcolm Errington

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1444359592

Category: History

Page: 368

View: 8721

A History of the Hellenistic World provides an engaging look at the Macedonian monarchies in the period following the reign of Alexander the Great, and examines their impact on the Greek world. Offers a clearly organized narrative with particular emphasis on state and governmental structures Makes extensive use of inscriptions in translation to illustrate the continuing vitality of the Greek city states prior to the Roman conquest Emphasizes the specific Macedonian origins of all active participants in the creation of the Hellenistic world Highlights the relationships between Greek city-states and Macedonian monarchies

Western Civilization

A Global and Comparative Approach

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kenneth L. Campbell

Publisher: M.E. Sharpe

ISBN: 0765622521

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 9754

Western Civilization: A Comparative and Global Approach is a one-author, one-voice narrative history of western civilization from ancient times to the present. Within an overarching chronological approach, individual chapters focus on social, cultural, political, economic, and intellectual life during particular, sometimes overlapping, periods. Religion, everyday life, and transforming moments are the three main themes of the book that make the past interesting, intelligible, and relevant to today's students. Another important feature is the incorporation of a comparative approach-using illustrations, documents, quotes, and visual or written material to provide students with a keener understanding of the West through comparison with other civilizations and cultures. Every chapter includes original source boxes, timelines, and web links to additional and complementary information. An online Instructor's Manual written by the author provides instructors with access to a wide variety of resources including image galleries; web links, maps, test materials, and suggested readings.

Western Civilization: A Global and Comparative Approach

Volume I: To 1715

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kenneth L. Campbell

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317452275

Category: History

Page: 496

View: 9345

Featuring the one author, one voice approach, this text is ideal for instructors who do not wish to neglect the importance of non-Western perspectives on the study of the past. The book is a brief, affordable presentation providing a coherent examination of the past from ancient times to the present. Religion, everyday life, and transforming moments are the three themes employed to help make the past interesting, intelligible, and relevant to contemporary society.

Persistent Piracy

Maritime Violence and State-Formation in Global Historical Perspective

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: S. Amirel,L. Müller,Stefan Eklöf Amirell

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137352868

Category: History

Page: 215

View: 6798

Spanning from the Caribbean to East Asia and covering almost 3,000 years of history, from Classical Antiquity to the eve of the twenty-first century, Persistent Piracy is an important contribution to the history of the state formation as well as the history of violence at sea.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Gagarin

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 0195170725

Category: History

Page: 3584

View: 1935

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths. Areas covered include: · Greek and Latin Literature · Authors and Their Works · Historical Figures and Events · Religion and Mythology · Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials · Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools · Science and Technology · Politics, Economics, and Society · Material Culture and Everyday Life

Soul, Self, and Society

The New Morality and the Modern State

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Edward L. Rubin

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199348677

Category: Political Science

Page: 336

View: 7691

Political and social commentators regularly bemoan the decline of morality in the modern world. They claim that the norms and values that held society together in the past are rapidly eroding, to be replaced by permissiveness and empty hedonism. But as Edward Rubin demonstrates in this powerful account of moral transformations, these prophets of doom are missing the point. Morality is not diminishing; instead, a new morality, centered on an ethos of human self-fulfillment, is arising to replace the old one. As Rubin explains, changes in morality have gone hand in hand with changes in the prevailing mode of governance throughout the course of Western history. During the Early Middle Ages, a moral system based on honor gradually developed. In a dangerous world where state power was declining, people relied on bonds of personal loyalty that were secured by generosity to their followers and violence against their enemies. That moral order, exemplified in the early feudal system and in sagas like The Song of Roland, The Song of the Cid, and the Arthurian legends has faded, but its remnants exist today in criminal organizations like the Mafia and in the rap music of the urban ghettos. When state power began to revive in the High Middle Ages through the efforts of the European monarchies, and Christianity became more institutionally effective and more spiritually intense, a new morality emerged. Described by Rubin as the morality of higher purposes, it demanded that people devote their personal efforts to achieving salvation and their social efforts to serving the emerging nation-states. It insisted on social hierarchy, confined women to subordinate roles, restricted sex to procreation, centered child-rearing on moral inculcation, and countenanced slavery and the marriage of pre-teenage girls to older men. Our modern era, which began in the late 18th century, has seen the gradual erosion of this morality of higher purposes and the rise of a new morality of self-fulfillment, one that encourages individuals to pursue the most meaningful and rewarding life-path. Far from being permissive or a moral abdication, it demands that people respect each other's choices, that sex be mutually enjoyable, that public positions be allocated according to merit, and that society provide all its members with their minimum needs so that they have the opportunity to fulfill themselves. Where people once served the state, the state now functions to serve the people. The clash between this ascending morality and the declining morality of higher purposes is the primary driver of contemporary political and cultural conflict. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Francis Fukuyama's The End of History, Charles Taylor's The Secular Age, and Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man, Edward Rubin's new volume promises to reshape our understanding of morality, its relationship to government, and its role in shaping the emerging world of High Modernity.

The Calendar

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: University of South Africa

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6311

Eine kurze Geschichte der Menschheit

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: DVA

ISBN: 364110498X

Category: History

Page: 528

View: 842

Krone der Schöpfung? Vor 100 000 Jahren war der Homo sapiens noch ein unbedeutendes Tier, das unauffällig in einem abgelegenen Winkel des afrikanischen Kontinents lebte. Unsere Vorfahren teilten sich den Planeten mit mindestens fünf weiteren menschlichen Spezies, und die Rolle, die sie im Ökosystem spielten, war nicht größer als die von Gorillas, Libellen oder Quallen. Vor 70 000 Jahren dann vollzog sich ein mysteriöser und rascher Wandel mit dem Homo sapiens, und es war vor allem die Beschaffenheit seines Gehirns, die ihn zum Herren des Planeten und zum Schrecken des Ökosystems werden ließ. Bis heute hat sich diese Vorherrschaft stetig zugespitzt: Der Mensch hat die Fähigkeit zu schöpferischem und zu zerstörerischem Handeln wie kein anderes Lebewesen. Anschaulich, unterhaltsam und stellenweise hochkomisch zeichnet Yuval Harari die Geschichte des Menschen nach und zeigt alle großen, aber auch alle ambivalenten Momente unserer Menschwerdung.

Books for college libraries

a selected list of approximately 53,400 titles based on the initial selection made for the University of California's New Campuses Program and selected with the assistance of college teachers, Librarians, and other advisers

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Melvin John Voigt,Joseph H. Treyz,American Library Association

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 1056

View: 1655

Forthcoming Books

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rose Arny

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 1353

Hellenistische Demokratie

politische Organisation und Struktur in freien griechischen Poleis nach Alexander dem Grossen

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Volker Grieb

Publisher: Franz Steiner Verlag Wiesbaden gmbh

ISBN: 9783515090636

Category: Political Science

Page: 407

View: 9976

Die antike Demokratie ist bislang vor allem mit Bezug auf das klassische Griechenland untersucht worden. Diese Arbeit analysiert nun für die nachfolgende hellenistische Epoche anhand der Stadtstaaten Athen, Kos, Milet und Rhodos sowohl die zentralen politischen Institutionen als auch die Form der jeweiligen politischen Praxis. Die Studie zeigt, daß die Demokratie dort eine dem klassischen Athen vergleichbare Vitalität besaß und keineswegs mit der Vorstellung einer politikbestimmenden kleinen Führungsschicht in Einklang zu bringen ist. Außenpolitische Gesichtspunkte, das Selbstverständnis der Bürger und die Veränderungen unter römischer Dominanz bilden dabei weitere Untersuchungsaspekte. Mit der gewählten Systematik wirft der Autor nicht nur ein neues Licht auf die Demokratie in nachklassischer Zeit ¿ er liefert darüber hinaus eine breite Beurteilungsgrundlage für weitere, mitunter weniger unabhängige Stadtstaaten

University of California Union Catalog of Monographs Cataloged by the Nine Campuses from 1963 Through 1967: Authors & titles

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: University of California (System). Institute of Library Research,University of California, Berkeley. Library,University of California, Berkeley,University of California, Los Angeles. Library

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Reference

Page: N.A

View: 2025

Die Armee Alexanders des Großen

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nick Sekunda,Waldemar Heckel,Angus McBride,Ryan Jones

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783939908784

Category:

Page: 112

View: 6844